Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars13
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2008
This book is a must for teachers and students of voice alike. Masterfully written, it is even more accessible than Linklater's earlier (blue cover) edition of this ground-breaking work. The exercises are beautifully outlined, creating a developmental journey through the whole voice. Although it is primarily aimed at voice training for actors and performers, it will be of benefit to anyone interested in freeing their natural voice. Linklater is an internationally recognised master teacher and this book is an absolute gem of a work.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
This is a practical and authoritative book to help develop delivery of speech. I am dyslexic and read in church from time to time and therefore have to prepare a reading with care, if possible starting a week beforehand. Over the years I have come to realise that the way in which words, phrases, sentences are delivered by the voice can have a dramatic affect on meaning for the listener. I want to take this a step further on my own and, although a long term process as the book explains, I am encouraged to explore the potential of my own voice and believe I can do this with the help of the very thorough and analytic approach of this book and the practical exercises it presents to the reader.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2010
well organised, very easy to follow, clear, love the fact that there is a timetable to follow. although it is a tough process. not sure i could have gained as much from it if i hadnt been taking a kristin linklater class. great book, very influenced by art, meditation ... nice
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2012
Freeing the Natural Voice is a thorough, simple and inspired book and practical guide to the exploration of the human voice. There are no tricks, shortcuts, nor anything superficial about the way in which it takes your through a journey from body to breath to sound and finally articulation, thought, feelings and language. A must buy for anyone serious about exploring their spoken voice!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
5 star rating for this marvelous book, I keep returning to it, every aspect of freeing one's voice is in it. Almost overwhelming, every aspect of voice and body training is in it. Highly recommendable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
A super book, really good relaxation techniques. This is a long term investment in your body and your voice. Best to have a friend willing to complete the exercises with you...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
I read this book until the covers fell off and am still reading it. Kristin Linklater's passion and no nonsense writing vibrates out of every page and every page I turned was a revelation to me. The exercises are unique and work. I would recommend this book to everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
I should have bought this years ago as there is a lot of information that I will use in my own drama classes, laid out as class plans with timings also step by step guide
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
An excellent piece of work on the voice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
book was brought to use at a college
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)