Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judge this book by its cover - it IS just so inviting!
'Marie Claire Flavours is an invitation to an intoxicating sensory journey that will not only excite the taste buds but also tantalise the mind.
From the mellow smoothness of vanilla to the tangy bite of citrus, the seductive sweetness of chocolate to the fiery punch of chilli, 'flavours' lets you explore the origins of 14 aromatic ingredients and offers simple and...
Published on 18 Aug. 2004 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK!

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not new...
The Book was ok but copy was not new and had clearly been used by someone else. There was food between the pages.....Really don't think that it should have been sold as new!
Published 24 months ago by victoria neave


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judge this book by its cover - it IS just so inviting!, 18 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Flavours ("Marie Claire" Style) (Paperback)
'Marie Claire Flavours is an invitation to an intoxicating sensory journey that will not only excite the taste buds but also tantalise the mind.
From the mellow smoothness of vanilla to the tangy bite of citrus, the seductive sweetness of chocolate to the fiery punch of chilli, 'flavours' lets you explore the origins of 14 aromatic ingredients and offers simple and mouth-watering recipes for you to make.
In classic Donna Hay style, 'flavours' proves that preparing delicious food from fresh ingredients need not be difficult.'

Simple but fresh paperback cover opens to 192 pages, split over 9 chapters:-

Vanilla
Lemon + Lime
Ginger
Chilli
Garlic + Onion
Chocolate
Salt + Pepper
Basil + Mint
Cinnamon + Spice

with an introduction, a glossary and an index.

The quality of writing one has come to expect from Marie Claire publications.
Each chapter opens with 'basic notes' relevant to the particular flavouring and a 'good ideas' section.
Each recipe is clearly laid out with a list of ingredients, number of servings and the method.
Brilliant photography throughout.

A taste of the recipes contained within:-

Vanilla Meringues
Seared Tuna with Lime Crust
Lemon Roasted Chicken
Classic Baked Lemon Cheesecake
Ginger Snaps
Sticky Chilli Chicken
Leek Risotto with Lemon Fish
Chocolate Cookies
Rum & Raisin Brownies
Layered Chocolate Fudge Cake
Chocolate Panna Cotta
Salt-Baked Fish
Chicken with Rocket Sauce
Beef & Peppercorn Pies
Grilled Ruby Grapefruit
Juniper Roast Pork & Figs
Duck in Star Anise Broth
Coconut Fish Curry
Cinnamon Jelly with Plums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Cooking!, 21 Sept. 2003
By 
E. Walker "aqapop" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flavours ("Marie Claire" Style) (Paperback)
This is the most spectacular cookbook ever! I borrowed this from the library along with a stack of others when I first left home, and within weeks had brought my own copy to keep forever! The layout of the pages is clear and very well presented in the typical Donna Hay style, with excellent colour pictures of every single dish. There are pages of excellent little tips on each of the sections. The sections include 'lemon and lime', 'salt and pepper', 'herbs', and my favourite 'chocolate' recipes, to name only a few. You have to see this book! My favourite recipe so far: pasta with chilli and bacon. But I'm still trying every single one out... If you love cooking, but this - you will love using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple & Delicious, 25 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Flavours ("Marie Claire" Style) (Paperback)
Ticks all the right boxes to make this a practical & useable cookbook:
- Pictures of every dish
- Simple easy to follow recipes
- Not too many ingredients, not too hard to find in the supermarket
- Most recipes are healthy and low in fat / cals
- Organising by flavour rather than course inspires me, makes it easier to find a recipe I can actually bother to try!
- Many of the recipes are similar with variations in the main flavour - a great way to learn how to invent your own recipes

I own so many cookbooks that I never ever use (but always promise myself that I will) and I wish there were more books out there like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated and scrumptious!, 2 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Flavours ("Marie Claire" Style) (Paperback)
I love Donna Hay's cooking and New Entertaining is one of my most frequently used cookbooks - regardless of whether I'm entertaining or not! This new book is just as good as Donna's passions are very similar to my own so recipes based on vanilla, garlic, chocolate, chilli, basil and ginger (not all together I hasten to add!) are just perfect. Her aussie style comes through loud and clear once again. I thought I'd done everything possible with pasta but her "Spaghetti with Lime and Rocket" showed me a fabulous new twist. The photography is beautiful too, you really feel like you can taste and smell these goodies as you read through. Reading this book on an empty stomach is sheer torture!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not new..., 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flavours ("Marie Claire" Style) (Paperback)
The Book was ok but copy was not new and had clearly been used by someone else. There was food between the pages.....Really don't think that it should have been sold as new!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flavours ("Marie Claire" Style)
Flavours ("Marie Claire" Style) by Donna Hay (Paperback - 1 Nov. 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews