Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finding the lost houses of England, 29 Jun 2002
By 
Mr. D. McKenna "foliofreak" (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England's Lost Houses (From the Archives of "Country Life") (Hardcover)
England's lost houses is the type of book that encourages the reader to return again and again. Following the development of architectural awareness throughout the first half of the twentieth century, Giles Worsley's book is beautifully illustrated with photographs from Country Life magazine and the text gives plenty of descriptive material for the discerning reader. Finding that places one knows in one's locality once boasted a fine country house designed by Robert Adam or with plaster-work by Joseph Rose will no doubt stir an interest in finding out more and will lead the reader to a deeper understanding of the changing attitudes that have, eventually, saved other houses for the nation. Although an expensive book, England's Lost Houses is well worth the price and will become one of those editions that will never be placed on the bottom shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so much lost heritage, 21 Jun 2006
This review is from: England's Lost Houses (From the Archives of "Country Life") (Hardcover)
There is something so sad about a beautiful house that no longer exists except in the pages of a book. This is what we have here and it really is astounding how many fine country houses were lost in the 20th Century for whatever reason be it wanton destruction or fire. Times change and we now value what remains. The book is beautifully illustrated with black and white photos of exteriors and interiors. I can thoroughly recommend this book as a fascinating record of lost heritage and a valuable lesson to be learned from past mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost but not forgotten, 4 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. Robert Devaney "rob devaney" (eltham, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England's Lost Houses (From the Archives of "Country Life") (Hardcover)
This is a simply marvellous book that will have pride of place in many a bookshelf, and which will be read time and time again. It takes one back to a vanished world that was superbly captured in L.P. Hartley's "The Go-Between". The size, range and breadth of the amazing country houses illustrated in these pages takes one's breath away and the accompanying text is both intelligent and poignant, matching the sadness of the photos themselves. Highy recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gone but not fogotten, 11 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England's Lost Houses (From the Archives of "Country Life") (Hardcover)
An incredible book, obviously a labour of love to record a rapidly fading age, so many houses destroyed. The photographic content is worth the price alone, very well laid out with an easy to use index. I live in Nottinghamshire an area that suffered its share of Country House losses some who which I was only vagulely aware of, this book brought them to life. In the well writtem text I found the saddest reason for decline the destruction of a whole generation in the First World War, repeatedly thinking about that world as narrated by Vera Brittains in her "Testament of Youth"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost houses rediscovered, 21 Jun 2002
By 
Mr. D. McKenna "foliofreak" (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England's Lost Houses (From the Archives of "Country Life") (Hardcover)
This book, although rather expensive, explains in fine detail how we have come to lose some of the most beautiful buildings in the country. Tracing the growing awareness of the need to conserve examples of architecture and interior design throughout the twentieth century, the author uses primary sources from Country Life to explain the reasoning behind the loss and salvation of houses that were and are an important part of our landscape and heritage. Although, sadly, many houses are now gone forever, we can relish the photographs of how they once were and celebrate the endurance of those that we can still visit. Excellent!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost House no more, 10 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
England's Lost Houses is an invaluable archive of the great houses of Britain lost to the demolition man and architectural scrap merchant. Country life have preserved a record of their grandeur and magnificence which exhibit the craftsmanship and artistrey funded by an age of opulence and destroyed by the travesty of death duties and feeble local authorities.

Without this splendid photographic record much of this heritage would be lost without trace and all we would be left with is the tragedy of modern architecture and the grotesque concrete monoliths which some poor souls are actually trying to get listed.

Revel in the nostalger of GREAT BRITAIN for a while and enjoy the experience of how things can be when exquisite taste combines with serious money.England's Lost Houses: From the Archives of Country Life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent view into the past, 25 Aug 2011
By 
PC (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
An excellent book that brings to life our heritage and past historic (now lost) buildings. It gives a real sense of extravagance and ultimate decadence on the part of the "Ruling Class". So, if you like big, old fancy buildings or live in a place where these great buildings once stood, then buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England's Lost Houses (From the Archives of "Country Life") (Hardcover)
As with my previous posts, this book explained to this American why Britain has lost so much of its cultural heritage due to two World Wars and their subsequent costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid publication, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well researched book with a fine collection of photographs. A very good read for those who have an interest in large residences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragedy, 21 July 2013
This review is from: England's Lost Houses (From the Archives of "Country Life") (Hardcover)
I first realised the scale of Country house losses when I stumbled onto the England's Lost Houses website, and was utterly astonished at some of the huge and beautiful buildings we've lost. This book obviously can't cover all 900+ but it does a very good job on those it features and provides good insight into the various reasons and events that led to the losses. Together with the beautiful illustrations it's pretty much a must have if you're interested in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

England's Lost Houses (From the Archives of "Country Life")
England's Lost Houses (From the Archives of "Country Life") by Giles Worsley (Hardcover - 25 April 2002)
Used & New from: 20.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews