Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It caps owt, so doan't be gaumless -spend some brass
Sitha! This is a great little book tha knows
Don't think its just a boring dictionary of yorkshire words - it isn't, it has yorkshire sayings in it, rhymes, short funny little tales, old yorkshire customs
Ah wor fair capped wi' it. Worth every penny
Published on 23 April 2009 by Mr. S. P. Link

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tis reet gud dunt thee knows
I bought this as a humorous present for my girlfriend's parents who sometimes have trouble understanding my thick Yorkshire accent. On seeing the product and the price I thought it was worth a go.

It has nice little facts about the dialect but shouldn't be considered a reference source as finding terms and phrases easily is simply not possible. I little on the...
Published on 20 Dec 2010 by D. Hoyle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It caps owt, so doan't be gaumless -spend some brass, 23 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The Little Book of Yorkshire Dialect (Paperback)
Sitha! This is a great little book tha knows
Don't think its just a boring dictionary of yorkshire words - it isn't, it has yorkshire sayings in it, rhymes, short funny little tales, old yorkshire customs
Ah wor fair capped wi' it. Worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tis reet gud dunt thee knows, 20 Dec 2010
By 
D. Hoyle (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Book of Yorkshire Dialect (Paperback)
I bought this as a humorous present for my girlfriend's parents who sometimes have trouble understanding my thick Yorkshire accent. On seeing the product and the price I thought it was worth a go.

It has nice little facts about the dialect but shouldn't be considered a reference source as finding terms and phrases easily is simply not possible. I little on the small side so for those hard of seeing a maginifying glass could be in order.

For a couple of pounds this is a nice little stocking filler, regardless of whether or not you were born and/or bred in greatest county on earth - Yorkshire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A reet good steal, 13 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Yorkshire Dialect (Paperback)
To the other guy who complained about it being TOO SMALL, its a Little book - it was pretty obvious in the title. Bought for a non Yorkshireman who hasn't got a clue about the phrases and sayings we take for granted. At under 3 delivered you can't really complain! Brilliant and funny. I only review when it's worth a recommendation, so buy this and after a few beers it's hilarious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - as expected, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Yorkshire Dialect (Paperback)
I bought this for a non-Yorkshire person and was not disappointed.
Was taken in good spirit - humorous and good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stocking filler, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Yorkshire Dialect (Paperback)
Stocking filler
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Yorkshire Dialect (Paperback)
Now living outside of Gods own county this little book brought back fond memories and helps us teach my Grandson (who speaks Doric) the beautiful Yorkshire Dialect as I remember as a child
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Little Book of Yorkshire Dialect, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Yorkshire Dialect (Paperback)
Not too much of that is spoken in Yorkshire now, or at least in York, but it is good to see some of our phrases on paper to see what it must be like for others listening to us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Yorkshire Dialect (Paperback)
Purchased this as a gift for my sister who was moving to Yorkshire. Thought it would help her to blend in! Book was a lot smaller than I was expecting, but my fault for not reading the description thoroughly. Was great fun trying to read out loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good little book, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Yorkshire Dialect (Paperback)
Make an ideal 'jokey pressy' (why I bought it) or stocking filler. Quite amusing. Although the title gives a clue that it is small, i was surprised at how small it was, but was ideal for what was wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What it says in the title., 21 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Yorkshire Dialect (Paperback)
Bought this for my husband, a true Yorkshireman. He loves it always having a little chuckle. Book was out of stock when I ordered it, well worth waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little Book of Yorkshire Dialect
The Little Book of Yorkshire Dialect by Arnold Kellett (Paperback - 1 Oct 2008)
Used & New from: 271.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews