Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and addictive
I love this book (and its successor the second virago book of fairy tales). It contains fairy tales from all around the world, the common thread being that they are focused on women. Some of them seem familiar - variations on tales we know but with different cultural twists. Some are completely new to me (eg from African and Inuit traditions).
Although you might...
Published on 9 Mar 2004 by Inanna

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what expected
Can't complain at a charge of 1 pence, but surprised at description as 'Very Good' - cover scuffed, paper foxed and strong smell of tobacco or similar!
Published 22 days ago by Ledbury 26


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and addictive, 9 Mar 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virago Book Of Fairy Tales (Paperback)
I love this book (and its successor the second virago book of fairy tales). It contains fairy tales from all around the world, the common thread being that they are focused on women. Some of them seem familiar - variations on tales we know but with different cultural twists. Some are completely new to me (eg from African and Inuit traditions).
Although you might think that a book of fairy tales is for children, I don't think that this one is - many of them are too rude or too gruesome. This one is for grown-ups to savour and delight in. (Since I discovered it, many of my friends have received it as a present).
I placed it in my "smallest room library", as short stories are perfect for that place, and judging by the chuckles and rather-longer-than-usual visits, it has been appreciated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To be re-read many times, 3 Dec 2010
By 
EA Jenkins (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Virago Book Of Fairy Tales (Paperback)
Bawdy, bleak, funny and some happy endings. Not at all what disney had in mind. I have re read them over many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am interested in fairy stories and their cultural references - this collection illustrates that perfectly. My kids love them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was really happy to discover the old edition of this book is still around, as the new edition doesn't seem to be as good (by reading other people's reviews). This book is a little gem. Some of the stories are disturbing, some funny, some moving, but all leave you with something. I particularly loved the language: Carter chose to write up the stories in the closest possible way to how people would tell them in their native languages, and it really works. Fairytale books are usually "polished"and cleansed from sex and violence, whereas these stories feel real and vivid. Really great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what expected, 31 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't complain at a charge of 1 pence, but surprised at description as 'Very Good' - cover scuffed, paper foxed and strong smell of tobacco or similar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adult Fairy Stories !!!, 13 Dec 2007
By 
Marie Butler "dominique595" (united kingdom / Perth Au) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Virago Book Of Fairy Tales (Paperback)
I have just sold this book. I started to read it because it did not look like a normal childrens fairy story book. Wow ! I read three of the tales and almost peed my pants.... I had to force myself to get it wrapped and dispached. I wish now i'd told the guy it was lost and kept it for my self. Whoever buys this book will be in for a great suprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Virago Book Of Fairy Tales
The Virago Book Of Fairy Tales by Angela Carter (Paperback - 24 Oct 1991)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews