Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Goods walks in this book
Used this book to lead a party of 14 walkers for 3 days from Lynton
Everyone was very pleased with the walks although I felt a few more GPS points would have helped.
On the latter part of the Torr Steps walk there is not great guidance where to turn off the main track & what direction to head in.
A GPS point & compass bearing would have helped.
Published 24 months ago by A. E. Roberts

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better
I have been using these guides now for many years, and they all, including this one, lack detail on some of the walks. I appreciate that the writers cannot include every pebble but they could be more accurate when describing path junctions and change of direction on some of the walks, i sometimes think the author has written the book straight from the map without actually...
Published 2 months ago by John C Vincent


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Goods walks in this book, 16 July 2012
By 
A. E. Roberts "aero" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pathfinder Exmoor & the Quantocks (Pathfinder Guides) (Paperback)
Used this book to lead a party of 14 walkers for 3 days from Lynton
Everyone was very pleased with the walks although I felt a few more GPS points would have helped.
On the latter part of the Torr Steps walk there is not great guidance where to turn off the main track & what direction to head in.
A GPS point & compass bearing would have helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent detailed Guide, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pathfinder Exmoor & the Quantocks (Pathfinder Guides) (Paperback)
A very good detailed map for each walk an an overall map of the area. All the steps an directions are spot on and clearly articulated. I have done 3 of the walks so far and have not required a compass as the map and directions have been more than sufficient. The book has a mixture of shortish to longer walks which cater for a range and for me has enabled me to pick good walks that suit both my dogs who are 12yrs and 15months. Good detail on dog specifics e.g. when they need to be on leads etc. Overall excellent and good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pathfinder Exmoor & the Quantocks (Pathfinder Guides) (Paperback)
I have been using these guides now for many years, and they all, including this one, lack detail on some of the walks. I appreciate that the writers cannot include every pebble but they could be more accurate when describing path junctions and change of direction on some of the walks, i sometimes think the author has written the book straight from the map without actually doing the walk. Any walker should know that its always good to have a map and compass as a back up, in my case i always use a Satnav as a safety back up, this always gets me out of trouble when the guide is sometimes inaccurate. However, the guides are generally very good with lots of useful local information and can easily be carried in a pocket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it is supposed to do, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pathfinder Exmoor & the Quantocks (Pathfinder Guides) (Paperback)
Purchase and delivery quick and easy. Have used in on a weeks holiday and found it very informative. It was essential reading for the planning and enjoyment of our walking holiday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pathfinder Exmoor & the Quantocks (Pathfinder Guides) (Paperback)
Great product, the walks are so informative, it gives you so much information! From type of walk, dog friendly or not, close pubs, everything's such a good book. Get it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for all the walks we would like to do., 30 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pathfinder Exmoor & the Quantocks (Pathfinder Guides) (Paperback)
Off on holiday on Exmoor this looks like a good book to have for walks and lots of information. Hopefully will not get lost this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pathfinder - worked well on the walks we did, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pathfinder Exmoor & the Quantocks (Pathfinder Guides) (Paperback)
Found it very useful to find appropriate walks, some small grey area's in some routes but 99.7 % correct.
Good bit of kit, it does the job required
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow, 9 Jan 2012
This review is from: Pathfinder Exmoor & the Quantocks (Pathfinder Guides) (Paperback)
Antonia and I walked two of the walks in this book. The two walks used well signed paths so it was pretty easy not to get lost, but the book provided detailed descriptions. It also provides extracts of OS maps so that a map is more or less redundant. We did find that we did the walks considerably quicker than described in the book though; not bragging, just saying that the timings weren't that accurate for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pathfinder Exmoor & the Quantocks (Pathfinder Guides)
Pathfinder Exmoor & the Quantocks (Pathfinder Guides) by Sue Viccars (Paperback - 31 May 2011)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews