Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The little CBT workbook is exactly that!
This authors of this book have successfully managed to compile and present enough information relating to CBT in terms of what CBT means and how to use CBT to improve quality of life and functioning. The book guides the reader through the basic principles highlighting how perspective influences mood and behaviour, before gradually explaining thinking styles in more depth...
Published on 17 Mar 2012 by Anouska Longley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Thank
Thank you for this book that gave me a better insight into what is happening inside my sons' head. Thanks again.
Published 8 months ago by AC


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little CBT Workbook (Paperback)
This book is amazing. I keep it in my handbag and any uncertain times I refer back to it. Having suffered with depression and anxiety for many years and following counselling I found this book to be excellent. It helps me on a daily basis whenever I feel myself lapse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very practical and easy introduction to CBT, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little CBT Workbook (Paperback)
This book was recommended to me by a friend and I found it a very interesting and readable introduction to CBT. There are many practical exercises which if you actually work your way through them (rather than just reading past them as I did the first time round!), it can really change your perceptions of things going on in your life and how to approach them. I recommend it to anyone who would like to know more about CBT or who feels they may be in some sort of a rut and would like some tools to help them move on in their lives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book!, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little CBT Workbook (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book that can easily fit in your pocket or bag. What I enjoyed about it was that it focused on the "doing", rather than the reading about theory. An excellent book - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Little CBT Workbook, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little CBT Workbook (Paperback)
The book has met expectations in many ways. It is very practical, easy to read, and was very useful exercises, which one is inclined to use because of the petite size and presentation of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars v.handy, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little CBT Workbook (Paperback)
My husband stole it from me, that's how useful it's been . Keeps it in his briefcase, for easy ref, it's a very handy size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real tool for transformation, 30 Aug 2012
By 
D Webster "djelly" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Little CBT Workbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a little gem of a book. The examples of unhelpful thinking are actual scenarios it is easy to remember yourself in and your take at the time. Although I was sent this book for review, I did feel that I have not and am not in need of CBT at the moment as I identified with the more self-accepting examples. This did not detract however from my viewpoint about its value.

I immediately felt the book would be perfect for a friend who is prey to knocking his head against a wall type of behaviour at times of frustration. He is reading it on daily basis and already cites it as a reason for hope. I am planning on doing at least some of the exercises myself as I feel quite fascinated by them. Although my friend has not finished the workbook yet he already has confidence that this is going to help shift his negative thinking patterns. Altogether, a real transformational tool that is accesible yet not patronising or jargon filled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy, 29 Jun 2012
By 
A. Gothorp - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little CBT Workbook (Paperback)
Simple and easy to read through breakdown of cbt. Something you can pick up and dip into with some handy little exercises to get you thinking about cbt in your own life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. Left with a real understanding of CBT and how to apply it.., 17 May 2012
By 
OrganicGreen "Knowledge is King and books a g... (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Little CBT Workbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have suffered server depression in my life. I have used CBT skills learnt from books to treat this myself without having to go onto medication. It is very easy to read and compact so you have store it anywhere like your handbang. As it is well layed out on the page with many diagrams and slit into manageable chunks it is very much not daunting to to read. The exercises are easy to follow and does the trick. CBT helps you to see where your thinking that is making you depressed is going wrong and helps you to find better ways of thinking about things.

CBT has in the past helped in to over home server depressions and I am always looking for great books to add and make sure I don't return to my old ways of thinking. So far I have been doing well and this book will add to my CBT books collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy pocketsize introduction to CBT, 1 May 2012
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Little CBT Workbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Excellent little workbook that's easy to read because of it's "no-nonsense and no-jargon" approach. CBT isn't just for people with problems it's a therapy that's relevant to everyone because it helps you to understand how powerful your thought processes are and just how they control your emotions and behaviours. Negative experience leads to negative thought, negatvie thought leads to negative lifestyle situations, depression, anxiety., etc. This workbook is only small but it's full of basic exercises aimed at helping you to recognise the negative thought porcesses that are preventing you from achieving what it is you want to achieve, and maybe dragging you down. The exercises are written in a way that's incredibly easy to follow but; they do require you to look quite deeply into yourself which isn't always easy. I'd say that this little CBT workbook is an excellent introduction to the therapy but it's by no means a miracle cure. If it's taken years to learn negative thought then it's going to take a long time to learn the necessary new skills you need to turn that negativity into something positive. A good place to start but you need a lot of patience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent tool!, 1 May 2012
This review is from: The Little CBT Workbook (Paperback)
This is a great resource off the shelf, as well as for psychologists and other health professionals looking for a self-help guide to recommend, or use as an adjunct to a therapeutic intervention. As a practitioner I find myself regularly providing clients with hand-outs and worksheets that explain the principles of CBT and help them to start applying them. Often to be able to provide a workbook alongside treatment prevents the added problem for clients of paper management. However, the problem with most self-help guides or workbooks is that they are too long, too short, too detailed, too specific, or require too much time commitment from clients who are already feeling overwhelmed by demands.

This book is not much bigger than a CD and can be carried around easily so it is accessible. It contains the essential information on CBT without jargon and in bite sized chapters. The layout of the book is user friendly and language is not overly complex, therefore it is not overwhelming for the individual. There are not lengthy forms for individuals to get to grips with; it is more like a guided notebook. This begins the process of normalising problems. It provides an explanation of CBT that can be applied to all areas of an individual's life and includes case examples to exemplify without being excessive. The information contained could usefully serve as session summaries for those in treatment or helpful guidance and pointers for those who are in need of new strategies for coping with day to day life. In addition there is signposting to other sources of help.

The book intends to act as a workbook, not a reference text for where the ideas come from or who first thought of them, and it achieves exactly this. This enables it to be accessible to a range of client groups. The approach taken in the workbook makes it compatible across a range of cognitive behavioural therapies and therefore, can offer a general practical guide to coping with a range of problems irrespective of model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little CBT Workbook
The Little CBT Workbook by Belinda Hollingsworth (Paperback - 15 Feb 2012)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews