Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful for AS Latin students
Latin Beyond GCSEI'm using this with a couple of students who are sitting AS Level privately, and in limited time, after a very successful 'crash course' to GCSE. I chose it particularly for the Latin-English translation exercises, which are varied and useful, and I have no regrets. I have only glanced at the grammar and syntax sections, but explanations seem clear and...
Published on 3 April 2011 by magister

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
A good resource.
Published 3 months ago by L. M.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful for AS Latin students, 3 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latin Beyond GCSE (Paperback)
Latin Beyond GCSEI'm using this with a couple of students who are sitting AS Level privately, and in limited time, after a very successful 'crash course' to GCSE. I chose it particularly for the Latin-English translation exercises, which are varied and useful, and I have no regrets. I have only glanced at the grammar and syntax sections, but explanations seem clear and thorough.
Any weaknesses? Stylistically, the more heavily adapted Latin passages still contain some slightly unnatural words and phrases, though fewer than one has become used to at GCSE level, and sometimes I wanted to reach for my teacherly red pen. More surprisingly, there is the very occasional grammatical error. I wonder if the standard of difficulty is a little uneven too - some of the AS Cicero passages seem to contain quite a few A-Level 'problems'. (Much of this could be addressed in the way words are glossed. Some suggested translations seem less than helpful in the actual context, and other words are not glossed though used in a slightly unusual sense.) However, for me the book serves its particular purpose well, and I would like my criticisms to be seen in that light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars optimum iterum, 3 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latin Beyond GCSE (Paperback)
John Taylor has again put students of Latin (and their teachers) in his debt with this volume, a companion to his 'Greek Beyond GCSE' that follows the same format. This is a comprehensive guide and vade mecum for all the language papers in AS and A2. A full grammar section with sentences is followed by many brief, annotated prose passages (Nepos, Livy, Cicero), then a guide to scansion and poetic vocabulary section is followed by a good dose of Ovid, rounded off my lengthier passages from De Bello Gallico and some of the more famous excerpts from Livy.
The explanations are always clear, interesting and informative - with a bit of sly humour as well. Gratias maximas tibi agimus, magister!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 17 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latin Beyond GCSE (Paperback)
The notes on syntax are useful and (most of the time) concise. Some sections are a little confusing, but, if this book is studied alongside another, most of the confusing parts are easily worked out. Follows the same format as the Essential GCSE Latin book and, if that worked for you, then this will as well. Accidence tables at the back are useful as are the dictionaries; most text books don't include an English-Latin section but I found that particularly useful in this book. Many of the English to Latin sentences are of a higher level than required at AS, so this book is useful for reaching exam quality. I have only studied this book to AS Level, but have found it extremely useful and well-written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best available for A2, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latin Beyond GCSE (Paperback)
Big plus is the knowledge of the current OCR AS/A2 specification that Taylor brings to his work: the style of questions in Chapters 4 and 5 here is simply correct, and this is a necessary addition to any teacher's library.

Big minus is the layout of the grammar sections: in both Chapters 1 and 2, and in the reference grammar section, it is difficult to find what one wants, or more generally to find one's way around.

Grammatical explanations are a sort of updated (but not updated enough) Kennedy - still a little prolix (what's with the notes-within-notes in 8pt?!) and still as dry as dust - but accurate and, again, necessary.

I've bought it; I use it; it works.

One hesitates to say it, but: Could do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to get a basic understanding of this dead (but still living) language, read on:, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latin Beyond GCSE (Paperback)
I thought that I understood what contribution Latin made to English, but re-visiting the subject through this book has enhanced my appreciation of the part that it has played in modern culture, etc. etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good book for more advanced study., 22 Mar 2014
By 
J. Severn (LONDON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latin Beyond GCSE (Paperback)
I belong to a small group working up from beginner stage and having got to the end of the GCSE primers we were casting around for a book which would guide us through the more esoteric bits of grammar.
It is directed at AS or A-level studies but it is very helpful as long as you can cope with terms like periphrastic subjunctives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Taylor rocks!, 22 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latin Beyond GCSE (Paperback)
In my book anything written by John Taylor is excellent material. Does what is says - prepares candidates well for Latin beyond GCSE. A good price from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 17 Sep 2014
This review is from: Latin Beyond GCSE (Paperback)
A good resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latin Beyond GCSE (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cool, 21 Aug 2014
This review is from: Latin Beyond GCSE (Paperback)
Cool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Latin Beyond GCSE
Latin Beyond GCSE by John Taylor (Paperback - 24 Sep 2009)
£13.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews