Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you know how to use the ACE dictionary then it's a good buy
The Adavanced ACE spelling dictionary is smaller than the normal one- which helps it go into my bag.
Although it's harder to use their are no pictures for the vowel sounds to help identify them, however their are words by the side of the vowel sounds. There is also no little hints if you have the wrong vowel sound. However once you are used to the dictionary it's not...
Published on 14 May 2010 by Lilly

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
it is suppose to help you spell but we found it hard to use
Published 8 months ago by Mrs. J. K. Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you know how to use the ACE dictionary then it's a good buy, 14 May 2010
This review is from: Advanced Ace Spelling Dictionary (Pocket Edt) (Paperback)
The Adavanced ACE spelling dictionary is smaller than the normal one- which helps it go into my bag.
Although it's harder to use their are no pictures for the vowel sounds to help identify them, however their are words by the side of the vowel sounds. There is also no little hints if you have the wrong vowel sound. However once you are used to the dictionary it's not too bad. You can always just flick through it.

For people who have Irene's syndrome beware that the paper is extra glossy, which makes it a little harder to use.

The dictionary's strong points are all the extra words. It has frequent words in black and specific words in purple. This means that you can now use it at university, for most things and would be fine for most A levels. It also still has the little notes on homophones so you know that you are using the right word.

Overall well recommended for those of use who have a few spelling issues. If a small child can use the ACE dictionary then it's good for them and for older uses i'm sure that they can work out how to use it. For those of you who don't know an ACE spelling dictionary just involves you saying the word correctly for you to find out how to spell it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a fantastic aid for anyone who sometimes gets a spelling wrong, 17 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Advanced Ace Spelling Dictionary (Pocket Edt) (Paperback)
This new version of David Moseley's long established spelling dictionary is even better than its predecessors. It has many more words, so it is useful for university work as well as schools, and is suitable across the ability range.

If you haven't come across the ACE dictionary before, it is brilliantly simple - you identify the first vowel sound by a simple phonetic method, then guess the first letter, then use a simple index to get to the right page, and then use the number of syllables ('beats') in the word to find the right column.

If you have used earlier versions, this one is slightly confusing at first, as earlier books used animals for the sounds (eg 'elephant' for the short 'e' sound) while this version uses colours (so for the short 'e' it uses red). But I think it's a better system as it is easier to remember - and it also uses colour coded markings on the pages to help find the right page.

I've introduced it to two new users over the past week, both very bright teenagers who struggle with spelling. Their verdicts: 'awesome' and 'magic'. I agree!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for those who struggle to spell, 9 May 2012
By 
K. Berry "kazza-1" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Advanced Ace Spelling Dictionary (Pocket Edt) (Paperback)
I have used these dictionaries since my brother was statemented for Dyslexia in 1984. This version however, is much improved on what was already a fantastic item. The size is easier to handle and there are far more 'grown up' words. I use this with 16-19 Year olds who struggle with using a dictionary. How can you use a dictionary if you can't spell? Exactly. This is to look up spellings. A brillinat buy and so easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ace advacced spelling dictionary, 16 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Advanced Ace Spelling Dictionary (Pocket Edt) (Paperback)
this dictionary is fantastic it stands alone in dictionaries wether you can spell or not this is a must have tool in anyones home or classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Advanced Ace Spelling Dictionary (Pocket Edt) (Paperback)
it is suppose to help you spell but we found it hard to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Advanced Ace Spelling Dictionary (Pocket Edt) (Paperback)
helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Advanced Ace Spelling Dictionary (Pocket Edt)
Advanced Ace Spelling Dictionary (Pocket Edt) by David Moseley (Paperback - 25 Jun. 2009)
Used & New from: £5.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews