Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only for the model engineer
You could pay around £100 for the equivalent "professional" handbook and still not find what you have in here. Extensive information but also succint comments that explain it all in terms of practical application. I got more out of the 2 pages on electric motors than from hours of lectures (admittedly rather a long time ago.) My only regret is that I didn't find this...
Published on 27 Jan. 2009 by Graham Lewis

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that great
I had the impression, prior to buying this book, that it was going to be pretty comprehensive for the kind of tables and lists you would want to look up without leafing through lots of other books. Not so.

It gets carried away with theory (tries to teach logarithms, which I have never used for engineering calculations in 30 years since leaving school), then...
Published on 4 May 2011 by Stringybark


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only for the model engineer, 27 Jan. 2009
By 
Graham Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Model Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
You could pay around £100 for the equivalent "professional" handbook and still not find what you have in here. Extensive information but also succint comments that explain it all in terms of practical application. I got more out of the 2 pages on electric motors than from hours of lectures (admittedly rather a long time ago.) My only regret is that I didn't find this book about 3 decades ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost all the model engineer wants to know in one book!!, 29 Dec. 2001
This review is from: Model Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
Tubal Cain has managed to take some of the most complicated theories, completely undress them and make them understandable, useful to the model engineer. Plus there is a handy note section so that the reader can make notes that are relevant to the particular project that they are working on at the time. The books available from both Tubal Cain and George Thomas, must be the complete model engineers Bible. As far as I am concerned, the book is a MUST HAVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy Little Book!, 3 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Model Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
Does what it says on the side of the tin! Packed full of the more common information for the model engineer such as cutting feed, trig, steam and log tables but also contains info on boiler construction, electric motors, properties of materials, spring design etc. and even how to restore depleted accumulators! Worth every penny for a good basic all round book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that great, 4 May 2011
By 
Stringybark (Canberra, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Model Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
I had the impression, prior to buying this book, that it was going to be pretty comprehensive for the kind of tables and lists you would want to look up without leafing through lots of other books. Not so.

It gets carried away with theory (tries to teach logarithms, which I have never used for engineering calculations in 30 years since leaving school), then goes on with pages of log, trig and area-of-circle tables - why, when we all have electronic calculators now. Don't bother looking for anything on common alloys other than a bit on steel (but without recommendations on what they are all for); you'll still have to have a book that outlines common gear calculations as this does not; an odd and antiquated electrical section; vain and dry attempts to teach steam engine theory and the gas laws - pointless - read proper texts about those topics should you ever need to; no foundry information such as melting and pouring temperatures; long-winded instructions on various topics without any diagrams; no ER collet data; no carbide insert data (used for modern cutting tools); 'boiler work' does not mention current compliance standards; the list goes on.

You will find some useful things - screw thread tables, standard tapers, other scattered data.

In general, a modern 'handbook' would have a layout with a lot of break-out boxes and page tabs that make it easy to find granular sets of data, rather than the long narrative discursion which is the dominant style in this book. Tubal Cain I think died before the appearance of those American cop shows that gave us the line "just the facts ma'am, just the facts". Pity, as that's the advice he needed.

Overall a let down - but hey, buy it, its cheap - however it won't be what you look up for the majority of your model engineering 'need a quick answer' questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lyle Peterson who dispenses a wealth of useful information - much of it in the way of ..., 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Model Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
As essentially a 'Reference' book, this is not a publication that one reads from cover to cover. It contains a mass of detailed information, from across his years of experience, in every imaginable area of engineering, as is only to be expected from the author, 'Tubal Cain' (the British engineer, Tom Walshaw - not to be confused with tubalcain, the American engineer, Lyle Peterson who dispenses a wealth of useful information - much of it in the way of YouTube videos, these days.)
"Model Engineer's Handbook" contains a lot of information that I will probably not have use for, or is 'above me', but it is a compendium containing many treasured sections that I would not be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Model engineers handbook, 26 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Model Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
What you get with this book is invaluable information in the form of reference data and explanations clearly written and presented. This is not a step-by-step tutorial of how to build something, but has just about everything you WILL need in the future! I have done a lot of mechanical work and design in my past employment and have just decided to take up model engineering as a hobby, and I am glad I purchased this. It's the book I will be reaching to when I have a technical problem......wish me luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engineer's Handbook, 7 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. D. Barber (Bucks UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Model Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
Just what I need for quick reference. As a professional engineer I have many text books and manuals, but this small book is a perfect compendium of my day to day information needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Model Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
This is a specialist book for model engineers and is an excellent compendium of tables, facts, figures, and techniques. Only for enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just another handbook, 17 Nov. 2013
By 
A. Bentell (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Model Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
There will always be a market for handbooks! And everyone of them will tell you its the one and only you need, and they will all be lying. Even with the internet, a book is handier I find. And often more trustworthy! But we need many to cover all bases. Thankfully they are not too expensive. I'm sure everyone ail find something of use in this one as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reference standard, 7 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Model Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
This book has been written by someone who has taken literally tens of years
to gathe together this amount of data. It has to be a reference standard for
those working with machines in the workshop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Model Engineer's Handbook
Model Engineer's Handbook by Tubal Cain (Paperback - 3 Jan. 1998)
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews