Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars10
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2012
Now that the format for GCSE has changed, this book will replace the excellent Momentum tests which perfectly replicated the old format. There are 4 sections, with translation passages and comprehensions (Sections 1 & 2) for the Latin Language 1 paper, and the same again (Sections 3 & 4) for the Latin Language 2 paper. There are no answers, so not ideal for the self-taught, but brilliant for classroom work. There is no grammar, so you'll need it alongside a book like John Taylor's Essential GCSE Latin.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
A really good book full of excellent passages for the GCSE student. Due to a school move I am teaching my 14 year old son at home and he is finding this book very useful. The stories are in several sections with ample practice for both translating and comprehension. I would highly recommend this book to anyone either studying alone or at school. A really good way to improve your vocabulary and skills in grammatical constructions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
A beneficial adjunct to standard texts for the student of Latin and provides a useful alternative means of meeting and dealing with challenging concepts in the language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
A great book. I love bilingual editions as I cam make progress much faster. Also great is Fabulae Faciles: Parallel Text Latin - English
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
Excellent choice of stories , thoughtfully structured , pleasurable read and great learning source
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
A great book for anyone studying latin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
Excellent extra practice for GCSE OCR Latin exams
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2014
A brilliant and indispensable book to help prepare for the GCSE exams. Works perfectly alongside John Taylor's "Essential GCSE Latin".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2011
Hi gents! Me again. Came across this little jaffa in the dressing-room at Lord's. Was playing for the England over 50s against the old enemy and had just snicked off to a Terry Alderman dobber...again. Got back to the dressing-room and this little pearler was just the ticket to calm me down after another failure. Packed with cheerful stories of young, athletic, muscular, heroic men and shapely, well-formed, pliant maidens my mind was set free like 'luo' in the Aorist Passive. What a cracking read - kept me riveted until stumps.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2011
..after having published (Abl. Abs) frequently over the past 20 years - my rendition of the Iliad was a bestseller in The Pound - I can genuinely recommend this book. It recently helped me as I struggled through the latest edition of Minimus - no easy feat.

Taylor's done it again, though was he offered a scholarship at Balliol College Oxford in his last year at Prep School...like me? Tut tut - Lucem meam sequitur.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)