Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars optimum auxilium, 22 Feb. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential GCSE Latin (Paperback)
This book certainly doesn't substitute for any of the existing course books (such as the Cambridge or Oxford courses), nor is it meant to, but it does convey exactly what the title claims, and any student who pays diligent attention to it can count on good success. I have encouraged students to invest in this extremely helpful book and use it myself in teaching. John Taylor is a great gift to the world of classics teaching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very effective book, highly reccommended, 31 Aug. 2007
By 
P. Sheard "P. Sheard" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential GCSE Latin (Paperback)
This book helped me to get an A* in my Latin GCSE after having to start the subject from the very basics four to five months before my exam - it is very user-friendly, starts from scratch and covers all the main topics of the Latin course - grammar and vocabulary. The contents page is detailed and very useful and the information in the book is usually helpfully concise with no waffle, giving you what you need to know. I also found the harder translation practices at the back very helpful as I was doing that section - however, answers are not provided.

All in all, this book really is "Essential GCSE Latin" and together with "Latin Momentum Tests" by Ashley Carter, it is all the material a GCSE candidate will need for their exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really is essential., 20 May 2012
This review is from: Essential GCSE Latin (Paperback)
As a wacky wrinkly attempting to do GCSE Latin in one academic year [language in just over a term!]Just wish I'd discovered this earlier.
It is very easy to follow. Only downside is there are no answers to check when you are working independently........perhaps authors could be persuaded to produce a separate answer book.....................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential!, 25 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Essential GCSE Latin (Paperback)
It does what a more complex grammar cannot.
Clear defined sections; brief but apt excercises after each; it is a perfect revision guide.
Subjunctive uses are especially well explained.
My favourite part is the unseen practice texts towards the end which help you see if you've understood well enough.
Obviously it's only for a GCSE level but I think this book explains far better certain aspects of fundamental Latin and, therefor, helps to consolidate that essential but basic knowledge which can be forgotten as we progress to higher levels of study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Answers for unseen translation passages at back of book, 11 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential GCSE Latin (Paperback)
I was just wondering if anyone had any answers for the unseen translation passages at the back of this book. It is such a shame that I can't check if what I have translated is correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What it says on the tin...., 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential GCSE Latin (Paperback)
This is THE essential grammar book for GCSE students. If there is a point of grammar they are struggling with, it is easy to find the right section. There are good practice sentences too. The translations at the back are hard, but are good for last minute practice as the exam approaches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick delivery, 15 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Essential GCSE Latin (Paperback)
Very quick delivery and was exactly as stated. A big help for my son. Especially as Latin books are virtually impossible to find on the high street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Latin GCSE book, 26 Jan. 2013
By 
Mrs. Helen Hogarth "Helenback" (Teesside England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential GCSE Latin (Paperback)
what a wonderful book, though I bought it to help me child with their Latin, it has made simple all the things that I was so confused about when i first studied it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars useful,worth getting, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential GCSE Latin (Paperback)
This covered all the ground and was easier to use than the school book and worth having a different style to make revising less boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did what it said on the tin!, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential GCSE Latin (Paperback)
My son said it took him through each step at exactly the right level, not assuming he knew everything or nothing. Perfect for revision
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential GCSE Latin
Essential GCSE Latin by John Taylor (Paperback - 28 July 2006)
Used & New from: £4.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews