Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Analects of Advocacy
At the beginning of this slim book Evans makes claims that cause him to sound just a trifle arrogant. Read his book two minutes a day and think about the principles set forth in the book for another eight minutes a day, and you will become an exceptionally good trial advocate. I had to smile as I read his claims. Then I read his book. It might not be quite as helpful as...
Published on 8 Jun 2005 by George R Dekle

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Advocacy
Lawyers,slippery lot,this book shows you why and how.
Said this many many many many many many many many many many many years ago,it's ALL theatre.
Published on 5 Jan 2012 by B


Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Analects of Advocacy, 8 Jun 2005
By 
George R Dekle "Bob Dekle" (Lake City, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Golden Rules of Advocacy (Paperback)
At the beginning of this slim book Evans makes claims that cause him to sound just a trifle arrogant. Read his book two minutes a day and think about the principles set forth in the book for another eight minutes a day, and you will become an exceptionally good trial advocate. I had to smile as I read his claims. Then I read his book. It might not be quite as helpful as Evans says, but it is a very good book. I wish I had been able to read it at the beginning of my career as a trial advocate rather than at the end.
Evans dogmatically sets forth four dimensions of advocacy and follows them up with around thirty "golden rules" of advocacy, each being a pithy saying on the art of advocacy. As a recently retired American trial advocate of some thirty two years experience, I had to agree with 90% of what Evans said. This little book is an excellent introduction to advocacy for the rank beginner. It is also a great refresher for the battle scarred veteran.
Evans makes some highly perceptive observations on the rather dismal state of modern trial advocacy, and offers the "golden rules" as an antidote. Having always maintained that most lawyers win cases in spite of their efforts rather than because of them, I couldn't agree with him more.
If you're a rookie barrister, you need this book. If you're a seasoned veteran, you could use this book. It's inexpensive, easily read, and packed full of wisdom.
So much for the accolades. Now for the critique. One of the first "golden rules" is "entertain the jury." Almost right, but no cigar. I've entertained countless jurors who have voted against me and afterward come to me and told me how much they enjoyed serving and what a wonderful lawyer I was. Lawyers can do without this sort of praise. Many cases have very little entertainment value. The facts of the case are so atrocious that no right thinking person would ever be amused. You're going to strike a sour note trying to entertain in those cases. I would reword Evans' "golden rule" thus: "engage the jury." Make them care about what happened and who it happened to. If you can get them to care, they're likely to vote your way.
Secondly, Evans urges that you "never repeat yourself." Say it once and then move on. I disagree. Repetition is the cornerstone of learning. A quarterback doesn't throw just one pass in practice. He does it over and over until he perfects his technique. A teacher doesn't tell her students the multiplication table once and expect them to know it cold. It has to be repeated it over and over. As a rule of thumb, I always tried to repeat an important point three times. Hammer it home, make sure even the sleepiest juror has heard it. (Did you notice that I just made this point three times in three different ways?)
Thirdly, much of what Evans says about cross examination is overly timid. Follow his "golden rules" of cross and you won't shoot yourself in the foot, but you'll never become a first-rate cross examiner. If you want to progress beyond the rudiments of cross examination, read Stern's "Trying Cases to Win: Cross Examination" or Posner and Dodd's "Cross Examination: Science and Technique", both available from Amazon.com.
I found this book on a recent trip to England. While in London I made a pilgrimage to the Royal Courts of Justice. Upon stopping at the visitor's kiosk to buy a guidebook, I noticed this little jewel and picked it up to read on the flight home. I thought the book had to be good if it was being sold at the doorway to the Royal Courts of Justice. I was right. It is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Market the book better, 20 Aug 2006
By 
Mick Socrates (Kildare, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Golden Rules of Advocacy (Paperback)
Excellent Book. Written by a man who uses the criteria of purpose and practicality to define if it should go into the book or not. The maxims get right to the essence as does his brief explanations.

The Only fault with the book is that it seems to be marketed exclusively for lawyers. As the previous reviewer pointed out this book is for anyone that has to present and communicate under tough conditions. It gives a mindset and a set of analytical tools which anyone from any other profession will find valuable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best work on communications that I've read., 18 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Golden Rules of Advocacy (Paperback)
This book by Keith Evans' will benefit anyone interested in improving their ability to relate to others using the spoken word. While written for the legal profession, the work is suitable for anyone with an interest in spoken communications. Also, a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden reading, 29 July 2010
This review is from: The Golden Rules of Advocacy (Paperback)
Excellent book. Short, logical, very readable and enjoyable. Read it in one day, and re-reading now at leisure. If you are going litigant in person, it's packed with knowledge that you would have difficulty finding elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An ideal summary from an experienced practitioner., 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Rules of Advocacy (Paperback)
A concise but excellent book that should be required reading for any advocate, whether a lawyer or in another field demanding logical analysis of facts, clarity of thought and excellent communication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Golden Rules of Advocacy, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Rules of Advocacy (Paperback)
Good book, concise, well written and easy to read. Useful for studying for the legal Diploma and other courses involving elements of advocacy. Arrived promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars American version also available, 14 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Golden Rules of Advocacy (Paperback)
The American version of Keith Evans' classic work is also available on Amazon.uk

Common Sense Rules 0f Advocacy For Lawyers (softcover)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Advocacy, 5 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Golden Rules of Advocacy (Paperback)
Lawyers,slippery lot,this book shows you why and how.
Said this many many many many many many many many many many many years ago,it's ALL theatre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Golden Rules of Advocacy
The Golden Rules of Advocacy by Keith Evans (Paperback - 1 Feb 1993)
25.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews