Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ACE is as ace does
Creative approach to spelling difficulties. Focusses on the central vowel sound of a word instead of on spelling patterns or rules which are hard to learn and have too many exceptions to be really helpful.
Published on 21 May 2012 by Sal

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but...
The advanced pocket version is much better, particularly if you are using it for adult students. I would suggest you try the advanced version for older students.
Published 23 months ago by Manxcat


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ACE is as ace does, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ACE Spelling Dictionary (Paperback)
Creative approach to spelling difficulties. Focusses on the central vowel sound of a word instead of on spelling patterns or rules which are hard to learn and have too many exceptions to be really helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous dictionary, 8 April 2013
By 
Mrs O. (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ACE Spelling Dictionary (Paperback)
My son is 12 and though he is not diagnosed as dyslexic, has always had really terrible spelling. Over the years I've gone on at him to use a dictionary and he's maintained that you have to already know how it's spelt to look it up. This dictionary has changed all that. When it came I had a look at it and it looked really hard to use as it's so different from a 'normal' dictionary so I didn't have much faith in it. However I gave it to him telling him to look up a few hard words such as gnarled and gauge and he found them and spelled them correctly. Incredible. Obviously he still has to know when to look up a word but hopefully if there's any doubt he will and I ultimately his spelling should improve. Wish I'd bought something like this for him years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Dictionary. Does what says., 30 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ACE Spelling Dictionary (Paperback)
My Daughter likes using this dictionary and helps her go back to basics and using phonics and thinking about the words she is tring to spell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Book, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ACE Spelling Dictionary (Paperback)
I highly recommend this dictionary for any children who struggle with the sounds of words. This is so simple to use and has helped my son a great deal. He actually likes using this dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for those struggling to spell., 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ACE Spelling Dictionary (Paperback)
This dictionary is excellent for those who struggle to spell and cannot use an conventional dictionary. You do need to learn how to use it, but with the guidance in the book, and with a little help from an adult, even the weakest of spellers can use this wonderful resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ACE Spelling Dictionary (Paperback)
I can't believe that I've only just been told about this... 2 children with dyslexia and just been advised to get one! It is incredible! How using a normal dictionary would they ever find the word gnome or psychological or knife etc as if you don't already know about the silent letters you will never find it... This dictionary is totally incredible... Takes all of 2 minutes to learn how to use, then it is just so so simple.

N.b. This is a dictionary for spelling words not looking up meanings... But arguably an essential tool for anyone who struggles with spelling!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As it says on the cover!, 10 Jan. 2013
By 
De (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ACE Spelling Dictionary (Paperback)
My child is dyspraxic and this book helps with the academic side of spelling. It is not a dictionary sor meaning, only a resource for finding out how to spell using phonics. A great aid for my child and would defo recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great literacy tool, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ACE Spelling Dictionary (Paperback)
I had been recommended this book by a friend, to help my dyslexic son with his spelling. He finds it SO easy to use! He is able to look up a word in this book faster than I can in an ordinary dictionary! I tried it initially with him with a few words that are not as they sound, like circus, psychiatrist etc, and it works perfectly every time. Generally, no meanings are given, unless they are useful to help a child choose the correct version of a homophone, eg ceiling and sealing. It's an excellent product and helps a child feel more confident and able in spelling. I would recommend this dictionary for adults and children alike with dyslexia and other problems with spelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a smashing idea!, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ACE Spelling Dictionary (Paperback)
Great product, really simple to use once you read the instructions and get the hang of it. Recommended by my school for my Dyslexic daughter (12). I LOVE that it accommodates for different regional pronunciation, I am northern and my children have mixed north/south accents. A bit big but I suppose it has to be. All round very pleased. She just has to surrender to needing to use it and not guessing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ACE Spelling Dictionary (Paperback)
This is a must have dictionary for anyone. It is so easy to use no matter your spelling capability. My daughter has always had problems with spelling and a conventional dictionary is only good if you no how to actually spell the word that you're looking for. With the ACE Spelling Dictionary as long as you can say the word phonetically you will find the word very easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ACE Spelling Dictionary
ACE Spelling Dictionary by David Moseley (Paperback - 1 Jan. 2012)
£11.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews