Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars83
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2015
This is amazing! So it works by identifying the first vowel sound - (long or short etc) with picture help if needed. Then, using the chart, identify the page the word will be on from the first letter - turn to page and there the word is - extra help is available to find it based on the number of syllables. I bought this for our daughter (10) who struggles with spelling (mildly dyslexic) and she finds it really helpful - but I could happily use this myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
An amazingly clever, yet simple to use book. It "thinks" the same way as my daughter when it comes to spelling!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
Bought for my son as thought it may help him finding words to assist spelling. However,m as it relies on phonetics and knowing the initial sound for words has not been that much of a help as the sounds are something he struggles with due to his hearing loss. Without the hearing issues though I think it could have been very helpful and can see that it may help many other people with their spelling and word understanding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
Fantastic book, I wish I had one when I was younger.
It's given our children so much more confidence.
You need to take a bit of time to learn how to use this book and sometimes finding the word can be a little tricky but I assume it gets easier the more it's used.
I made a copy of the key so the children didn't have to keep changing pages.
Would defiantly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
I have orders several copies of these. Great dictionaries for students with literacy problems.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
This is an excellent dictionary, specially for dyslexic people who can use the phonetic sound of the word to find it.

Usual dictionaries need you to have a rough idea of how to spell the word BEFORE you can find it. This one does not.

I recommend it very highly and have bought two of them for friends who find spelling a real challenge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
This was bought on the recommendation of my daughter's school. The system works on number of syllables and main vowel sound in a word to locate it in a series of tables. My daughter is in year 5 and can use it quicker than a conventional dictionary. There are some issues with local dialect when counting syllables, but on the whole appears to work well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
A really helpful book. I work in Learning Support in both Further and Higher Education and have been using it directly with dyslexic students, as well as recommending it to them to get for themselves.

The quality of the actually book was above and beyond how it was listed and it was delivered very quickly - excellent seller!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
My son is dyslexic and struggles with spellings. He has learnt to read using phonics so this dictionary automatically made sense to him. He had made huge improvements in his written work since having this dictionary and school has bought them for every classroom! My daughter's who are not dyslexic also love this dictionary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
Dyslexia, Irlens or just find it difficult to spell then try this. FANTASTIC. Both my children has Dyslexia and this has made such a huge difference to them. Not really for Primary school children although possibly year 6 children would be okay. Must have a good grasp of phonics ( sounds) to use it. Love it so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.