Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Priceless - Testino is a master of subtlety'
On first impression Testino's formula seems simple - take one celebrity, an exotic location and simply point and click. This idea, however, could not be further from the truth. Upon close inspection of any one of the books many images, one realises Testino's devotion to the perfection of his photographic skill.
The subjects, ranging from Hollywood movie stars through...
Published on 12 Feb 2002

versus
13 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy Vogue - it's cheaper
Photography that's mainstream with a capital M - for victims who think that the photographer is more important than the photo. If you buy Hello! and OK! you'll love these pitures, but I doubt this book will inspire anything more than an inflamed phallus.
Published on 26 April 2002 by LucyCS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Priceless - Testino is a master of subtlety', 12 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Mario Testino: Portraits (Hardcover)
On first impression Testino's formula seems simple - take one celebrity, an exotic location and simply point and click. This idea, however, could not be further from the truth. Upon close inspection of any one of the books many images, one realises Testino's devotion to the perfection of his photographic skill.
The subjects, ranging from Hollywood movie stars through to catwalk models, musicians and several members of the Royal Family, are shown in ways often previously unseen. Puff Daddy appears with his finger to his lips - as though he were asking the viewer to conceal the 'naughtiness' implied by the semi-nude female in this same frame. Madonna appears in front of a sofa on 'all fours', Robbie Williams appears cheekily concealing his smile with his sparkly union jack undies.
While often cheeky, none of the images are even mildly offensive. Testino has endeavoured to never give us the same photo or idea twice - backgrounds include cityscapes, riversides, woodland and stately homes. Props heighten the mood in all pictures, figures carry butcher knives, drugs or even, in Julia Roberts' case, a live squirrel!
The artist's knowledge of composition and lighting are impeccable. Often Testino has used body parts to soften the edges of the photo and the various light sources add a touch of magic. Gwyneth Paltrow, for example, seems to meet the viewer in an atmosphere of soft bright light and beautifully merging pastel colours, as if she were walking in a dream.
Combined with insightful text that is a pleasure to read, Mario Testino's passion for his life and the images he draws from it are presented in format that serves not only as a treat for art lovers of all kinds but as an excellent reference for the serious photographer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, 21 Oct 2004
By A Customer
I have recently been given this book for my birthday and I completely adore it. Mario Testino is a fantastic photographer, every page of this book is filled with colour and imagination. I would strongly advise you to purchase this product it truly is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars photography, 24 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Testino: Portraits (Hardcover)
Bought for my daughter doing photography, excellent book. She used it for her research and we have all enjoyed just reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars beautiful pictures, 14 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Testino: Portraits (Hardcover)
The book has amazing portrait pictures. I could not give it 5 stars has the cover got damaged during transport. I did contact Amazon about it and send pictures but did not get a reply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 22 Jun 2004
By A Customer
I think that this book is outstanding, Mario Testinos work is brilliant his use of colour and lighting brings all his photos to life. There is not one photo in this book which I dislike. Its fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty and energy, 18 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Mario Testino: Portraits (Hardcover)
A typical piece of work by Mario. Full of energy and life. Beautiful people egual beautiful pictures. Just a shame about the John Galliano photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fantastic review of a great photographers work, 15 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Mario Testino: Portraits (Hardcover)
mario testino (possible the greatest fashion photographer of our time) has produced a glorious series of photographs of models, film stars and royalty. in 'portraits' the best of his pictures are collected together and displayed in their full glory. my personal favourites were of kate moss from 1995-1999 (i'm sure mario himself would not disagree). he has the ability to make a seemingly beautiful person look even better when most other photographers would not have considered it possible. overall a fantastic collection of stunning pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy Vogue - it's cheaper, 26 April 2002
By 
LucyCS (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mario Testino: Portraits (Hardcover)
Photography that's mainstream with a capital M - for victims who think that the photographer is more important than the photo. If you buy Hello! and OK! you'll love these pitures, but I doubt this book will inspire anything more than an inflamed phallus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mario Testino: Portraits
Mario Testino: Portraits by Patrick Kinmouth (Hardcover - 25 Jan 2002)
Used & New from: £96.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews