Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb. Believable, touching and chilling.
It surprises me that a play such as this is regularly performed yet still largely unknown. It centres around the character of Eva, brought to England during the Kindertransport which took Jewish children out of Germany, and her adult self, renamed Evelyn, as she helps her daughter, Faith, to move out of home for the first time. The play focuses on the importance of...
Published on 14 Mar 2002

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindertransport review
While the play itself is a good read and offers a fairly good story line, the book is extremly poor. After around one or two readings the pages start to fall out, which believe me is a real pain. As well as this, it's not restricted to only one copy (meaning not only my copy) i know multiple people who have bought this book only for the pages to start falling out soon...
Published on 9 April 2011 by Victoria Berry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb. Believable, touching and chilling., 14 Mar 2002
By A Customer
It surprises me that a play such as this is regularly performed yet still largely unknown. It centres around the character of Eva, brought to England during the Kindertransport which took Jewish children out of Germany, and her adult self, renamed Evelyn, as she helps her daughter, Faith, to move out of home for the first time. The play focuses on the importance of relationships and identity, Eva having forced herself into assimilation into the English culture at the expense of her own culture and relationship with her mother, whom she presumes died in the Holocaust, but who returns at the end, resulting in the final fusing of the Eva and Evelyn characters, who remain stubbornly separate until this point. Based around testimonies from Kindertransport survivors, the play expresses with heartrending realism the events, traumas and emotions experienced by those who escaped the holocaust. Figures of authority, such as policemen, and everyday things such as trains become metaphors for terror well into Evelyn's adult life, and her relationship with her own daughter is jeapodised as a result of her experiences. But perhaps the most chilling feature of all is the presence of the Ratcatcher, the figure of the young Eva's storybook, who led away the children, and here is personified in all the figures of male authority, a constant reminder of a child's worst nightmare: to be seperated from her parents; to be displaced; to be alone.
There is always much debate about who should be allowed to write about the holocaust and what should be written in order to do it justice, but this play has succeeded in both representation of events and as a play in its own right. It is the most sensational play I have read in a long time, and it affected me deeply, encouraging me to read more of the background to the Kindertransport and question the importance of nature versus nurture, and the expense at which mother-daughter bond is broken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sturdy book, 6 April 2013
By 
M. Mehmet (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this play as I am studying it for English literature GCSE and many of my peers had the paperback version which became crumpled and ruined. It is definitely to pay that little bit more for the hardback if you are studying the play as you'll be using it so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars joe's collage, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kindertransport (NHB Modern Plays) (Nick Hern Books) (Paperback)
great book for 6th form a levels.. Enjoying the book . its vefy informative . You dont realise how these things affect all involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kindertransport (NHB Modern Plays) (Nick Hern Books) (Paperback)
good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kindertransport (NHB Modern Plays) (Nick Hern Books) (Paperback)
Fast delivery and the book is as new. A very good edition with the preface and contributions from those who were kindertransport children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and emotional story, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kindertransport (NHB Modern Plays) (Nick Hern Books) (Paperback)
I loved this play as it was very touching and emotional book to read. You should read this book if you are into the Holocaust or history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been to the play at the Yvonne Arnaud, Guidford, and missed some of the dialogue because of my deafness, i was glad to be able to read the whole play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No heroes, only victims, 12 Dec 2013
By 
Eddy Knasel (Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this very powerful play as a member of a Quaker group involved in planning events to commemorate the centenary of the outbreak of World War One in 2014, highlighting the role of conscientious objectors in both WW1 and WW2. We hope to encourage a local secondary school to put on a production of this thought-provoking play which deals with complex issues of identity and abandonment in an appropriately nuanced way. There are no heroes, only victims - which is a fitting message to draw about any war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Starts, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was in tip top condition and could not of asked for a better book, as it had clear writing which was spaced out so there was plenty of room for notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kindertransport (NHB Modern Plays) (Nick Hern Books) (Paperback)
I'm going to see the play next month and needed to know more about it. Good historical detail and link to mother/daughter relationships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kindertransport (NHB Modern Plays) (Nick Hern Books)
Kindertransport (NHB Modern Plays) (Nick Hern Books) by Diane Samuels (Paperback - 1 May 2008)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews