Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great self-help resource
This workbook is a practical and jargon-free journey through a number of highly effective NLP (Neuro-linguistic Programming) and coaching techniques.

The beauty of this collection of techniques Jeremy Lazarus put together in this book is that anyone can easily apply them to their own life and achieve significant changes, with relatively low time investment...
Published on 18 April 2012 by Bettina Pickering

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a Magic Formula
I have read little bit about NLP and wondered what the controversy is about but this little book seems to be quite innocuous with no sinister brain washing etc. Perhaps that come later with bigger books or for people who attend NLP courses.

This book is a lot like other self improvement books I have read over the years. They all seem to work in the same way...
Published on 12 Jun. 2012 by Dave


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great self-help resource, 18 April 2012
This review is from: The Little NLP Workbook (Paperback)
This workbook is a practical and jargon-free journey through a number of highly effective NLP (Neuro-linguistic Programming) and coaching techniques.

The beauty of this collection of techniques Jeremy Lazarus put together in this book is that anyone can easily apply them to their own life and achieve significant changes, with relatively low time investment. Given the pratical size of the book, it is easy to carry around; a plus for busy people who often find it a challenge to make time for coaching or self reflection.

As a coach and NLP practitioner myself, I very much like the easy to use nature of this book: the intuitive structure, cross-references between chapters, the clear explanation of what each technique/exercise is for, why the exercise is useful and how long it will take to complete.

I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to gain personal experience of how NLP works; and who wants to get different and better results in one or more areas of their life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice little pocket sized NLP workbook (for larger pockets), 18 May 2012
By 
I. Mcintosh "Ian Mc" (Great Yarmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little NLP Workbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I must say I'm a little sceptical about the whole personal development thing using NLP techniques but was intrigued enough to get this nice pocket sized book to see what all the fuss is about.

All though I'm still not convinced to NLP but I did find this little book very interesting and dare say it quite useful. I've tested a few of the many exercises out at work and have to say there is a benefit. The trouble is with these kind of books though is our busy lives soon get in the way and I'm sure in a few weeks I'll forget about the techniques and the book will be gathering dust on my desk hidden by the ton of work sitting on top of it.

Yes, there is a lot about goal setting so if you're not in to that kind of thing this book is not for you.

If you are looking to change a little and improve try and add a bit more positivity in to your life then you may find this book is the kick start you need.

It's very easy to read and understand, you don't get too bogged down by unnecessary and complicated terms plus there are lots of easy relevant exercises.

A perfect little lifesytle booster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable resource for improving your life, 4 May 2012
By 
P. Davies (London,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little NLP Workbook (Paperback)
Jeremy Lazarus has produced a very accessible workbook which relates the concepts of NLP to everyday life.In clear language, with scarcely any jargon, he shows how NLP can help you clarify your goals in life, from longer-term planning to immediate challenges like job interviews, business presentations or dating. The written exercises draw the reader into the material, and should provide a good foundation for future personal development. An excellent book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a Magic Formula, 12 Jun. 2012
By 
Dave (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Little NLP Workbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have read little bit about NLP and wondered what the controversy is about but this little book seems to be quite innocuous with no sinister brain washing etc. Perhaps that come later with bigger books or for people who attend NLP courses.

This book is a lot like other self improvement books I have read over the years. They all seem to work in the same way which is for the individual to think about what he/she wants and then to get him/her to write it out and take steps to achieve the goals. Self help is really the method.

Some people are naturally focused and driven and they don't need these types of books, other folk can be improved by a gentle to moderate push but they need the desire first. I have also noticed that lots of successful people tend to be quite popular and they use that charm, either knowingly or subconsciously, to influence people. Their friends become their network.

If you are reasonably bright, outgoing and willing to put in the effort and are just lacking a sense of direction then this book maybe for you. But I also think that luck plays a big part.

If you are a lazy recluse and you are not prepared to put in the effort then I do not think you will get anything from the book, I don't think you get anything for nothing. There is no magic formula.

A middle of the road 3 stars as I am sure some will praise the book while others will not and the vast majority will put it in a cupboard with the intention of getting started one day. One day soon??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pocket sized wonder - big changes start with baby steps!, 15 Nov. 2012
By 
K. Galbraith (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little NLP Workbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are many NLP, and coaching books on the market written by some of the most respected and experienced authors in the field. For the novice, it can be hard to know where to start, and often there will be SO much information within these books, the process of utilising it all to make changes can be utterly daunting to someone dipping their toe into the subjects for the first time, or for someone that wants to start making changes right now - TODAY! This book is primarily for those people; right from the off, you can start to plot a route out of where you are to where you want to be. The exercises are explained as much as they need to be, then it's right into doing it for real - very simple, but very effective. For those with a little more knowledge and understanding I still think this book is useful reading material. Sometimes it's really nice to see change work processes, broken down very simply and concisely. All in all it's a fabulous little book that I'm very happy to recommend - big changes start with baby steps. This book will show you how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keep your secrets away from prying eyes, 27 Mar. 2013
By 
Moose Papoose (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Little NLP Workbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is quite a brief little book - the onus is on the reader to list goals and write lists. Jeremy Lazarus has produced a straightforward little book explaining a number of NLP concepts. These are in clear terms which are easy to follow, but they seem to be missing the `tapping', which is what interests me most about NLP. My one concern with writing all this personal information in a little book is that others can read this highly personal perspective on your life. Having said that, if you complete the exercises you can learn how to improve your life in many ways. You can learn how to set clear goals in your life and to achieve things you previously thought impossible. Not bad for a little, uncomplicated book on a big subject. Just keep it away from those prying eyes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, a bin job, 18 May 2012
By 
70s "arrow" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Little NLP Workbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am in the minority here, but I really hate this sort of style of book. Pages with a few paragraphs on. Pages with spaces for making notes, pages for writing goals on. Is this for people who dont have note pads? I mean dont you just hate people that write in books unless they are french teachers?
Lots of empty space in this book, I reckon it would make a good pamphlet. This is just a package of catch phrases and glib tit bits of ideas.
I would not recommend it, but maybe it is not for me, at least it didnt help one iota and after 1 day went straight in the bin, what a terrible waste of a tree
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Handy Little Guide, 20 Sept. 2012
By 
D. M. Blinston "Donna Blinston" (DOLGELLAU, Gwynedd, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little NLP Workbook (Paperback)
I found this little workbook very accessible, it relates the concepts of NLP to everyday life. The language is clear, with little jargon and it makes the NLP principles easier to digest. It's very easy to read and understand, you don't get too bogged down by unnecessary and complicated terms plus there are lots of easy relevant exercises. The written exercises draw the reader into the material, they should provide a good foundation for future personal and professional development.

A handy little book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short smart and fairly sensible, 28 Sept. 2012
By 
M. de-layen Vian "M5dlv" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little NLP Workbook (Paperback)
What is the trouble with self help books? Often not based on any science or validity. What is the problem with sciencey type books that aim to help? Rarely written For the layman. I expected to read Ll about NLP with this little guide, but ends up being totally surprised by a motivational guide to goal and objective setting that has some basis in psychology Nd NLP.

Overall not bad at all and though less NlP and more life coaching worth a punt at the price In my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handy, 1 May 2012
By 
A John (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Little NLP Workbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Neuro Linguistic Programming, or NLP, can be of help in ensuring that your life goes according to plan, and in dealing with others. But it can also seem a little overwhelming when first looking at it. This book is lovely. Packed with exercises to put each part into practice, it introduces some of the main concepts, from effective planning (working out what is important), having a positive frame of mind, identifying the silver lining when things don't go well (reframing), to looking at which of four preference styles your colleagues may have to aid in building rapport.

This book will best suit those who like activity or reflective based learning. It's well designed for the visual thinker, and the hands on approach will probably also suit the kinaesthetic. Some theorists may prefer to look for a more in depth approach which clearly explains the reasoning behind NLP, but this book may also be handy as a way of working through some of the ideas to ensure that the root behaviours are more readily available.

To sum up, I liked the book. I would recommend it, and will be sharing it with colleagues, particularly those I can't quite work out....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little NLP Workbook
The Little NLP Workbook by Jeremy Lazarus (Paperback - 15 Feb. 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews