Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good I bought it twice...
...once for a new baby, once for a one-year old. Absolutely charming, and a fantastically beautiful book with simple, elegant and colourful illustrations that tell the tale of what it's like to be a new little person in the world. It would make a lovely gift for a christening or naming ceremony.This book made me wish I could draw.
Published on 23 Feb 2011 by Jane

versus
11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but not that great
The drawings are lovely and bright, but the pages are matt and the paper has that rough recycled feel. This book is definitely for older children, say 2-3 yrs+. The text does not rhyme and instead is a type of poem about things that the child discovers. An example of this is

"When I was born I had never seen anything. Only the darkness of my mother's...
Published on 14 Dec 2011 by Adrianna


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely gift, 15 May 2012
By 
Ms. N. D. Merriman "tashadot" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I Was Born (Hardcover)
This book would make a lovely christening present or gift for a naming ceremony. It is also very useful in school for "All about me" topics. The pictures have a mid-century modern vibe that made me happy and simple text that introduces ideas about what makes us who we are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very special book, 4 Jan 2014
This review is from: When I Was Born (Hardcover)
I have now bought several copies of this book, for my own children as well as others. It's brilliant - the only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is that the English translation is in places a little wonky. As someone with an interest in pregnancy and birth, I love the way it talks about the transition between life inside and outside the womb, and how a child discovers the world outside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I Was Born (Hardcover)
Beautiful images and striking book. I got 2, one for each of my boys so they can keep when all grown up. Lovely text and very sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars creative thinking, 17 May 2012
By 
seahorse (guildford, surrey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I Was Born (Hardcover)
i have just received this book for my 3 1/2yr old and she loves reading it (in fact she took it with her to nursery today). The book's concept is a simple one yet it stimulates creative thinking about our world and what it was like to arrive in it knowing nothing, and how our senses and our bodies have given us the tools to learn, explore and grow each day. A lovely lovely book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely & effective book for very young ones, 5 Feb 2012
This review is from: When I Was Born (Hardcover)
my 5 month old daughter loves it. the colour contrast works for her.
also long enough stories that she can fall asleep/using as a bedtime story at the mo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When I Was Born
When I Was Born by Isabel Minhos Martins (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2010)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews