Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable
This relatively small book is divided into several sections with slices from Churchill's life and quotations related to politics, speaches, friends, animals, family, etc.

Here are few excerpts:

While campaigning in 1900, it is said that the young Churchill was doing a spot of canvassing when one of those he approached exclaimed:

"Vote for...
Published on 12 Feb 2008 by Laura De Giorgio

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Humour.
This book was bought as part of a Christmas gift for a non reader. I thought if it was as amusing as billed it might encourage my friend to read as opposed to watching peculiarities on TV. I gave up after a dozen or so pages and the friend has it lying beside the remote control. I imagine only one of the items is picked up.
Published 6 months ago by Mrs. K. Drain


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 12 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
This relatively small book is divided into several sections with slices from Churchill's life and quotations related to politics, speaches, friends, animals, family, etc.

Here are few excerpts:

While campaigning in 1900, it is said that the young Churchill was doing a spot of canvassing when one of those he approached exclaimed:

"Vote for you? Why, I'd rather vote for the Devil!"

"I understand", Churchill answered, "But in case your friend is not running, may I count on your support?"

* * *

When passed a very long but turgidly written memorandum on some worthy but uninspiring subject, the elderly Prime Minister weighed the thick wad of paper in his hands and commented, "This paper by its very length defends itself against the risk of being read."

* * *

Churchill liked animals; sometimes he found this difficult to reconcile with his fondness for rich food. Anthony Montague Brown recalled that 'One Christmas he was about to carve a goose. Learning it was one of his own, he put down the knife and fork and said, "I could not possibly eat a bird that I have known socially."

* * *

A BBC broadcaster described once sitting next to Churchill as he gave a speech, keeping his audience hanging on to his every word. The boradcaster noticed, howver, that what appeared to be notes in Churchill's hand was only a laundry slip, and he later remarked upon this to Churchill. "Yes", said Churchill. "It gave confidence to my audience."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 2 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
If you're a fellow Churchillophile (nice word!) it's one of those books that you simply must have on the bookshelf...I tend to browse it every so often and always seem to find something to smile about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super christmas pressie!, 1 Feb 2009
By 
L. Grime (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
I bought this as a christmas present for my father who is a big fan of winston churchill, and he was very pleased with it! the book is quite a handy size and although it's not very long it contains some brilliant quotes and information about Britain's best loved prime minister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
I bought this when I was at University and it is a fairly good book. I would recommend it for anyone studying British politics in the 20th century or British politics throughout WWII
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great British Patriot, 24 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
This book sums up almost all the great qualities of a man who for so many was one of the greatest Englishman who ever lived. Full of quotes of indeed great wit and humour as well as thought and intelligence. Just a short read of this book will keep you in the best of spirits, and will surely put you in a most patriotic mood. A brilliant read and a must have book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars INSTANT HIT, 15 Dec 2009
By 
Kate L. Worthy "kitty" (salford, manchester, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
Bought for my dad who is very difficult to buy for, as soon as he opened it you could hear the laughter, love it.quick delivery too, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
A great book, easy to read and very enjoyable. My 9 year old loves history and is a great fan of Churchill and he could not put down the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The wicked wit of Winston Churchilll, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
A fabulous read . Not at all boring , a great book to quickly read when you don't have much energy to concentrate on a big/deep book as this is nicely light hearted !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just great fun to read, really enjoyable seeing all these excellent quotes. It gives you a good idea of what he would be like in person!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill
The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill by Dominique Enright (Hardcover - 31 Aug 2001)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews