Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars find your own voice
This is an excellent and rare book - a practical voice book that is anatomically correct and well-researched but written in a wholly approachable manner by a sensitive and highly experienced practitioner. It can be difficult to work on your own voice via a book but Barbara Houseman offers a step-by-step guide accompanied by helpful little illustrations. The book contains...
Published on 4 Nov 2002 by whereisnickname

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor and rambling
Didn't think this was at all helpful. Few exercises and a lot of waffle. I have the voice training manual by Joanna gray and find this much better. It's shorter but gives more information without all the waffle.
Published 2 months ago by Happy Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars find your own voice, 4 Nov 2002
This review is from: Finding Your Voice: A Complete Voice Training Manual for Actors (Nick Hern Books) (Paperback)
This is an excellent and rare book - a practical voice book that is anatomically correct and well-researched but written in a wholly approachable manner by a sensitive and highly experienced practitioner. It can be difficult to work on your own voice via a book but Barbara Houseman offers a step-by-step guide accompanied by helpful little illustrations. The book contains a trouble-shooting section and warmups and warmdowns for different situations. These are timed and cross-referenced back to the main
text. The lay-out is unusual - clear and fun with little boxes adding information or exercises. I am finding it immensely helpful and interesting.
I teach too and it is helping with my own voice use and understanding of thevoice. I imagine it would be useful to anyone who uses their voice in pursuit of their work - teachers, politicians, interviewers, business people etc as well as being invaluable to actors and performers.
I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning to breathe again, 4 Oct 2002
By 
J. James (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Finding Your Voice: A Complete Voice Training Manual for Actors (Nick Hern Books) (Paperback)
This excellent book is full of great, easy to understand information and exercises to help you to find your voice. Although it's categorised as a book for actors, I think it would be of great help to anyone involved in public speaking or presentations, where using a greater range and depth to the voice is important. I came to it expecting to skip over the sections on the physiology of breathing, but found the whole thing fascinating. There's a good section at the end on troubleshooting voice problems - Voice too quiet, voice too loud, voice too shrill etc - maybe Margaret Thatcher had an advance copy? A practical book and a very entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful., 23 Aug 2008
This review is from: Finding Your Voice: A Complete Voice Training Manual for Actors (Nick Hern Books) (Paperback)
This is a simply wonderful book - well written, straight forward, sensible and wise. The world is not exactly short of books on voice but this is like no other - as valuable theoretically as it is practically - and I urge you to buy it. In a nutshell this book makes sense and leaves the reader more knowledgeable, more confident and more secure. For those fortunate enough to have had the chance to work with Barbara Houseman this book reaffirms her position as the greatest voice coach in the country, for those who haven't it affords an invaluable opportunity to share in her wisdom and experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor and rambling, 14 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Your Voice: A Complete Voice Training Manual for Actors (Nick Hern Books) (Paperback)
Didn't think this was at all helpful. Few exercises and a lot of waffle. I have the voice training manual by Joanna gray and find this much better. It's shorter but gives more information without all the waffle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Girlfriend likes it, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Your Voice: A Complete Voice Training Manual for Actors (Nick Hern Books) (Paperback)
Bought it for my girlfriend , she says it's a good read. She also enjoys the breathing/vocal exercises. She's days they have helped her relax
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for vocal students of any kind, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Your Voice (Paperback)
This book is a readable and practical guide to getting the best from your voice. It has the right amount of physiological information balanced with meaningful and helpful practical help in applying the techniques contained within. A gem! Wish I had found this book when I was a music student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hi, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Your Voice: A Complete Voice Training Manual for Actors (Nick Hern Books) (Paperback)
I do like that book. it give a step by step directions of how to work on your voice.
I will highly recommended to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Your Voice: A Complete Voice Training Manual for Actors (Nick Hern Books) (Paperback)
Unfortunately, Barbara really has nothing new to say on the subject.
This is simply a new wrapping on a concept that has been explored by other far more qualified and knowledgeable that Barbara.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Finding Your Voice: A Complete Voice Training Manual for Actors (Nick Hern Books)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews