Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars18
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2011
I was bought this book for Christmas and had the slightly unfortunate experience of almost getting lost immediately I left the parking place on the first two walks I did. This was due to the almost obligatory quirky descriptions that make you wonder what on earth was going on in someones mind when they write up the notes. Also, were the descriptions for accuracy on the routes let alone place/road names ever double checked ? Mercifully, the reproduction of the OS Map is more than helpful to get you round, although if you have larger scale maps then I'd recommend that you take them as well. The walks are OK but I suppose I just expected a slightly better variety of 'new ground'to be covered in the new National Park rather than what I'd see as 'old favourites'. That said, I know the area well and if you do not, then what is on offer should suit you.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
This is the big brother of the (also excellent) Crimson guides, which means it comes with more walks and bigger maps. What makes these guides so effective are:
- Full OS Explorer 1:25000 (the best there is) map extracts
- Sensible waypoints with 6 digit grid references
- Interesting facts
- Friendly approach
- Great guidelines and directions (GPS and compass are still extremely useful, no book is that infallible)
- Fits in pocket
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
As I am new to walking in West Sussex this book was a good introduction with walks of varying lengths. I would recommend it to people who do not know the area very well and who are not used to downloading maps.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
The pathfinder series of walking books provide excellent guides and this copy is no exception. The South Downs area is so beautiful, as is Sussex in general, and it has been sensible to split the area into eastern and western sections as there are so many good walks to do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
We have done quite a few walks already and found the directions to be mainly accurate. Sometimes things get moved or the instructions could be a little bit clearer. On the whole, quite good. We live in East Sussex and wanted to explore further afield.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
This is clearly written and recommends walks that you might not otherwise spot from the map. Tried a couple and they were really excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Another useful walk book from Pathfinder, enabling you to get to great places it's hard to do with just a map.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
These series of walks are excellent, a must have if a keen holiday walker.
The books are durable, packed with loads of information and clearly defined with maps and written text.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2015
Brilliant book for the very keen walker easy to follow and well worked out routes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
some great ideas for new MTB trails
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)