Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice
If you're a fellow Churchillophile (nice word!) it's one of those books that you simply must have on the bookshelf...I tend to browse it every so often and always seem to find something to smile about.
Published on 2 Jan. 2011 by Paul.A

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I had hoped.
Perhaps too much has been written about the great man. Sadly I found this rather tedious at times, and maybe I knew more of the man and his wit than I thought I knew.
Published on 31 Dec. 2012 by HyacinthBucket2


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 2 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
If you're a fellow Churchillophile (nice word!) it's one of those books that you simply must have on the bookshelf...I tend to browse it every so often and always seem to find something to smile about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 12 Feb. 2008
By 
Laura De Giorgio "hypnotherapist" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
This relatively small book is divided into several sections with slices from Churchill's life and quotations related to politics, speaches, friends, animals, family, etc.

Here are few excerpts:

While campaigning in 1900, it is said that the young Churchill was doing a spot of canvassing when one of those he approached exclaimed:

"Vote for you? Why, I'd rather vote for the Devil!"

"I understand", Churchill answered, "But in case your friend is not running, may I count on your support?"

* * *

When passed a very long but turgidly written memorandum on some worthy but uninspiring subject, the elderly Prime Minister weighed the thick wad of paper in his hands and commented, "This paper by its very length defends itself against the risk of being read."

* * *

Churchill liked animals; sometimes he found this difficult to reconcile with his fondness for rich food. Anthony Montague Brown recalled that 'One Christmas he was about to carve a goose. Learning it was one of his own, he put down the knife and fork and said, "I could not possibly eat a bird that I have known socially."

* * *

A BBC broadcaster described once sitting next to Churchill as he gave a speech, keeping his audience hanging on to his every word. The boradcaster noticed, howver, that what appeared to be notes in Churchill's hand was only a laundry slip, and he later remarked upon this to Churchill. "Yes", said Churchill. "It gave confidence to my audience."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super christmas pressie!, 1 Feb. 2009
By 
L. Grime (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
I bought this as a christmas present for my father who is a big fan of winston churchill, and he was very pleased with it! the book is quite a handy size and although it's not very long it contains some brilliant quotes and information about Britain's best loved prime minister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
I bought this when I was at University and it is a fairly good book. I would recommend it for anyone studying British politics in the 20th century or British politics throughout WWII
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wit of all shapes and sizes, 12 Sept. 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
"We know he has, more than any other man, the gift of compressing the largest amount of words into the smallest amount of thought."

"Short words are best and the old words when short are best of all."

Known for his great speeches, he was also very witty. These are just two examples from this short but enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great British Patriot, 24 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
This book sums up almost all the great qualities of a man who for so many was one of the greatest Englishman who ever lived. Full of quotes of indeed great wit and humour as well as thought and intelligence. Just a short read of this book will keep you in the best of spirits, and will surely put you in a most patriotic mood. A brilliant read and a must have book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A man for all reasons...., 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did enjoy the book, quite a short read though. If you are an admirer of Churchill as an orator, then you will
probably enjoy the read, however, if you are looking more for wit and laughter, you maybe disappointed.
The well known quips are there and it does show what a unique and lovable man WSC was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just great fun to read, really enjoyable seeing all these excellent quotes. It gives you a good idea of what he would be like in person!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was a Christmas present, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my brother for a Christmas present and he loved it. It kept him quiet for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted xx, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thanks just what I was looking for, perfect for the job in hand, good enough to use for my wedding invites thank you very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill
The Wicked Wit of Winston Churchill by Dominique Enright (Hardcover - 31 Aug. 2001)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews