Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prion books have got it right at last, 18 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: The Best of the Victor: The Top Boys' Paper for War, Sport and Adventure! (Hardcover)
For me growing up in the 70's Victor had passed its prime but although not an essential weekly purchase was a regular part of my childhood via the annuals and the occasional weekly purchase provided I had any spare money after purchasing Warlord, Action, 2000AD and Marvel's books. Sadly all my British stuff was binned by my Mother during a house move (at least she let me keep my Marvel books I suppose)I do have fond memories of that old British weekly though.

Over the last few years compilation books of old classic British comics have been popping up every now and again with varying levels of success. Whoever was involved in the production of this book seems to of being paying attention to what has been released so far and put right all of the problems those books had. Firstly the stories chosen truly represent the comic and are all engaging reads that not only entertain but make you realise how much times have changed the fact that "Gorgeous Gus" could put together a team of international footballers for 250,000 says it all really on that point. The pages themselves have still got the weathered look but it has thankfully been toned right down for this book and the comic strips themselves are crisp and well transferred. The paper stock used is modern but still manages to have the right feel to it and as a great little bonus you even get a free paper banger glued to the inside cover of the book.

All in all this is an essential purchase for anyone that wants to dabble in a bit of comic based nostalgia. I would love to see Warlord, Action, Tiger and maybe even a few of the even older books like Lion get the same treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant memories, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Best of the Victor: The Top Boys' Paper for War, Sport and Adventure! (Hardcover)
After just turning sixty, this was like a walk down memory lane. It took me back to my early teenage years where you had milkmen and paperboys and once a week the Victor along with The Wizard dropped on the door mat every week. You would start reading at breakfast and carry on at school. With the Tough of the track , Braddock and other stories it took me back to a distant carefree time but has proved timeless as my teenage grandson is now enthrawled in the book. It proves just how good it was in my time and how it has stood the test of time. Can we have the best of the Victor II and possibly the best of the WIZARD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Victor revisited, 26 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of the Victor: The Top Boys' Paper for War, Sport and Adventure! (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful piece of nostalgia, and includes my personal favourite "The Tough of the Track." As a child growing up in the 60s I always looked forward to my weekly dose of the Victor. Granted the artwork isn't on a par with it's American cousins, but the Victor remains a great example of British popular culture. I would recommend anyone interested in British comics to buy this. It's a true classic and I enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Victor Comic, 12 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: The Best of the Victor: The Top Boys' Paper for War, Sport and Adventure! (Hardcover)
An excellent quality produced book that still encompasses that thrill of childhood, of the excitement of recieving the latest comic on a monday morning? all those years ago in the halcyon primary schoolboy days late 1960s and early 70s [at least for me].
Probably one of my biggest childhood upsets was when my mum GAVE away my huge pile of Victors at least three or four years worth during a spring clean when i was at school!.
Would have been great to have read "Killer Kennedy" [my favourite] and a story about two guys [can't remember the name] stuck behind Jap enemy lines who did their best to disrupt and harass the Nips.
But overall 5 out of 5 for the memory return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Retro magic, 7 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. Michael W. Moody (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of the Victor: The Top Boys' Paper for War, Sport and Adventure! (Hardcover)
To someone who grew up in the 60's this book was nostalgia personified.
Some classic stories extolling old values - Gorgeus Gus cleaning up football standards by buying a dirty player and then making him sweep litter off the terraces
Morgyn the Mighty- saving animals by killing off his human opposition, albeit they were trying to hunt him down as well.
Alf Tupper beating off the athletic opposition by running after consuming a bellyfull of fish and chips! But he did not cheat- he run 'em
A great coffe table read. Congratulations to the editorial team who put this together.
Amazon offered bargain prices, a considerable saving on the original cover price.

An ideal gift for sad cases like me who collected all the Victor Annuals!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fly With Braddock, V.C., 12 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Best of the Victor: The Top Boys' Paper for War, Sport and Adventure! (Hardcover)
A brilliant hark back to the good old days, Gorgeous Gus, Braddock V.C., Morgyn the Mighty, there all here and more. Even includes good old fashioned adverts when toys were proper toys. Fantastic trip down memory lane, best Victor of them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Victor memories, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Best of the Victor: The Top Boys' Paper for War, Sport and Adventure! (Hardcover)
This book certainly brought back memories of years gone by.It contained some of the old favourites,Alf Tupper,Braddock, Morgyn the mighty.VICTOR ANNUALS were always put on the christmas present list and I thoroughly recommend this to anyone who wants to revisit their childhood.The stories and adventures are as good as ever you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars victor, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Best of the Victor: The Top Boys' Paper for War, Sport and Adventure! (Hardcover)
The Best of the Victor: The Top Boys' Paper for War, Sport and Adventure!

thank you he was so pleased with this book, took him right back to his youth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cor, Strewth!, 15 Oct 2010
By 
P. Brooks "Peter Brooks" (Manchester, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of the Victor: The Top Boys' Paper for War, Sport and Adventure! (Hardcover)
What jaunt down memory lane this was! Alf Tupper, Cadman and Morgan the Mighty all stirling stuff. Though this will only really appeal to those of a certain age who read The Victor in the 60's & 70's. hence the four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valiant and Hotspur next hopefully, 1 Nov 2010
By 
Michael Jenkins (glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of the Victor: The Top Boys' Paper for War, Sport and Adventure! (Hardcover)
I loved this book, certainly was a trip down memory lane, one criticism I felt there were too many stories featuring Gorgeous Gus, maybe this is my bias as I never really liked him. Hopefully they will do another and axe gus, like Roy of the Rovers he could have a career ending accident falling out of a hot air balloon or some similiar fate.

I hope they release similiar annuals most notably the Valiant and the Hotspur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of the Victor: The Top Boys' Paper for War, Sport and Adventure!
Used & New from: 33.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews