Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for growing wine in England ( U.K. )
This is a great book. I own three others, probably all from Amazon, and I think Growing Vines to make wines is the best. It deals with the specifics of growing vines in the U.K. and is very clearly written. It is also very detailed. Pros and Cons of each vine are described (grown in England), everything from planting a cutting to maturing a wine, is broken down into...
Published on 2 Mar 2009 by R. G. G. James

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated, but possibly useful for a very small grower in the UK
I gave up on this book half way through - it seems to be geared towards anyone in the UK who want to attempt to grow grapes - mainly on an amateur level. It doesn't have the depth required for Plumpton College or the insight of Dr.Richard Smart etc.
Published 18 months ago by Anton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for growing wine in England ( U.K. ), 2 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Growing Vines to Make Wines (Paperback)
This is a great book. I own three others, probably all from Amazon, and I think Growing Vines to make wines is the best. It deals with the specifics of growing vines in the U.K. and is very clearly written. It is also very detailed. Pros and Cons of each vine are described (grown in England), everything from planting a cutting to maturing a wine, is broken down into small steps with good illustrations and photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Practical Advice, 9 Jun 2009
By 
S. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growing Vines to Make Wines (Paperback)
This book contains enough detailed advice to be useful, but not enough science to be overwhelming to the amateur. I can't recommend it enough! A great starting point for anyone thinking of growing their own vines in England with specific advice on our climate and what is achieveable. I'm a country wine maker and was glad for the detailed advice of how to take this one step further with grapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winegrowers bible, 9 Mar 2009
By 
P. J. England "mammamia" (italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Growing Vines to Make Wines (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for people who have recently acquired a vineyard and need some serious advice. Easy to read and full of useful advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars detailed and informative, 8 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growing Vines to Make Wines (Paperback)
An excellent book for beginner and experienced grower/vintner. Lots of pictures and diagrams. lots of useful information of the whole process from preparing the ground to choosing and planting the vine, to care and harvesting the crop and making the wine. I would recommend this book to all who want to know how to grow your own wine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what i wanted, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growing Vines to Make Wines (Paperback)
Just what i wanted. A present for a friend who has just started with the 'vine growing' to make his own wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Industrial wine making, 18 Jan 2014
By 
Highland Lady (Burton-on-trent) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growing Vines to Make Wines (Paperback)
The book is very informative about the whole process of making wine from grapes, however, it is definitely more suited to larger scale production of wine rather than home small wine production. The book contains some very useful information that will help me to understand the process of obtaining good wine, worth buying but I have ordered another book which hopefully will be more suitable for home wine making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction and more.., 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growing Vines to Make Wines (Paperback)
Does exactly what it says, gives you an excellent insight into every aspect from growing the grapes, treating the vines to producing your own wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am a novice and thi9s book helped me, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growing Vines to Make Wines (Paperback)
I am a novice at growing vines and the book has greatly helped me get my few vines set up in the right way.
Every few weeks I refer back to the book for advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars vines vines vines, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growing Vines to Make Wines (Paperback)
good informative and easy to read book for a novice, will help assist in my 1st grape vine in a garden, as not many books on the subject. would have liked more color photos but otherwise found useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dated, but possibly useful for a very small grower in the UK, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growing Vines to Make Wines (Paperback)
I gave up on this book half way through - it seems to be geared towards anyone in the UK who want to attempt to grow grapes - mainly on an amateur level. It doesn't have the depth required for Plumpton College or the insight of Dr.Richard Smart etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Growing Vines to Make Wines
Growing Vines to Make Wines by Nick Poulter (Paperback - 29 Aug 1998)
£6.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews