Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little book on Milling
I had been put off buying the book by some of the negative reviews, but thankfully was given one as a present. Right from the start the author makes it plain that this book is a sequel to the lathework - a complete course book #34. So I assumed this meant the milling book was directed toward readers with some metal working experience - I have none! Yet I found the book...
Published on 27 Feb 2010 by Oldsirhippy

versus
60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A useful book, but appallingly written
Sadly, this is probably the best book if you have a new milling machine and no experience. But I say sadly because it's so badly written it's really difficult to follow. The contents page and the author's remarks set out a sensible sounding plan: take the reader through several simple projects to learn by doing. But the author gets diverted into the technique-specific...
Published on 26 Oct 2006 by Mr. David Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little book on Milling, 27 Feb 2010
By 
Oldsirhippy "The_Elsyd" (Jersey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Milling: A Complete Course (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
I had been put off buying the book by some of the negative reviews, but thankfully was given one as a present. Right from the start the author makes it plain that this book is a sequel to the lathework - a complete course book #34. So I assumed this meant the milling book was directed toward readers with some metal working experience - I have none! Yet I found the book very accessible and many of the techniques used are going to be very useful to me. Mr Hall goes through the basics of milling and demonstrates this through several simple projects. Prior to receiving the book I had made some T-nuts, and thanks to the book now understand how to make these properly. I will also be making the clamp bars and will be getting an angle plate. Mr Hall clearly explains the advantages and disadvantages of a vice and how to modify a drilling vice for light milling, however he prefers using angle plates, cylindrical squares and clamps - and makes most of the items in the book with these. The grinding rest and accessories will also be very useful. He even shows how to make a set of parallels with great accuracy.
This is a 'doing' book rather than a good read. It has loads of tips that I have picked up and will be using to correct many of the mistakes I have already made with my Denford TRIAC CNC mill. This has turned out to be a great present which I will refer to frequently!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A useful book, but appallingly written, 26 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. David Thomas (Bromley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Milling: A Complete Course (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
Sadly, this is probably the best book if you have a new milling machine and no experience. But I say sadly because it's so badly written it's really difficult to follow. The contents page and the author's remarks set out a sensible sounding plan: take the reader through several simple projects to learn by doing. But the author gets diverted into the technique-specific lectures he says he's going to avoid (which ruins the flow of both the projects and the technique instruction).

And the prose seems to have been copied from one of those manuals supplied by Chinese machine-tool manufacturers who don't really know English. Try this, the very first sentence in the book: "Using the milling machine does not include the range of operations that are available when using the centre lathe as the machining process varies little from task to task." OR this: "The reason for this is that a cut starts at full depth and reduces to zero whilst in reverse the opposite is true ...". Lastly, on the important subject of Climb Milling (or not), it is wholly unclear whether he is recommending it or warning against it. Since this is something very basic for a new mill operator, that's a serious criticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great if it's what you need..., 15 Jun 2010
By 
D. Layzell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Milling: A Complete Course (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
I found the book helpful - not quite what I was looking for but very useful nevertheless. At Amazon price it's unbeatable for a learner like me who has just found the machine 'on/off' switch and didn't know much else before reading the book. The starter exercises with their instructions look good and I now understand how to perform various operations, although I may not undertake all the projects described. My first two (simple)jobs are now completed satisfactorily and safely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Milling: A Complete Course, 15 Feb 2010
This review is from: Milling: A Complete Course (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
This book is clearly written by an author who understands his audience. The book contains crisp illustrations and can be read on several levels.

First, how to bootstrap yourself from having no milling accessories.
Starting from strip and bar materials, it enables a build up from simple work holding devices to relatively sophisticated, precisely adjustable tool holders.

Second, how to make a range of specific tools.
T nuts, clamps, angle plate, boring head, dividing head, tool and cutter grinding rest; take your pick! The book contains detailed plans for the manufacture of the last three devices/

Finally, a reference for techniques.
If you only need advice on particular approaches or if you want ideas on "how to do it"s then this book provides insights into various holding and machining techniques which could be used or adapted for your current project.

All in all, "Milling: A Complete Course" is a very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Milling - a complete course. WPS 35., 22 April 2011
This review is from: Milling: A Complete Course (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
The author, Harold Hall, has always been a respected writer and consummate teacher.

His book is well written and his pictures are clear and to the point.
While I, a beginner, found some of the projects to be a little daunting at first, Mr Hall's explanation guided me through without mishap. I am STILL a beginner and comparatively inexperienced but my confidence in tackling work projects has been greatly enhanced by this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really useful primer, 20 Aug 2011
By 
C. CUNLIFFE "Aged Heptaphile" (North Tawton, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milling: A Complete Course (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
I wanted to learn enough about the techniques of milling to know whether it was worth buying a mill. Reading this book has demystified the process successfully and now I suppose the next step is to buy a nice new mill! That's a different story ... Very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars milling machine, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milling: A Complete Course (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
Excellent book. Particularly useful is the tool and cutter grinder section. Good supporting photographs, and comprehensive coverage of other useful attachments as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good course for beginners, 5 May 2009
By 
D. A. Larner "Dave L" (Norfolk UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Milling: A Complete Course (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
I agree with the previous reviewer. I wanted advise on which milling tools to buy etc. This book is written by an experienced engineer who seems to have lost sight of the basics and the fact that the buyer may know very little.There seem to be no books aimed at the novice and if you are its possibly a good idea to avoid this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milling: A Complete Course (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milling: A Complete Course (Workshop Practice) (Paperback)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Milling: A Complete Course (Workshop Practice)
Milling: A Complete Course (Workshop Practice) by Harold Hall (Paperback - 20 May 2004)
6.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews