Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2013
We bought this to take on a weeks holiday to Pembrokeshire in July and must have completed four of the walks in it successfully. It is brilliantly arranged in 3 sections, short walks up to 4 miles, mid length walks up to 7 miles and longer walks up to 10 and a half miles so you can pick and choose depending on how energetic you are feeling or how much time you have.
There are easy to follow point by point instructions and great maps to ensure you don't get lost.
As keen walkers we have found certain guides a little vague in their directions but this book was spot on and we will certainly return to the area to do more of the walks listed. It is a beautiful area to explore and this guide certainly does it justice.
Great price on Amazon too, highly recommend it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As a keen walker and regular visitor to the Pembrokeshire area, I was very keen to accept the invitation from Pathfinder Guides to review their range of walking guides. I already know the area and its footpaths well and am familiar with Pathfinder Guides which I have already been using for years - but there can be routes I've missed and I'm always keen to find new paths.

The book includes 28 walks of varying difficulty starting with an easy 2 mile route around Carew Castle followed by a similarly easy 2 mile walk in Manorbier which also includes a section of the stunning Pembrokeshire Coastal Path with rugged, scenic views throughout its length. As the book progresses, the routes become longer and a little more challenging through the last featured walk along the Preseli Range which, with its exposed hillsides and climbs, couldn't be more different to the early routes. However, the 'At a Glance' summary of each walk at the beginning of the book summarises the distance, time and height gain along each route so there will be no suprises (or shocks) along the way.

All of the routes are clearly defined with clear directions, illustrated maps and enticing photography to both ensure walkers are able to follow routes easily but are also inspired to tackle each route to see the features of each, whether a remote lighthouse, craggy coastline or stunning view, there is something for everyone with these routes along with interesting facts about the area along the way.

For anyone either lucky enough to live in the Pembrokeshire/Carmarthen area or just visiting to enjoy it for a short while, this is an excellent book to help you enjoy some of the best the area has to offer and it is suited to all levels of ability from a gentle afternoon stroll to a full day's coastal path or more challenging walk for the more active walker.

A highly recommended book for all.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
A great selection of walks, easy to follow and taking in fantastic countryside - a great way to ensure you really experience Pembrokeshire
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
The book is very well presented with a nice feel to it and contains 95 pages of text, coloured photos and tables. It's slightly larger than A5 in size and contains a significant amount of information in a well written and structured layout.

After providing all the essential information on key labels the book then goes on to look at the summary of each of the 28 circular walks and these cover specific hand picked locations that differ in size, geographical location, popularity. These cover city's, towns, forests, beaches, castles and waterfalls to name but a few.

Sent for review the book then goes on to introduce you to the Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire county's and although it's very difficult to summary such a large area in 4 pages the author does a first class job of it.

Each route varies in length from about 3 miles to 10 miles and provides specific information on height gain, estimated time, route terrain, GPS waypoints and more. Each of the 28 sections of the book are between 2-4 pages long and fully prepare you for the walk ahead. It provides an accurate introduction to each walk before exploring the area in more depth as you progress with the walk. It provides very useful and informative information on the key areas to look out for and provides early warnings for events and dangers such as tides and cliff drops.

As an avid hiker I know that the most important part of any route guide is the maps themselves and these are with the best that I have seen. The maps are appropriately sized and each circular route is highlighted in yellow with red arrows pointing you to the correct directions. Having walked most of these routes rest assured that these routes are well sign posted and if you have any doubts as you are walking them it's always best to ask a seasoned hiker rather than taking risks and getting lost (I learnt the hard way).

At the back of the book there is an additional section titled 'Further Information' and here you will find more tips on personal safety, laws, right of way and animals. In my experience in this field I would strongly recommend that you read this section before you do any of the walks especially if you have young children and dogs. There are also useful telephone numbers included on the last page for organisations such as the national trust and also the contact details of the local tourist offices for each main area.

Summary: The book is nicely presented and is well written in terms of clearness, layout and content. It covers 28 different circular walks and each of these sections provide you with a sufficient amount of useable information that will enable you to make the most of this book and enjoy the finest parts of the counties whilst keeping you safe.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2012
This guide was fantastic. There were walks to suit different abilities and the directions were clear and concise. It also shows a detailed map of the area covered by the walk. On one way walks it gives details of buses to get back to starting point and shows suitable car parks. I have bought another in this series since getting back.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
These books are great & I've been using them for years as they get you into some great walks in new places will relatively little fuss. Just come back from a trip having used the book to encourage non walker friends, which was great, however the timing on the west Strumble Head walk was out by nearly a couple of hours!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
I have only tried 2 of the walks and on one there was a fork in the path which was not mentioned in the guide, 50 50 chance and we went the wrong way. Got there in the end though but did miss some of the walk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Great walks, clear maps and instructions - haven't done any of the Pembrokeshire walks yet, but used same series in Lake District and find these books invaluable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
on a hot day, you cant beat the pembrokeshire coastline. we were just lucky. varied walks to suit all abilities. a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
Excellent selection of walks in this region.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)