Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant
This is the second book of the series, and as ever is fantastic. The book is slighty more advanced than the first is is packed full of very useful and help step by step tips. There are sections all about chocolate, embroidery, making flowers, recipes, runouts, figure piping, bas relief, marzipan....I could go on because the techniques are endless. A must have for a cake...
Published on 21 July 2007 by E. Ellick

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good browse but outdated
I bought book one as well - although nice books to browse through I find them somewhat outdated. I certainly don't consider them my sugarcraft 'bible' and beyond a couple of browsings they will sit on the shelf. The photographic help leaves a lot to be desired - the 'bird cake' on page 103 has written explanation for the central bird but no close-up photo of the...
Published on 8 Oct 2010 by zena-merrell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 21 July 2007
By 
E. Ellick "emm" (kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The International School of Sugarcraft: Advanced Bk.2 (Paperback)
This is the second book of the series, and as ever is fantastic. The book is slighty more advanced than the first is is packed full of very useful and help step by step tips. There are sections all about chocolate, embroidery, making flowers, recipes, runouts, figure piping, bas relief, marzipan....I could go on because the techniques are endless. A must have for a cake maker or someone who just wants to try different methods and styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent instruction for all levels., 21 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: The International School of Sugarcraft: Advanced Bk.2 (Paperback)
Book 2 is an excellent follow on for the intermmediate decorator but is also of some use to the beginner. The instructions are clear and easily followed and the section on modelling is great enabling first time modellers to produce good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sugar Craft, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The International School of Sugarcraft: Advanced Bk.2 (Paperback)
The ideas in this book are brilliant. Though I am attending a sugar craft course the instructions are easy to follow, so don't be put off. This book is ideal for anyone who enjoys making creative edible delights or decorations for various themes and events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful for the Cakemaker, 28 Oct 2000
This review is from: The International School of Sugarcraft: Advanced Bk.2 (Paperback)
"Sugarcraft" is a book which will inspire you to try out new ideas in your cake-making. I especially enjoyed the section on making marzipan figures and chocolate objects, including eggs.
Recommended for anyone with an interest in doing something different with sugar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good browse but outdated, 8 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The International School of Sugarcraft: Advanced Bk.2 (Paperback)
I bought book one as well - although nice books to browse through I find them somewhat outdated. I certainly don't consider them my sugarcraft 'bible' and beyond a couple of browsings they will sit on the shelf. The photographic help leaves a lot to be desired - the 'bird cake' on page 103 has written explanation for the central bird but no close-up photo of the finished thing. Short too on photographic help with the different ways of using piping tubes and their resulting effect. As this is the 'advanced' sugarcraft book I would have expected it cover the different levels of sugar boiling, spun sugar, caramel etc...... sorry, but with the title 'school of sugarcraft' I expected much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good tips, 4 July 2009
By 
Bianca White "bianc93" (Gosport, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The International School of Sugarcraft: Advanced Bk.2 (Paperback)
I've learned some good decorating tips from this book and would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sugarcraft, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The International School of Sugarcraft: Advanced Bk.2 (Paperback)
This sugarcraft book was for me, very useful, and great to refer back to when needed. Very informative good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The International School of Sugarcraft: Advanced Bk.2 (Paperback)
very helpfull. and great price it was in really good condition. got some great hints and tips. good for hobby bakers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars useful for a cake decorater, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Useful book with lots of tips, however I found the chapter about making chocolate eggs and bunnies wasted paper as there are so many already made ones in the supermarket everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Returned, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The International School of Sugarcraft: Advanced Bk.2 (Paperback)
I was pleased when I bought Book 1 because it was a way to revise the things I learned at school (a long time ago) and some. Books 2 & 3 were a huge disappointment because they were so old fashioned. I had thought I might keep them and use as reference into the history of sugarcraft but that would be a waste of money. I returned them. My favourite books are 'The Contemporary Cake Decorating Bible' by Lindy Smith, 'The Birthday Cake Book' by Fiona Cairns (who made William & Kate's wedding cake), and '50 Easy Party Cake's' (fantastic for childrens parties). My grandchildren love browsing the last book and so do I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa93057c)

This product

The International School of Sugarcraft: Advanced Bk.2
The International School of Sugarcraft: Advanced Bk.2 by Nicholas Lodge (Paperback - 11 Nov 1998)
11.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews