Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book!
I have recently bought and read this book after reading about it in the national press a few weeks ago. What a great buy! The author obviously has a passion for telling a fantastic story. I couldn't put this book down from the first page and the whodunn'it factor had me gripped until the last. Woven with all the scandal and intrigue of the 30's, a great read. Would make...
Published on 8 May 2004 by phorever

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read - in a journalistic style
I bought the book after hearing two episodes of a radio adaptation and missing the concluding episodes. You can very much tell the author was a newspaper editor by his writing style. This is not necessarily a bad thing but bear this in mind if you are not so keen on this style being sustained throughout a full book.
The mystery itself is intriguing but the...
Published on 23 July 2013 by Miss S. E. Brown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book!, 8 May 2004
This review is from: Poison Farm: A Murderer Unmasked After 60 Years (Paperback)
I have recently bought and read this book after reading about it in the national press a few weeks ago. What a great buy! The author obviously has a passion for telling a fantastic story. I couldn't put this book down from the first page and the whodunn'it factor had me gripped until the last. Woven with all the scandal and intrigue of the 30's, a great read. Would make a great film too, I think. I would recommend this book to everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The murderer at last, 25 May 2009
This review is from: Poison Farm: A Murderer Unmasked After 60 Years (Paperback)
I have had this book since publication and still keep going back to re-read. The story is one I had heard from a small child when visiting my grandparents in the village of Risby and as we passed Murfitt's grave in the church yard. The investigation as to the murderer is also intertwined with local events of the time. As my family still have connections with the village I can picture the events as if they were yesterday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars creepy, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poison Farm: A Murderer Unmasked After 60 Years (Paperback)
A real life murder mystery. It could have come from the pages of an Agatha Christie novel. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it, it makes you want to visit the place where these occurances took place. A very good read indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read - in a journalistic style, 23 July 2013
By 
Miss S. E. Brown (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poison Farm: A Murderer Unmasked After 60 Years (Paperback)
I bought the book after hearing two episodes of a radio adaptation and missing the concluding episodes. You can very much tell the author was a newspaper editor by his writing style. This is not necessarily a bad thing but bear this in mind if you are not so keen on this style being sustained throughout a full book.
The mystery itself is intriguing but the conclusion, rather unfulfilling. I would love to have seen this rewritten like the Suspicions of Mister Whicher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Local village murder, 11 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has all the elements of a classic fictional village murder but is made all the more fascinating because it is a true story. The personal involvement of the author's family adds authenticity and for those of us who know the villages of Risby and Fornham and nearby Bury St there is the added frisson of recognition and realisation that behind those apparently boring country facades human dramas are playing out.

David Williams describes the events and characters with considerable skill. Extremely readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poison Farm: A Murderer Unmasked After 60 Years, 10 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poison Farm: A Murderer Unmasked After 60 Years (Paperback)
I was born in Bury St. Edmunds so any books on Suffolk are of great interest to me. I was however amazed and delighted to find that the 'farmer' in this book is actually on my family tree! I would thoroughly recommend this book - I could not put it down and resisted the urge to look at the last page to see who had done it...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book - a great read!, 12 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poison Farm: A Murderer Unmasked After 60 Years (Paperback)
A fabulous book ... a real find! Although this isn't the best known of murders, the story of this farmer suddenly poisoned at his breakfast reveals a colourful hotbed of secrets from lovers, thefts, blackmail, to horse racing liaisons and family friction. It is written brilliantly for maximum suspense and excitement, with each chapter dropping tantalising nuggets towards the final revelation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poison Farm: A Murderer Unmasked After 60 Years (Paperback)
Very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poison Farm: A Murderer Unmasked After 60 Years (Paperback)
Book production is not good. This is not a fascinating case
and I found it a bit repetitive and not entirely convincing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very poor, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poison Farm: A Murderer Unmasked After 60 Years (Paperback)
Have never reviewed a book before,but felt had to review this book-would have given it no stars if possible.Have read many true crime books,but have never come across such a biased and laughable book as this.Author had clearly made up his mind before he started,and chose to ignore the most blatant evidence against the likely murderer.
Just as well you cannot slander the dead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poison Farm: A Murderer Unmasked After 60 Years
Poison Farm: A Murderer Unmasked After 60 Years by David Williams (Paperback - 23 Mar. 2004)
Used & New from: £0.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews