Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Punch cartoon
Just what it says cartoons from punch... A good Christmas present for the male who has a quirky seance of humour
Published 7 months ago by anne wylie

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unprofessionally produced
I flipped through this book in a shop, and I'm sorry to say, my impressions weren't good at all. All the subtlety from the pre-seventies colour cover artwork is gone. The editors idea of colour management was to push the saturation in all the channels to the maximum, so that the product can compete with anything sold at Walmart. But they also forgot to check the print...
Published 16 months ago by I.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unprofessionally produced, 15 July 2013
By 
I. (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Punch Cartoons in Colour (Hardcover)
I flipped through this book in a shop, and I'm sorry to say, my impressions weren't good at all. All the subtlety from the pre-seventies colour cover artwork is gone. The editors idea of colour management was to push the saturation in all the channels to the maximum, so that the product can compete with anything sold at Walmart. But they also forgot to check the print proofs, apparently, because the hues are light years away from the original ones. Striking unprofessionalism for a book that claims to focus on the colour aspect. And the slapdash croppings do nothing to make it all look better. I definitely don't feel like buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Punch cartoon, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Punch Cartoons in Colour (Hardcover)
Just what it says cartoons from punch... A good Christmas present for the male who has a quirky seance of humour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punches above its weight!, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Punch Cartoons in Colour (Hardcover)
If you liked Punch then you MUST buy this as it really covers the history of Punch. No more to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Punch Cartoons in Colour (Hardcover)
Very interesting and nostalgic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punchy Humour, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Punch Cartoons in Colour (Hardcover)
This was a present for a special person, who really loves these books, so was a big hit! Highly recommended as a gift, or just for a laugh as a coffee table talking point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent gift for a fan, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Punch Cartoons in Colour (Hardcover)
Lovely to see the cartoons in colour instead of the usual black and white offering and certainly a good gift for a Punch fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The best of Punch Cartoons in colour, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Punch Cartoons in Colour (Hardcover)
A wonderful book and highly recommended. It was as described and arrived within the time scale set.
Purchased as present the illustrations reflected a history of political, social, economic and cultural issues and would add to any collectors library
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Punch Cartoons in Colour
The Best of Punch Cartoons in Colour by Helen Walasek (Hardcover - 13 Sep 2012)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews