Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars66
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 October 2001
I was relieved to discover that Introducing NLP is well-written, in an easy style that covers a wide range of subjects. Neuro-Linguistic Programming (NLP) sounds like such a mouthful that I thought it might be full of psychobabble, suitable only for psychotherapists.
I found it easy to read and it did not confuse with unnecessary technical details. The three-minute seminar sums up the whole approach:
1.Know what you want,
2.Be alert so you know what you are getting
3.Be flexible to keep changing what you do until you get what you want.
Practical advice and strategies are offered to guide you towards what you want - your 'Desired State' - and to raise your awareness of what you are getting - your 'Present State'. This awareness is achieved by drawing on the power of the imagination through all the senses, although sight, sound and feelings are the strongest influences. Anyone with a little effort can apply this approach to almost any area of his or her life. Techniques describe ways to build rapport with others and recognise the way their thinking is dominated by the senses. Those with predominant visual awareness 'see what you mean' whilst those where feelings dominate can 'grasp the meaning'.
I found the chapters on the way language is used particularly useful. Valuable lessons are given so that you can get the whole story through the type and quality of questions you ask, yourself and others. The reader is also warned that used inappropriately or insensitively the approach can end in mayhem and disaster. It made me realise just how much of an art it is to ask the right questions in the right way.
It is this sort of practical activity that I shall find most useful in my work as Project Manager, where I need to find out exactly what my customers really want, when I often feel they do not really know themselves.
The material covered is neatly brought together in the closing chapters. It is then that you start to realise just how much has been covered. Before selecting this book I had a vague notion NLP might be useful to me in my work. It is now clear to me that the skills described can be learned and applied in a wide variety of work and personal situations and is not restricted to counselling or therapists skills.
I recommend this book to anyone interested in practical self-development.
11 comment|333 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2002
Is NLP useful for most people? Answer - yes. Is it perfect - No. Which book should you get? Of all the many books on NLP at an introductory level, I would suggest this is the second best (NLP: The New Technology of Achievement 1st). It is quite a good book and much better than the majority. If you come from a business background, Sue Knight`s books might be more appropriate. Otherwise it is a good choice. Certainly it is much better than the others by the same authors.
If you want a more in depth understanding, books by Michael Hall or Robert Dilts offer a more up to date look at what is happening in this field.
0Comment|259 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2001
I have read half-way through this book so far...
Since I began utilising some of the advice in the book in every day circumstances, both at work and at home...I have learnt more about myself and how to interact with people more positively.
Already, I have managed to discuss complex emotional issues with my partner without becoming over-emotional where normally we would have argued for days.
That aside, I felt this introduction was well-paced and brought the subject closer to new readers. The only thing it lacked was clarity in using the examples in everyday life and there was too much information to take in all at once. More exercises would have been useful. Apart from that, the material made sure that the reader's intentions were just and that their new skills would not be used in a negative or hurtful way. It was definitely a balanced first step in discussing the subject.
22 comments|70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 1999
Technically brilliant. An excellent beginners manual and practical reference book. Would highly recommend for anyone who is new to NLP and wants to learn how to apply the fundamental principles.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2008
It is a good book to get you started. Covers alot of the models in NLP and is set out so its easy to read and understand. But as i said a very basic book.

If you want some good advice as a rule of thumb on getting books on NLP avoid the new stuff. Stick to the earlier books by Bandler preferably the first ones for e.g 'From Frogs to Princes ( is a must if your serious about this subject ) not only are they humerous but are like the bible of the subject and come from the pioneers, the fountain of knowledge. Derren Brown will even give you this advise also.
11 comment|62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2008
This book is an excellent introduction to NLP and presents all the core concepts in an accurate way. NLP is a very wide-ranging theory but this author has managed to introduce the core framework very cogently. Perhaps there could have been more diagrams and illustrations, and perhaps a little less jargon too - but as NLP has so much of its own terminology it's difficult to see how this could be avoided. I would have liked to read a little more about time perception too, after reading Steve Taylor's excellent book Making Time Making Time: Why Time Seems to Pass at Different Speeds and How to Control It, which looks at why time seems to speed up and slow down (and even completely disappear) in different situations.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2000
As a registrar on a department of neurology I found out that the given concepts, theories and exercises make a lot of sense to me. NLP and the described theories do in fact reconcile with the brains physiology and function.
This book provides a good overview about NLP and offers also different exercises (which are not recommended to do without supervision since they are very powerful and effective and could do harm if not used properly!) in terms of developing different belief systems and changing representational systems. Very imporant as well at the end of the book the different links, addresses, etc. regarding NLP trainings.
I am convinced that NLP will become a major branch in modern psychology. Good book to start with!
Christian Hohenstein, M.D., PhD
0Comment|81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2007
Don't let the term Neuro Linguistic Programming put you off the idea of learning about this amazing subject. NLP is literally the martial art of communication and this book is a first class introduction.

Everyone can benefit from NLP, either in their career or personal life. NLP is actually a whole range of tools and mental processes that enable one to develop the skills for understanding people more clearly and also how to influence others. Some of the techniques in this book are extremely powerful, you will discover a lot about yourself as you learn!

The book is clearly written and avoids too much jargon. The authors also have a sense of humour!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
As I was interested in Derren Brown's techniques I thought I would give this book a read.

NLP sounds quite scary but after reading the book I have a much better understanding of it and how other people think and behave.

A lot of the book is directed at budding psychotherapists but the average person can get quite a lot of useful tips to help make further negotiations easier and possibly steer them in a positive direction.

Far from mind control, NLP is an interesting field and quite an eye opener for dealing with others and getting be best outcome from any meeting.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2000
This text was one of the first UK NLP books I read. The format is pleasing to the eye and the content moves along at a comfortable pace. The reader, especially if new to the subject,should find this an informative book, which explores a range of subjects within the NLP world
0Comment|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)