Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Simple Model Steam Engines
An excellant book that compliments the first book Simple Model Steam Engines,it has excellant and well laid out plans and drawings of differant steam engines which can easily be constructed on the small lathe.The Models are very nostalgic and once completed make excellant presents or gifts.Buy the book and add some more engines to your collection as ive done.
Published on 9 Aug. 2004 by Mr. M. E. Witten

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Engineers only
Personally, I found the instructions difficult to follow and the diagrams - which have very thick line work - difficult to follow. What's more the assembly instructions were woefully lacking. I do not feel that I could assemble any of the projects in this book, even had I the proper equipment to do so.
Published 12 months ago by Ashok Desai


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Simple Model Steam Engines, 9 Aug. 2004
By 
Mr. M. E. Witten (Calne, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellant book that compliments the first book Simple Model Steam Engines,it has excellant and well laid out plans and drawings of differant steam engines which can easily be constructed on the small lathe.The Models are very nostalgic and once completed make excellant presents or gifts.Buy the book and add some more engines to your collection as ive done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for beginners, 22 Oct. 2001
By 
mbhh@tekmek.dk (Düsseldorf, Germany) - See all my reviews
I love the writing style and humour of Tubal Cain. The book is a good introduction for anyone wanting to build steam engines. If you are a raw beginner in Model Engineering some parts can be a little hard to understand, but you don't have to be a pro to get enjoyment from the book. Some of the designs use castings which might not be available any more. However, the parts could be machined instead. A very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent how-to manual, 11 July 2009
By 
JE Moore (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Simple Model Steam Engines (Paperback)
Excellent guide to making simple steam engines. It's an entertaining read too if you are interested in engineering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant Guide, 8 July 2009
By 
D. A. Sullivan (Charlton Mackrell, Somerset, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building Simple Model Steam Engines (Paperback)
Like almost everything written by Tubal Caib - EXCELLENT.

Good, practical, advice, clearly written with good diagrams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant steam, 30 Oct. 2009
By 
William R. Rowlands (flintshire uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building Simple Model Steam Engines (Paperback)
This book is a first class starter book for anyone building
thier first entry into model steam engines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best!, 6 July 2013
By 
G. Smith (East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Simple Model Steam Engines (Paperback)
What more can you say. Tubal is on his own when it comes to fantastic simple to make, great functional steam engines. I bought the Jenny Wren plans 35 years ago and made it at that time. It still works perfectly and looks the business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good reading, 4 Aug. 2013
By 
Michael B. Wilkins (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Simple Model Steam Engines (Paperback)
this book gives plans for small boilers and small steam engines, very good for beginners would highly recommend as a first project
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Engineers only, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Simple Model Steam Engines (Paperback)
Personally, I found the instructions difficult to follow and the diagrams - which have very thick line work - difficult to follow. What's more the assembly instructions were woefully lacking. I do not feel that I could assemble any of the projects in this book, even had I the proper equipment to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Building Simple Model Steam Engines, 26 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book arrived promptly and well packaged, with correct postage pre-paid. The explanations and examples are well done for even the novice, me, to understand. I've just got my first model to run. I intend to build them all before going onto the big project I have in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 15 Mar. 2011
By 
S. D. Spicer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Simple Model Steam Engines (Paperback)
What a delightful and well-explained book this is. It shows in simple terms how to build a working model steam engine and details how it works. If, like me, you'd like to start actually making engines this is a good and inexpensive place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Building Simple Model Steam Engines
Building Simple Model Steam Engines by Tubal Cain (Paperback - 10 Jan. 1998)
£6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews