Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


330 of 343 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive study written in an easy style.
I was relieved to discover that Introducing NLP is well-written, in an easy style that covers a wide range of subjects. Neuro-Linguistic Programming (NLP) sounds like such a mouthful that I thought it might be full of psychobabble, suitable only for psychotherapists.
I found it easy to read and it did not confuse with unnecessary technical details. The three-minute...
Published on 29 Oct 2001

versus
60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction..
It is a good book to get you started. Covers alot of the models in NLP and is set out so its easy to read and understand. But as i said a very basic book.

If you want some good advice as a rule of thumb on getting books on NLP avoid the new stuff. Stick to the earlier books by Bandler preferably the first ones for e.g 'From Frogs to Princes ( is a must if...
Published on 20 Sep 2008 by bookreader


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

330 of 343 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive study written in an easy style., 29 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing NLP Neuro-Linguistic Programming (Paperback)
I was relieved to discover that Introducing NLP is well-written, in an easy style that covers a wide range of subjects. Neuro-Linguistic Programming (NLP) sounds like such a mouthful that I thought it might be full of psychobabble, suitable only for psychotherapists.
I found it easy to read and it did not confuse with unnecessary technical details. The three-minute seminar sums up the whole approach:
1.Know what you want,
2.Be alert so you know what you are getting
3.Be flexible to keep changing what you do until you get what you want.
Practical advice and strategies are offered to guide you towards what you want - your 'Desired State' - and to raise your awareness of what you are getting - your 'Present State'. This awareness is achieved by drawing on the power of the imagination through all the senses, although sight, sound and feelings are the strongest influences. Anyone with a little effort can apply this approach to almost any area of his or her life. Techniques describe ways to build rapport with others and recognise the way their thinking is dominated by the senses. Those with predominant visual awareness 'see what you mean' whilst those where feelings dominate can 'grasp the meaning'.
I found the chapters on the way language is used particularly useful. Valuable lessons are given so that you can get the whole story through the type and quality of questions you ask, yourself and others. The reader is also warned that used inappropriately or insensitively the approach can end in mayhem and disaster. It made me realise just how much of an art it is to ask the right questions in the right way.
It is this sort of practical activity that I shall find most useful in my work as Project Manager, where I need to find out exactly what my customers really want, when I often feel they do not really know themselves.
The material covered is neatly brought together in the closing chapters. It is then that you start to realise just how much has been covered. Before selecting this book I had a vague notion NLP might be useful to me in my work. It is now clear to me that the skills described can be learned and applied in a wide variety of work and personal situations and is not restricted to counselling or therapists skills.
I recommend this book to anyone interested in practical self-development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great introduction to NLP, 12 Feb 2008
By 
annetortue (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing NLP Neuro-Linguistic Programming (Paperback)
This book does exactly what is say on the cover: introducing you to Neuro-Linguistic Programming. i am quite a visual learner and was disappointed by not seeing many pictures in it but i found that the authors have excelled at making the techniques accessible to all. I have read the book in about 4/5 hours and have made notes along the way of techniques to use in my own life. Just a week in, I can already see changes in myself and the way I deal with others.
The only reproach I would make to the book is that it is packed with a lot of information and that ALL the techniques look interesting. I feel that as a reader I did not have enought time to take them in and try them before moving to another aspect of NLP: pace was too fast (hence the note taking in my journal).
I have also purchased NLP workbook by O'Connor (on of the author of Introducing NLP programming) and I like the fact that it has "guided" exercises, on the other hand i found its pace a little too slow for a book for my liking but great for a seminar.
i would thoroughly recommend this book to start NLP but you may need to combine it with a more practical guide for excellent results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


257 of 273 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well set out introduction, 9 Nov 2002
By 
Colin (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Introducing NLP Neuro-Linguistic Programming (Paperback)
Is NLP useful for most people? Answer - yes. Is it perfect - No. Which book should you get? Of all the many books on NLP at an introductory level, I would suggest this is the second best (NLP: The New Technology of Achievement 1st). It is quite a good book and much better than the majority. If you come from a business background, Sue Knight`s books might be more appropriate. Otherwise it is a good choice. Certainly it is much better than the others by the same authors.
If you want a more in depth understanding, books by Michael Hall or Robert Dilts offer a more up to date look at what is happening in this field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The martial art of communication!, 7 Oct 2007
By 
N Lyle "NJZ" (Surrey. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introducing NLP Neuro-Linguistic Programming (Paperback)
Don't let the term Neuro Linguistic Programming put you off the idea of learning about this amazing subject. NLP is literally the martial art of communication and this book is a first class introduction.

Everyone can benefit from NLP, either in their career or personal life. NLP is actually a whole range of tools and mental processes that enable one to develop the skills for understanding people more clearly and also how to influence others. Some of the techniques in this book are extremely powerful, you will discover a lot about yourself as you learn!

The book is clearly written and avoids too much jargon. The authors also have a sense of humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I recommend that managers/underlings read this together!, 27 May 2001
By 
This review is from: Introducing NLP Neuro-Linguistic Programming (Paperback)
I have read half-way through this book so far...
Since I began utilising some of the advice in the book in every day circumstances, both at work and at home...I have learnt more about myself and how to interact with people more positively.
Already, I have managed to discuss complex emotional issues with my partner without becoming over-emotional where normally we would have argued for days.
That aside, I felt this introduction was well-paced and brought the subject closer to new readers. The only thing it lacked was clarity in using the examples in everyday life and there was too much information to take in all at once. More exercises would have been useful. Apart from that, the material made sure that the reader's intentions were just and that their new skills would not be used in a negative or hurtful way. It was definitely a balanced first step in discussing the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction.., 20 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Introducing NLP Neuro-Linguistic Programming (Paperback)
It is a good book to get you started. Covers alot of the models in NLP and is set out so its easy to read and understand. But as i said a very basic book.

If you want some good advice as a rule of thumb on getting books on NLP avoid the new stuff. Stick to the earlier books by Bandler preferably the first ones for e.g 'From Frogs to Princes ( is a must if your serious about this subject ) not only are they humerous but are like the bible of the subject and come from the pioneers, the fountain of knowledge. Derren Brown will even give you this advise also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 'Bible' for every NLP practitioner., 12 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Introducing NLP Neuro-Linguistic Programming (Paperback)
Technically brilliant. An excellent beginners manual and practical reference book. Would highly recommend for anyone who is new to NLP and wants to learn how to apply the fundamental principles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book for an introduction and overview of NLP, 23 Jan 2000
By 
This review is from: Introducing NLP Neuro-Linguistic Programming (Paperback)
As a registrar on a department of neurology I found out that the given concepts, theories and exercises make a lot of sense to me. NLP and the described theories do in fact reconcile with the brains physiology and function.
This book provides a good overview about NLP and offers also different exercises (which are not recommended to do without supervision since they are very powerful and effective and could do harm if not used properly!) in terms of developing different belief systems and changing representational systems. Very imporant as well at the end of the book the different links, addresses, etc. regarding NLP trainings.
I am convinced that NLP will become a major branch in modern psychology. Good book to start with!
Christian Hohenstein, M.D., PhD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction, 7 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Introducing NLP Neuro-Linguistic Programming (Paperback)
This book is an excellent introduction to NLP and presents all the core concepts in an accurate way. NLP is a very wide-ranging theory but this author has managed to introduce the core framework very cogently. Perhaps there could have been more diagrams and illustrations, and perhaps a little less jargon too - but as NLP has so much of its own terminology it's difficult to see how this could be avoided. I would have liked to read a little more about time perception too, after reading Steve Taylor's excellent book Making Time Making Time: Why Time Seems to Pass at Different Speeds and How to Control It, which looks at why time seems to speed up and slow down (and even completely disappear) in different situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read and practical, 7 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Introducing NLP Neuro-Linguistic Programming (Paperback)
This text was one of the first UK NLP books I read. The format is pleasing to the eye and the content moves along at a comfortable pace. The reader, especially if new to the subject,should find this an informative book, which explores a range of subjects within the NLP world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introducing NLP Neuro-Linguistic Programming
Introducing NLP Neuro-Linguistic Programming by John Seymour (Paperback - Jan 2003)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews