Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars30
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 February 2009
These guides are brilliant. The walks are arranged with the shortest at the beginning of the book and the longest at the end, so if you haven't done much walking you can ease yourself in gently.

Each walk is detailed over about five pages. There is a Ordnance Survey map showing the complete walk, though they are not large and I would therefore advise you to take a 1:25000 map of the area and a compass that you know how to use. There is a general description of the walk with points corresponding to the map and advice on where to park the car or catch a bus.

I would consider the Pathfinder series to be the best available, as the descriptions of the walks compared to my experiences of these walks mean that the authors must have actually done them.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2010
Loved this book, used it numerous times on my holidays in the Dales. The walks are clearly described, with good landmarks and easy to follow. Would recommend to anyone.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
Just enough information - without too much. Clear, well illustrated. Handy size, lightweight and weather resistant - a useful bonus. I liked the way the walks were arranged in order of length and were easy to look up. The routes were well planned to give maximum interest. The one disadvantage was that the walks were some distance apart, requiring significant travel be car. I would have loved a book in exactly the same format but which was based on a smaller area eg a South West Dales Pathfinder. Perhaps the publishers could consider say 4 such books each dealing with a different part of the Dales? There are plenty more good walks to focus on.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2012
"Yorkshire Dales Walks" has been through many editions and is now a very polished product in terms of both content and presentation. My wife and I run a B&B in the Dales and this book is the most-borrowed in our collection of walking guides. Guests like the combination of clear OS mapping, relevant photos, and accurate no-nonsense instructions. One could quibble about the routes selected, but they cover a wide variety of landscapes over a large geographical area and are ideal as an introduction for new or infrequent visitors to the Dales. Personally, I would have preferred a few more lengthy and demanding routes, but there we go.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2010
If walking in the Yorkshire Dales this is worth having along. I have found this a great help.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
We bought this as we already own several other titles in the Pathfinder series and they are very good clear guides using OS maps. GPS waypoints are provided for all walks and we find that useful. The book is a nice compact size and fits in a day-sack pocket or open in a map folder. Plenty of diversity of walking too.

Two minor irritations...the keymaps provided at the start of the guides used to be fairly good sized OS maps...giving a clear idea of where the walks are in relation to main roads and allowing basic journey planning as well as giving a clear idea of which walks might be easy to get to from your location. This has been replaced by a tiny map with no information beyond some place names, the walk locations and rivers. Useless. The other thing that would have been useful for all walks but has only been included for 1 is a dog friendly rating. You have to read the entire walk description to check if it is suitable for Fido or not. An improvement point for future editions!

These things aside the book is very good, well written and clear. The walking guide of choice for us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2012
This was an invaluable aid to a very successful trip to the Dales. None of the walks is that difficult but each one is very well described, the maps are accurate and easy to follow. We are quite experienced walkers but at a stage where we are happy to settle for 6-8 mile walks with plenty of interest. This book fits the bill perfectly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2011
This guide is very well laid out and easy to use although it's always advisable to have an OS map as well. The instructions are clear and the maps excellent. A very valuable addition to the packing list!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
A very useful wee book. Lots of great ideas for walks of varying lengths and difficulty. The maps are OS so are fine, although I'd also take a full size OS map. The problem with the cropped map extracts, just showing the route, is that you don't have a map of the immediate surrounding area which I find useful for navigation as well as my own curiousity! The route descriptions aren't perfect and occasionally require a little bit of imagination and map reading experience to find your way! However, overall highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
We'd not been to Yorkshire before, so chose this book which has short and long walks all around the Dales, we selected 4 of them near where we were staying and look forward to visiting again to do a few more in other areas. The book gives very precise directions and has a small map for each walk. Also gives an idea of length of time each takes, which happened to be pretty accurate for our own pace. So, very pleased with purchase and would happily buy others from the same series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)