Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 500 Portraits
This is the book if you want to know what's happening in the portrait world 1990 to 2010.
Good size to handle by that I mean it's under A4 with well over 300 pages, packed with beautiful colour photos of portraits. A short write up on the 1st. 2nd. and 3rd. prize winners.
I am so pleased I bought this book,I really enjoy having a quick look or studying the...
Published on 13 Oct 2011 by lynn425

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars contemporary portraits
There is a connection between realism and ugliness a la Lucien Freud and his grotty corpse like nudes. And one could say that to be a realist is merely just to present yet another state of mind in a way no more real than others, instead concentrating particularly on the negative aspects. This book of portraits is exemplar of this way of thinking and doing art, the...
Published 7 months ago by Mr. Robert Marsland


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 500 Portraits, 13 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Portraits: BP Portrait Award (Hardcover)
This is the book if you want to know what's happening in the portrait world 1990 to 2010.
Good size to handle by that I mean it's under A4 with well over 300 pages, packed with beautiful colour photos of portraits. A short write up on the 1st. 2nd. and 3rd. prize winners.
I am so pleased I bought this book,I really enjoy having a quick look or studying the portraits at my leisure. I would recommend this book if you are an art lover, artist or just interested in portraits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent!, 11 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Portraits: BP Portrait Award (Hardcover)
I love this book.I refer to it all the time and it provides me with plenty of ideas and inspiration when I paint portraits of my own. I do agree with previous reviewers though - it isn't much help if you're trying to scrutinise technique. On most pages there are three portraits and fine detail is lost because they are reproduced on such a small scale. However, for studying composition its really handy. I wouldn't be without it.

Whether you're an artist or just someone who admires art, I recommend you browse this book. my copy never gets put away and I'm already looking forward to the next volume (2011-2020)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ONLY ONE OF ITS KIND... SADLY, 13 Dec 2011
By 
Jeff Walmsley "JW" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Portraits: BP Portrait Award (Hardcover)
You have to give this book five stars, because there isn't any competition (nor likely to be); but it's not without its limitations; too much crammed into too small a space. The majority of decent portraits are BIG, and the vast majority of these illustrations are tiny. If you're looking at art in a book you want the illustrations to be as big as possible - and this is a small format book to start with, only around 10"x8", and if I tell you that you may find a 6ft, a 3t and a 2ft picture stuffed onto a single page, and still with plenty of empty white space, too, you will see what I mean. The suffers are the photo-realists - their works - which are often big - look more like photographs than photographs. As for examining brushwork - forget it. So in effect, it's a book of thumbnails. Nevertheless, it IS a 21-year history of this prestigious art competition, and if you're interested in that, this is the (only) book for you.

Large compendiums of portraits make for depressing viewing; sitters cannot sit with a fixed grin for hours on end (and if you see a smiling portrait, it's 9999 to 1 it's been painted from a photograph; which is OK) so the overall effect is one of dourness, even depression. It doesn't end there, though; some of the portraits are either hideous or repellent or, you would have to say, totally pointless or, even, not portraits. These categories tend to feature most in the nineties; towards the end of the 21-year period, whilst the dourness remains, the hideousness, repulsion and pointlessness diminishes (although not diappearing entirely by any means)- reflecting, one supposes, the changing of the guard on the judges' bench... And a jolly good thing, too. Perhaps in the next 20 years, we can swing the pendulum even more towards beauty, confidence, inspiration and hope, before it starts swinging back to ugliness, poverty, sickness, misery and death. Art is for decorating walls; I wouldn't want a deathbed portrait on my wall (unless it was by Hogarth or suchlike).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Portraits: BP Portrait Award (Hardcover)
Outstanding quality and content. A must for everyone interested in portraits. Well worth the money and would be an excellent present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Portraits: BP Portrait Award (Hardcover)
A very good quality book, comprehensive and a good format. Interesting for budding artists and casual readers alike, can definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Portraits: BP Portrait Award (Hardcover)
nicely laid out with good quality reproductions of the painting. Just what i wanted, a great overview of the talented portrait painting working over the past 20 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable, 5 May 2013
By 
John Daly - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Portraits: BP Portrait Award (Hardcover)
Fantastic publication that is of value to all artists whether beginner or advanced. Lots of ideas about poses, composition and technique. One of my best reference books. Dr John Daly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The BP Portrait Awards Speak for themselves, 26 Nov 2012
By 
Gimartin "Oldie Sod" (Solihull Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Portraits: BP Portrait Award (Hardcover)
You don't need any comments from me on this one.....Simply the Best Book on this subject ever printed.
Every page a "Tingle factor" !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice book, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Portraits: BP Portrait Award (Hardcover)
bought for a niece studying art - she was pleased - gives her a great selection of portraits in all styles as inspiration - book well printed and not too large to handle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Gift for the artist, 13 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Portraits: BP Portrait Award (Hardcover)
I have bought this book for my artist husband as a present. The book in fact is a catalogue of selected BP Portrait Award portraits exhibited in the National Portrait Gallery from 1990 to 2010. Comprehensive, useful, professional and very well presented. We are very pleased with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

500 Portraits: BP Portrait Award
500 Portraits: BP Portrait Award by Sandy Nairne (Hardcover - 7 Jan 2011)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews