Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best and most logical scientific approach to golf ever
Dave Pelz looks at golf in a simple way: the closer the ball goes to your intended target, the lower your scores will be. Studying the professional game for years he found that the best players in the world were amazingly inaccurate when it came to wedgeplay. Needless to say that there was scope for improvement and Pelz describes a straightforward approach to the short...
Published on 2 Sep 1999

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too technical for me.
Undoubtedly this book has some great content and to an extent I feel slightly mean only giving him three stars but the reality is that, for the vast majority, of amateur golfers it is far, far too technical.

Short game is all about feel and simple fun practice in my view (I am a scratch golfer incidentally). You'll get far more benefit out of simply watching...
Published on 28 May 2009 by James Clark


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best and most logical scientific approach to golf ever, 2 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dave Pelz's Short Game Bible (Hardcover)
Dave Pelz looks at golf in a simple way: the closer the ball goes to your intended target, the lower your scores will be. Studying the professional game for years he found that the best players in the world were amazingly inaccurate when it came to wedgeplay. Needless to say that there was scope for improvement and Pelz describes a straightforward approach to the short game. It seems to have worked very well for all the pros who have committed themselves to it. You need time to read this book and then you need time to practice but once you applied the techniques described, your scores will definitely fall - and you will learn how fruitless it is to beat five-irons and drivers on the driving-range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great theory, but you have to work for the benefits, 31 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dave Pelz's Short Game Bible (Hardcover)
First of all, no question that this book is close to THE short game bible. If (like me) you come from a technical background, you'll love this book - Pelz builds up his points in painful detail. However, only go for it if you honestly believe you can commit serious time (an absolute minimum of 3 hours a week) to short game practice. If, like most people, you can't, then go for Tom Watson's classic Getting Up And Down. Pelz is very technical indeed and unless (again, like me) you've just been laid off you won't have the time to put this into practice in the course of one season. No wonder the pros love it though. Oh, one more thing - some of his assumptions are understandably US-centric, so if you too play on a links course you can take some of his spin / stop predictions with a large, but windproofed, pinch of salt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sort through to find the useful information, 13 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dave Pelz's Short Game Bible (Hardcover)
I was surprised when I received this book at how big it was. When I began reading I understood why. Dave Pelz has obviously put a lot of thought and time into his reasons for writing this book, and feels the need to tell us every last detail. Certainly this is important and does give a greater understanding of why the short game is so important to everyone's golf game. However I can't help but think that he could have cut down on a lot of what is written. When the book finally gets to the instruction, it is excellent. It covers every aspect of chipping, pitching and sand play you could want to know. Covering each technique thoroughly and in simple, easy to understand language which is accompanied by some good illustrating photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY-READ-SAVE a fortune on lessons !!, 19 May 2011
This review is from: Dave Pelz's Short Game Bible (Hardcover)
I've played off 20 to 24 handicap since I can remember. What this book does is to take you on a journey as to WHY the changes you have to make to improve your short-game - came about, as Pelz analysed and dissected the top pros methodolgy, techniques, and application. This book is a detailed and comprehensive training tool, which if you read SLOWLY, inwardley DIGEST and then PRACTICE and APPLY - what he is advocating, must help you improve your scores (and your handicap !!) . Do yourself a favour.....dont keep buying new Drivers and the latest lob-wedge, (like I used to do for the last 20 odd years),.....spend a lot less money on this book, take some time out, to read it properly......and you will never regret it.
Danny (Handicap now 15 !!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding!, 26 Mar 2010
By 
R. Weeks (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dave Pelz's Short Game Bible (Hardcover)
Just simply amazing!

A simple approach to all shots within 100 yards. The years of work this guy has put into collating his facts is brilliant. You can approach his method with the confidence that Dave Pelz has done his research well.

Anyone can improve their short game by reading and applying his method.

His method relies on YOU knowing EXACT YARDAGES on the courses you play. Get Google Earth on your PC/Mac, start charting yardages in a little book that you keep in your golf bag. Take yardage measurements from, for example, 'big tree on left of fairway to middle of green - 67 yards.' Take lots of these measurements, from different areas, of the holes you play, not just one measurement per hole. With his method, if you know these yardages, you'll be able to produce the 'finesse swing' to hit the ball to within 2 or 3 yards every time.

Just quality, I recommend this book highly for people who are willing to put the work into their short games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious Game Improvement, 12 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dave Pelz's Short Game Bible (Hardcover)
A comprehensive insight into short game startegy and practice. By translating research into application, Dave Pelz has produced a text which is probably the best golf instruction book I have ever read (and I've read a few). A book for the serious and better golfer which will not dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everything u need, 8 July 2007
This review is from: Dave Pelz's Short Game Bible (Hardcover)
I'm not gonna waffle on or go into too much detail but i'm a 9 handicap golfer who is currently working hard to lower the handicap and bought this book based on reviews i read here. The "4x3" wedge syatem is a guaranteed stroke saver from 120yards in and although it does require a minimum of 3 wedges and some practise time on the range to fine tune your yardages it will definitely lower your scoring. Some will find the book a little technical but pelz leaves no doubt or question in any of his methods, everything is well explained and researched and when u watch the pros u can see that they all use this system on the short game. after reading this u will never again take a power swing with any wedge and u will save minimum 6 shots per round. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Golf Instruction, A must if you want to improve., 7 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dave Pelz's Short Game Bible (Hardcover)
It all makes sense after you read this book. There are many different Golf Instruction Manuals and books written. Many talk about techique with the basic ball hitting and knocking your driver out of sight. That's fine if that's all you want to do, Hit the Ball out of sight. But how do you improve your scoring? Putting? I think that most people believe that " The more putts I can hole,I must improve my game". Wrong, It's your short game that improves your score ,the lesson learnt from this book is the nearer to the hole you are the more putts you will hole. Because it's easier to hole a 2 footer than a 10 footer. This book tells you how to get the ball closer to the hole. So then the old saying " Drive for Show, Putt for Dough" is almost true, but it depends on where you Putt from! A must read for any Golfer wanting to Improve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too technical for me., 28 May 2009
This review is from: Dave Pelz's Short Game Bible (Hardcover)
Undoubtedly this book has some great content and to an extent I feel slightly mean only giving him three stars but the reality is that, for the vast majority, of amateur golfers it is far, far too technical.

Short game is all about feel and simple fun practice in my view (I am a scratch golfer incidentally). You'll get far more benefit out of simply watching videos of Seve, Mickelson and Tiger around the greens than you can by getting caught up in the huge detail of this book.

But (and it's a big but) let's not forget that Pelz is Mickelson's short game coach so who am I to argue?

It all slightly depends on how you learn too. If you are very technically minded then it may well be of benefit to you. For the rest of us I think there is simply nothing better than getting out there and playing with one wedge in a variety of different circumstances and developing great feel (and subsequently confidence).

I do recommend his 3X4 routine for shots 50 yards and out though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Book!, 23 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dave Pelz's Short Game Bible (Hardcover)
This book is excellent. If you are having trouble with your short game then buy this book, because it will almost definitely help you. The book itself is very easy to understand and its scientific approach makes it easier to apply to your own game. It is the best golf improvement book that I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dave Pelz's Short Game Bible
Dave Pelz's Short Game Bible by Dave Pelz (Hardcover - 1 July 1999)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews