Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps not the best of but......
Swift delivery and a decent price. "Gateway to Hell" is the weaker of the 3 books and frankly not really a "best of". I hadn't read it for many years so it was still worth the read. I hadn't read "To the Devil a Daughter" before having seen the pretty poor "Hammer" film and not realising that it was so loosley based on the book. Thoroughly enjoyed it and wished the film...
Published on 19 Aug. 2011 by StevieM

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Present
This was a present for Christmas. The service was very good, the book arrived very quickly and was not damaged in any way.
Published on 8 Jan. 2013 by Mrs. Karen Hollyhead


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps not the best of but......, 19 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Best of Dennis Wheatley (Hardcover)
Swift delivery and a decent price. "Gateway to Hell" is the weaker of the 3 books and frankly not really a "best of". I hadn't read it for many years so it was still worth the read. I hadn't read "To the Devil a Daughter" before having seen the pretty poor "Hammer" film and not realising that it was so loosley based on the book. Thoroughly enjoyed it and wished the film had stuck to the original story. It would have been so much better.
Finally "The Devil Rides Out" was a nostalgic trip with DW at his best. Allow yourself to be transported back to the mid 20th century and accept the differences in attitude of the characters to that of modern day. You won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable reading, 31 May 2013
By 
K. Prygodzicz (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Dennis Wheatley (Hardcover)
These books contain probably my favourite Wheatley character, the Duc De Richleau, hero of 11 books, and some of Wheatley's best writing. They are exciting and I enjoyed reading them, although that was over forty years ago.

As I remember it, the Duc is a Russian nobleman, with I think French noble connections, who has to flee from Russia during the Russian Revolution. He acquires knowledge of the occult, and in some books he has to fight against satanists on the astral plane. In other books about his adventures there is no occult, eg 'The Golden Spaniard' which involves him in the Spanish Civil War. He is a decent, brave, sympathetic and very likeable character who sometimes has a great romance with a lovely woman.

I have read 27 of Wheatley's 54 fiction books, being both the complete Duc De Richleau and Roger Brook series, and a few others. The ones I haven't read were mostly his one-off books from the 1930's, which my library did not have.

Another great character was Roger Brook, hero of 12 books, who is involved as an English spy in France during the French Revolution and Napoleonic Wars. This character is again brave, decent etc, and often engaged in romantic encounters. The Roger Brook series is generally well written, exciting, and one in which you can learn a lot of background history of the period.

Gregory Sallust was his other main character, a 1930's/40's adventurer in 11 books, but generally this series did not work for me, as I found it impossible to sympathise with the hero.

Overall I found Wheatley's writing variable. In his middle age, I think the quality was excellent. However, often I found his books from the 1930's as feeling old fashioned in structure and tone. Also, I think the quality of his writing declined in his final books.

To get a feel for Wheatley you do have to try reading several different ones, as some feel dated and not all that good.

All I can say is I enjoyed reading every Duc De Richleau book, and looked forward eagerly to getting the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHEATLEY ON KINDLE ??, 11 Mar. 2013
By 
M. B. Doyle "mariana44" (Kent UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Dennis Wheatley (Hardcover)
When will the books of Dennis Wheatley be available on Kindle ? I check out once a month in the Kindle store but still no sign.

He was such a great storyteller, and I would love to read his books again---having read most of them many times in the past.

Come on Amazon--I cannot be the only Dennis Wheatley fan out here !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Book For My Husband, 28 July 2013
By 
J. Francis (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Dennis Wheatley (Hardcover)
He read these books many years ago. I was so pleased to find all three books together, his favourites. He has only just started reading the first book, but is already hooked. He said he could not remember all the details, he is finding it interesting and a good read.
The best part so far, was all the details about Dennis Wheatly's life, which he didn't know. Well worth getting this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best of Dennis Wheatley, 15 Aug. 2013
By 
Ms. P. Brogan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Dennis Wheatley (Hardcover)
I have personally read a lot of this authors books but this one was for a friend and they liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the de4vil rides out-dennis wheatley, 13 Dec. 2011
This review is from: The Best of Dennis Wheatley (Hardcover)
how horrific or occultist is it. best to read during the day or night this book is very interesting rather spooky but couldnt put it down i have ordered another one for my daughter because i know it is right up her street
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Best of Dennis Wheatley (Hardcover)
this was for somebody else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Dennis Wheatley (Hardcover)
good service and value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Present, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Dennis Wheatley (Hardcover)
This was a present for Christmas. The service was very good, the book arrived very quickly and was not damaged in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Dennis Wheatley (Hardcover)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Dennis Wheatley
The Best of Dennis Wheatley by Dennis Wheatley (Hardcover - 12 May 2011)
£18.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews