Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant empathy
I did begin to wonder whether any of the nicknames in this book had been contrived to further characterise the people we barely had a chance to meet in the run up to the Yarra's season but, the more of that season the diary chronicled, the more the characterisation developed anyway and it was all the more touching for it. If you have played any cricket - or any amateur...
Published on 29 Dec 2004 by L. Richardson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Aussie Club tales
I expected to enjoy this book more than I actually did. While the author is extremely erudite, and writes beautifully, because the book is concerned with an Australian club side I couldn't really identify with the characters.

Had this been about an English team and its exploits I'm sure it would have meant far more to me.

Don't get me wrong, it still...
Published on 22 April 2011 by filmfan Dave


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant empathy, 29 Dec 2004
By 
L. Richardson "LR" (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Many a Slip: A Diary of a Club Cricket Season (Hardcover)
I did begin to wonder whether any of the nicknames in this book had been contrived to further characterise the people we barely had a chance to meet in the run up to the Yarra's season but, the more of that season the diary chronicled, the more the characterisation developed anyway and it was all the more touching for it. If you have played any cricket - or any amateur sport - you will empathise instantly with the peaks and troughs of the sporting achievement, and the stresses and strains of club administration. You'll recognise the people too because there is almost certainly the same blend in your own club.
In many ways, this is no different to Rain Men but, as an Englishman, all the more revealing of club culture in a sporting nation we have been conditioned to revere. For that alone Many a Slip is worth reading because you'll identify moreso with a shared bond that spans a far greater distance than some of the more parochial and therefore recognisable events in Rain Men and similar diaries.
Haigh is an excellent, perceptive and thoughtful correspondent who'll neatly encapsulate much of what you feel about your own cricket club. If you're not a cricketer then this is worth reading to see what all the fuss is about: ultimately, it isn't even about the cricket; it's about the shared interest and the mateship. It's a delightful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cricket's the same game wherever it's played, 31 Mar 2004
This review is from: Many a Slip: A Diary of a Club Cricket Season (Hardcover)
This is the diary of the South Yarra cricket club's 2001-02 sesson in Melbourne, Australia. It makes you realise that all cricket clubs are the same all over the world. Some of Haigh's characters and situations will be instantly recognisable to anyone who has played in the lower reaches of club cricket anywhere. I read this in less than two days on the train and had to struggle not to laugh out loud at several points. Very highly recommended to anyone with any interest in club cricket - or anyone who just wants quick, funny read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 22 Jan 2003
This review is from: Many a Slip: A Diary of a Club Cricket Season (Hardcover)
if you've ever read Gideon Haigh's column in the Guardian and enjoyed it, then you are obliged to buy this book.
fantastically funny, and beautifully written in a vernacular style, this is a fine read.
if you are worried about it being overly 'australian' then you might have a point, but i love it and I'm a pom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty Mate!, 22 Jan 2006
This review is from: Many a Slip: A Diary of a Club Cricket Season (Hardcover)
Anyone who has played club cricket will identify and love this book. Hilariously written and superbly observed - this loose "diary" of a season will leave you with a warm glow inside. Beauty mate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 4 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. Ar Airey "tony airey" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Many a Slip: A Diary of a Club Cricket Season (Hardcover)
If you are paid to play sport this book isn't for you. For the rest of us, "Many a Slip" is the book we always wanted to write. Superb. Full stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ifyou play Club crcket then you must read this, 6 Feb 2010
This review is from: Many a Slip: A Diary of a Club Cricket Season (Hardcover)
It may be Club Cricket in a different country, but it is an excellent read and so much will bring back memories that it is a "hard to put down" book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars australian club cricket., 12 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Many a Slip: A Diary of a Club Cricket Season (Hardcover)
tale about australian club cricket.little connection with english club or village cricket.and having played in australia only remotely like i found it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A top read, 18 Nov 2011
This review is from: Many a Slip: A Diary of a Club Cricket Season (Hardcover)
As other reviewers have said, many a club cricketer will read this book and frequently nod at the tales and travails of the weekend amateur game. It is a great read and captures Gideon Haigh's great craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Aussie Club tales, 22 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Many a Slip: A Diary of a Club Cricket Season (Hardcover)
I expected to enjoy this book more than I actually did. While the author is extremely erudite, and writes beautifully, because the book is concerned with an Australian club side I couldn't really identify with the characters.

Had this been about an English team and its exploits I'm sure it would have meant far more to me.

Don't get me wrong, it still contains a few giggles but sadly no belly laughs.

The funniest cricket book I have read (so far) is "Fatty Batter" by Michael Simkins. "Many a slip" doesn't compare, so if anyone is looking for a funny, nostalgic read then "Fatty Batter" is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly enjoyable, 4 Jan 2011
By 
M. V. Clarke (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Many a Slip: A Diary of a Club Cricket Season (Hardcover)
Gideon Haigh is well known as a cricket writer, but less well known as a player. This book uses his lesser-recorded career as Chairman of Selectors for South Yarra Cricket Club and off-spinner in the 4th XI of the same to showcase his witty brilliance as a writer. It traces the club's fortunes through a single season, but the match-by-match details are at times almost a by-product of the witty pen pictures of various individuals, traditions, cricketing events that Haigh paints. There is a genuine delight in the eccentric and amateur nature of their doings, and Haigh's writing makes the people and events recorded come to life for the reader. Most entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Many a Slip: A Diary of a Club Cricket Season
Many a Slip: A Diary of a Club Cricket Season by Gideon Haigh (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews