Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming and informative
The book gives a concise and fascinating guide to the history and varieties of English dress styles. Moreover, it is able deeply point out the classic nature of traditional dress, which does not fail to resound in the hearts of every traditional (if slightly eccentric in some cases) heart.
Although the book does give very helpful details on consistency and possible...
Published on 24 Jan. 2004 by Man

versus
44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only really useful if you want the history of men's dress
What I was hoping for was some tips on what to wear with what and perhaps more importantly, what NOT to wear. However, what I got from this book was primarily (as one of the other reviews says) a history of where jackets, ties and so on came from. Very interesting in itself but not what I wanted or thought I was getting. To be fair there are a few tips of the type I...
Published on 29 July 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only really useful if you want the history of men's dress, 29 July 2001
By A Customer
What I was hoping for was some tips on what to wear with what and perhaps more importantly, what NOT to wear. However, what I got from this book was primarily (as one of the other reviews says) a history of where jackets, ties and so on came from. Very interesting in itself but not what I wanted or thought I was getting. To be fair there are a few tips of the type I sought at the end of each chapter but they are few and limited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming and informative, 24 Jan. 2004
The book gives a concise and fascinating guide to the history and varieties of English dress styles. Moreover, it is able deeply point out the classic nature of traditional dress, which does not fail to resound in the hearts of every traditional (if slightly eccentric in some cases) heart.
Although the book does give very helpful details on consistency and possible faux-pas, it does NOT act as a substitute for style or taste. It merely points out possibilities for the self-selecting wearer. If you are looking for what tee-shirts will suit your jeans and trainers, you will not find it here. Thank Goodness!
This having been said, the book fails to mention cravats, and mentions only scanty details of the Peacock Revolution.
I came across this book whilst looking for some points on waistcoats, and was delighted the whimsical world which I discovered to exist in some peoples' wardrobes. I shall be buying a bowler hat next Monday.
Indispensible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensible guide for smart chaps., 15 Oct. 2001
By 
red_monkey - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nifty little gem of a book that sets us chaps straight on matters of sartorial elegance. The book could be a tad bigger and more detailed, but then it wouldn't be a pocket guide would it! Should you wear a half-brogue or a full brogue? How do I fold my pocket hanky? Cuff-links or buttons? Tweeds or linens? But just remember chaps, a real gent must never unfurl his umbrella. If it's raining, an umbrella serves as the ideal impliment to hail a cab with. Toodle-pip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceedingly useful, 4 Jan. 1999
By A Customer
If you are attempting to gain knowledge of any aspects of correct British Dress and the history behind it, then look no further. The book is written with a dry wit and attention to detail, as important to have in your wardrobe as the clothes themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointed, 26 Oct. 2010
This review is from: A Well-dressed Gentleman's Pocket Guide (Hardcover)
I was expecting something more practical and less history. There is very little recommendation about what is appropriate to wear on different occasions or venues, in the book.

My conclusion is that the book is valuable, but the advertisement does not reflect it's nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Men's style made easy, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Well-dressed Gentleman's Pocket Guide (Hardcover)
Bought this for a mate, it was more a novelty gift as I am a bit eccentric. All joking aside it is a great pocket guide forums men who have a lot of pressure on us to make sure we are properly attired for any event. Since most of us don't have our own butlers to make sure our wardrobes are taken care of this is a great guide to keep us properly informed for when we might have a special event to attend. It has guides for all kinds of things from suits, to shoes, to bow ties to pocket squares. With this book we men are always in the know style wise. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for real gentlemen., 27 April 2001
By 
Martin P. O'Keefe (London, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is perfect if you want to know how one should dress exactly. It is perhaps a little old-fashioned, but it is also highly informative. Indispensable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aw, Man, 26 Sept. 2009
This review is from: A Well-dressed Gentleman's Pocket Guide (Hardcover)
Obviously dated. A guide for gentlemen in an age of chavs and designer wannabes? You won't find any advice here about what to wear with that gaudy pair of Cavalli trousers or your new blingy D&G shirt. Instead this book instructs on the "proper" way to wear clothes, pointers about what quality material to purchase as well as being a great source of the history of clothing. Above all, Oscar Lenius is a snooty wit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Well-dressed Gentleman's Pocket Guide
A Well-dressed Gentleman's Pocket Guide by Oscar Lenius (Hardcover - 2 May 2006)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews