Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful info
A handy little book of potential summer jobs for those looking for short term work. Having said that the one job I applied for appeared to have an incorrect e-mail address printed but maybe the lady had left her job or just changed her addy, who knows? Still worth a look for new places to work particularly if voluntary work is your thing.
Published on 15 Feb 2009 by Mrs. K. E. Williamson

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful For Volunteers
I was rather intrigued by this book and it easily ate up a few hours one evening while I read through and examined all of the options outlined by the book.

The book outlines, as entitled, opportunities all over the world: however, many of those outside the UK are either volunteer based, or ones which you have to pay to go on. This did leave me feeling a tad...
Published on 5 Dec 2009 by Mr. Joshua Mason-Allen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful For Volunteers, 5 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Joshua Mason-Allen (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was rather intrigued by this book and it easily ate up a few hours one evening while I read through and examined all of the options outlined by the book.

The book outlines, as entitled, opportunities all over the world: however, many of those outside the UK are either volunteer based, or ones which you have to pay to go on. This did leave me feeling a tad annoyed, seens as the book specifically uses the word "jobs" in its title.

There are also quite a few grammatical errors and spelling mistakes, although I suspect you might have to be fairly pedantic to notice these.

The book also lists a lot of jobs for people with specialised qualifications, such as an international teaching qualification in English and scuba-diving instructing licenses. This, I feel, is a tad wasted given the age of the clientele likely to purchase this book.

Overall, I feel it must be concluded that "jobs" is inappropriate for this title, although there are copious entries detailling opportunities. With that in mind, it's well worth a read if you fancy volunteering as an au-pair in France next summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars good read for other countries but steer clear for the USA!!, 28 April 2011
This review is from: Summer Jobs Worldwide 2011 (Paperback)
I bought this book hoping to find a job for the summer in the United States, instead I was very disappointed to find the only listings for the US were au pairing, volunteering and summer camps!!Not exactly what I had in mind for a summer job in the states and certainly not what the author's description led me to believe.

It was certainly a case of false advertising - as a warning for other students: only buy this book if you are looking for voluntary positions or internship type work as it has not given me any valuable contacts for the US or for many other places for that matter. While it is full of ideas, the so-called valuable contacts the book's description stated are few and far between!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful info, 15 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. K. E. Williamson "KEW" (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A handy little book of potential summer jobs for those looking for short term work. Having said that the one job I applied for appeared to have an incorrect e-mail address printed but maybe the lady had left her job or just changed her addy, who knows? Still worth a look for new places to work particularly if voluntary work is your thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive and some great ideas, 16 Nov 2009
By 
Overall, this is a very comprehensive book of summer job ideas. Some very useful tips and suggestions to learn new skills and get experiences you would maybe not find otherwise.
The book structure is well laid out: Choose your favourite location, choose your area of interest (sports, hotels, language, voluntary works etc ...) and then you find lots of suitable places that match your choices. Each place gives details of job(s) available, duration, working hours, pay, company description, requirements, accommodation, additional information and last but not least details of the application procedure. In all, this book will provide a good one-stop-shop for anyone thinking about a great summer job experience here or abroad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive guide containing jobs for all tastes and locations, 10 Jan 2010
By 
J. Julenyi "jayobird" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was reading through it and it really contains vast amount of various job opportunities worldwide. It provides most of the essential job information, like salary, location, length, job description, requirements, contact etc.
However, I haven't used it in year 2009 to actually get a job, as I didn't find time for it, but it still contains a lot of company contacts which I can use for later references, if I decide to go get a summer job in following years.
Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Summer Jobs Worldwide 2011
Summer Jobs Worldwide 2011 by Susan Griffith (Paperback - 15 Oct 2010)
£12.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews