Customer Reviews


623 Reviews
5 star:
 (394)
4 star:
 (118)
3 star:
 (67)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful
This is a VERY beautiful book.
I am guilty of often buying more than one copy of a book, one to read and one to keep.
This is one I would try to keep in good condition.
It has the original illustrations in it, looks like an 'old' book, one that would grace any library in a gothic type mansion.
As a book lover, I don;t just enjoy reading them, I enjoy...
Published on 10 Oct 2009 by Mrs. K. J. Hawk

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Signet Classic - Alice in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass
This edition is a good bargain at under 3; it includes the original Tenniel illustrations which give a great feel for the truly bizarre nature of Alice's journey. However, I have a few problems with its blurb, which for a start describes Alice as following a "hasty hare" underground, and spells "imaginitive", well, imaginatively. The essay by Martin Gardner is an okay...
Published on 4 Aug 2010 by Kate


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 10 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. K. J. Hawk "Kali" (Wirral) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a VERY beautiful book.
I am guilty of often buying more than one copy of a book, one to read and one to keep.
This is one I would try to keep in good condition.
It has the original illustrations in it, looks like an 'old' book, one that would grace any library in a gothic type mansion.
As a book lover, I don;t just enjoy reading them, I enjoy collecting beautiful books too, and this is one of them.
I won;t comment on the story as, I suspect anyone looking at this knows the story very well but, if you want a beautiful book that you'll want to keep safe forever, this is certainly one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Of Alice, 28 July 2009
People tend to lump "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" and "Through the Looking-Glass (and What Alice Found There)" into one collection which has taken on the new title of "Alice in Wonderland". This is probably a product of the movies, which took bits and pieces from each and made a composite adventure. This was possible, because Lewis Carroll (a.k.a. Reverend Charles Lutwidge Dodgson) managed to make the stories so even in quality that they can be put together seamlessly. He also managed to keep the stories enough different, that one can still enjoy reading both of them one after the other, without the feeling that the second is just a retelling of the first.

To be sure, there are several ways in which the stories are similar, but not to the point where it detracts from the reader's enjoyment of the story. There are only three characters which appear in both books, one of which is Alice. The other notable characters (the Cheshire Cat, the Queen of Hearts, Tweedledum and Tweedledee, Humpty Dumpty, etc.) are well distributed between the two books. Thus there is a looking-glass between the two, just as the looking-glass plays such a key role in the second book.

The Penguin Classics edition of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass" includes both books including the illustrations by John Tenniel. It also includes the original "Alice's Adventures under Ground" which includes Lewis Carroll's artwork. For additional features, it includes `"Alice" on the Stage' an article which Lewis Carroll wrote after seeing a production of the stage version, and it includes preface's to the books which Lewis Carroll wrote in 1896 for the 1897 editions. There are wonderful notes for both books, and a very informative introduction by Hugh Haughton. There is other supporting material as well. To sum up, this edition has pretty much anything one could want, other than a complete collection of Carroll's work.

A last comment on the introduction, it covers the biographical information for Reverend Dodgson, and the information on how the stories came about. Some of this information may detract from one's enjoyment of the story, but one can certainly understand the decision to include it for those who are interested in Reverend Dodgson and his life. All in all, this edition is packed with everything and will suit those who just want to read the stories as well as those who want to delve deep into their origins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes you to a magical, mystical world- essential read!, 23 Jan 2001
By A Customer
I picked this book up again aged 26 having not read it for 15 years and it transported me to a magical, mystical world where anything was possible! Lewis Carroll's classic tale of childhood fantasy is a must read for all children and adults alike! Carroll's art lies in description...allow him to indulge you in tales of Mad Hatters having tea parties with White Rabbits in the woods, the terrifying Queen of Hearts threatening to behead the body-less Cheshire Cat and lotions and potions saying 'Drink Me'...will she grow or will she shrink...read the book to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well formatted and illustrated., 17 Jun 2011
This has all the proper formatting: the mouse's tale wiggles across the page and the first verse of Jabberwocky appears in mirror writing. The way the poems wrap from line to line is odd, however, words are often split across two lines.

The illustrations are the classic John Tenniel ones. The table of contents allows you to jump to any chapter.

As for the actual books, even people who haven't read them will recognise a lot because they are so widely quoted. The stories aren't all that coherent but when the conversations are that good, who needs coherence?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Signet Classic - Alice in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass, 4 Aug 2010
This edition is a good bargain at under 3; it includes the original Tenniel illustrations which give a great feel for the truly bizarre nature of Alice's journey. However, I have a few problems with its blurb, which for a start describes Alice as following a "hasty hare" underground, and spells "imaginitive", well, imaginatively. The essay by Martin Gardner is an okay introduction to the text, if a little preachy: "It's hard to understand, but some adults, including a few peculiar psychologists, think fantasy is bad for children." I bought this edition for my Victorian lit set reading since I usually go for the least pricey edition of each text: for penniless students like myself I would recommend it, but for somebody looking for an edition they can collect and keep in the family, you may like to go for the better quality prints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful reading, appeals to all ages, 3 Oct 2001
I read the original text of Carroll's masterpiece when I was 18 years old (I'm 22 now). I knew only interpretations made by Russian writers before. They were funny but not comparable to the original. So I enjoyed myself from the first page of Alice's Adventures In Wonderland to the last of Through The Looking Glass. The book is so brilliant, full of clever humor, paradoxes and parodies. The so-called "nonsense" is very amusing and by no means without sense. Of course I sometimes missed meanings of Carroll's parodies and allusions. Later I read different references and explanations. The searching of meaning made the book even more interesting in my eyes. There is no need in mentioning characters of both books for they are widely known, but I can't stand the temptation. First of all - Alice herself. She is such a charming and sensible young lady. I laughed a lot at her thoughts and commentaries to the events. And then White Rabbit, Mad Hatter, March Hare, Caterpillar, Cheshire Cat, Mock Turtle, strange birds, the intelligent Mouse, Tweedledee and Tweedledum, Humpty Dumpty, Duchess, King and Queen of Hearts, etc - they are creations of true genius. I also liked immensely Carroll's poems included in the books. I often notice that I am repeating lines from them. As for my favourite The Walrus And The Carpenter, I know it by heart. Wit, fantasy and magic make Alice's Adventures a superb children's book as well as a source of great pleasure for adults. Classical illustrations add more charm to this addition. I prefer them to more modern images (by Disney for example).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius, 27 Sep 2006
These are two of the greatest books ever written. They are, of course, not nonsense. They may have been written for children, but their appeal to any reasonably perceptive adult is so intense that those who have fallen under their spell can practically recite the entire texts of both. In fact, they constitute profoundly penetrating statements, or summaries, of the human condition: physical in Wonderland, and intellectual in Looking-Glass. They do not ramble. Every word, every incident, has been chosen with the utmost precision. Tenniel's illustrations are inspired perfection, and the result of prolonged and dedicated collaboration between author and artist. They will never be improved upon, although many have attempted to replace them with their own images. Wonderland is, in effect, an analysis of the significance and sensations of growth and discovery in the development of a human being, advancing from childhood into adolescence. Starting with the trauma of birth, it describes the experience of adjustment to the world of adults, but succeeds nevertheless in demonstrating that adult society is nothing but a construction of charades --- a house of cards. Looking-Glass raises perennial philosophical questions, such as what is reality? what do words actually mean? what is the nature of time, and identity? Does the world consist of as much anti-matter as matter? It is an extraordinarily compressed summary of the riddles of thought and existence. These works are absolute masterpieces of writing: two of the most sophisticated productions ever penned during the late Victorian era. At the same time they are uniquely readable, witty and amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Begin At The Beginning..., 14 May 2010
What do we see on approaching this new Penguin Classics edition of the Alice books? We see a strong light pink canvas cover etched with very pink flamingoes playing croquet, all caught up in a whirl of topsy-turviness. It is delicious to touch and to look at.

Next follows an essay by Hugh Haughton: informative, detailed, very well written, it turns out to be an illuminating piece of literary criticism, just like his notes at the end of the volume.

Then come the Alice books themselves, duly accompanied by John Tenniel's original illustrations. Obviously, we cannot comment on these; they are simply essential reading for anyone between the age of seven and one hundred and seventy.

Last, but definitely not least, comes the original manuscript of "Alice's Adventures Under Ground", reprinted here in full for the first time. It is a shorter version (four chapters) but an interesting insight into the genesis of "Alice's Adventures In Wonderland".

Then we take a corner. We see another host of very pink flamingoes playing croquet. It is the back cover of the book, and that certainly means that we have reached the end.

Therefore, as you all know, we really have to stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have to say my daugter agrees with Alice..., 21 Jan 2005
if there are no pictures it's not an interesting book ;o) Thandfully this edition of Alice has the most wonderful pictures! Detailed enough to help my nearly 4 year old recount teh chapter she has just heard with no prompts from me. However, that's not why it gets 5 stars from me, the real bunus to me was that it is printed onto cream paper with clear space between the lines of text making it much easier on this tired mummy's eyes at the end of the day :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 12 April 2000
By 
Mr. A. Pomeroy (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An utterly timeless book that has been, at various times, an amusing children's book, a psychedelic text to rival 'Lord of the Rings', and a bible for enthusiastic young programmers who are bored of cyberpunk. It remains a striking record of a repressed imagination suddenly untethered, and the lively writing style hasn't dated - it presents the strange world of Wonderland simply and effectively.
Meanwhile, John Tenniel's illustrations are definitive, and similarly timeless - abstract fantasy doesn't date, and the few pieces that seem old-fashioned might as well be modern illustrations with a Victorian design brief.
The sequel, 'Alice Through the Looking-Glass' seems slightly darker, has a complex chess theme, and includes the famous 'Jabberwocky' poem, something which a certain type of precocious teenager will memorise and recite at parties.
"And what is the use of a book without pictures or conversation?" might as well be a motto for the internet, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6463dbc)

This product

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Tove Jansson (illustrator) (Hardcover - 11 Mar 2011)
10.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews