Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


430 of 437 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stylish advice
I’ve read a lot of style books – most of them aimed at the American market that somehow falls a little flat when translated to British tastes and sensibilities. Or those geared towards teaching you how to be chic in the French way (a little like wearing ballet slippers and thinking you’ll get mistaken for a ballet dancer). So it was very refreshing to...
Published on 8 Nov 2003

versus
39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice presentation, advice a bit lacking
In general this would be a nice and fun book to receive as a gift and the photos are those lovely black and white nostalgic feeling ones but I found the advice a bit stilted and not really very helpful. I also thought it was aimed at people a little older who really wanted to look 'classic' rather than just stylish(though Ive no doubt the tips are great if...
Published on 14 Feb 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

430 of 437 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stylish advice, 8 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Things a Woman Should Know About Style (Hardcover)
I’ve read a lot of style books – most of them aimed at the American market that somehow falls a little flat when translated to British tastes and sensibilities. Or those geared towards teaching you how to be chic in the French way (a little like wearing ballet slippers and thinking you’ll get mistaken for a ballet dancer). So it was very refreshing to find this total gem on a book. While What Not to Wear is great for telling you exactly that, this book tells you about the little (and big) details that add gloss to your choices. Don’t be put off by its gift-book size because it’s not a read-once thing you digest in one go, but refer to again and again. It’s categorised under Style/Humour which is also misleading, because while it is funny, it is infinitely more stylish. It’s aimed at the early 30s woman who is trying to get rid of the 20s casual style that doesn’t sit well any more, and who definitely doesn’t want to dress older than her age. It tells you what your choices say about you. Similar books sometimes sound suspiciously like a long magazine article, rehashing advice you’ve vaguely heard before and making you feel slightly cheated at having bought the book in the first place. But I found this to be a comforting read – its rules and tips are a relief when you’re bombarded with so many images of what it fantastic, hot, ‘now’ . . . and you don’t quite know how to make sense of any of it. It covers everything regarding appearance, from your shoes up to your makeup and how/what to pack and how to take care of your clothes. I’m not a fashion novice nor a strident fashion follower, and to me, this book hit just the right note. Never patronising, but simply wise, succint and charming. I expect to keep it for a very long time indeed. Highly, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice presentation, advice a bit lacking, 14 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Things a Woman Should Know About Style (Hardcover)
In general this would be a nice and fun book to receive as a gift and the photos are those lovely black and white nostalgic feeling ones but I found the advice a bit stilted and not really very helpful. I also thought it was aimed at people a little older who really wanted to look 'classic' rather than just stylish(though Ive no doubt the tips are great if that's your aim). Its quite a short book and I think now Ive read it (in about one evening) it will sit on the shelf before I give it away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anti-fashion, Pro-classic style, 1 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Things a Woman Should Know About Style (Hardcover)
The overall ethos of this is to buy expensive clothes that will last and not be a slave to fashion.
On the plus, this is a quick read which does hold your attention till the end, makes some good points and flows well. I like the tips on how to tell whether a garment fits. On the downside, this book is aimed at pearls and twinset types and is very anti-fashion. The author is also a complete snob, very smug and pretentious but don't let that put u off- it's bit like listening to someone's grandmother. I also feel it's over-priced for its content. I'm glad I got it on Ebay.
If you like to play it safe and don't want to stand out in a crowd but still want to look groomed this is for you- its very Jeniffer Aniston/Katie Holmes/Charlotte from Sex and the City.If you're more Kate Moss/Sienna Miller/Carrie Bradshaw then by all means read it but don't listen to the advice till you're about 50!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst style book every bought, waste of money, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Things a Woman Should Know About Style (Hardcover)
Not much to ready, advices given in the book are mainly common sense. Very disappointed. It suggests only buy designer brands because they last longer. Totally disagree! You can still buy high street garments which will last you for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Gift, 5 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Things a Woman Should Know About Style (Hardcover)
This book was bought as a gift for christmas as it was on someones wish list, a far as I know they are well pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every woman should have one, 7 Jun 2010
This review is from: Things a Woman Should Know About Style (Hardcover)
A little tongue in cheek, a little controversial maybe - comical also and a very good book for keeping in the toilet so you can read a page at a time then put it down. Like life, don't take it too seriously. I loved every page! I bought a copy for my daugher too.....who also likes wearing her Birkenstocks!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an OK quick read, 2 Aug 2009
This review is from: Things a Woman Should Know About Style (Hardcover)
This book was o.k. it didn't tell me anything new and was very much geared for the American market (examples of U.S. brands were given)
It was good at giving you little tips and hints and that's what this book is, a snapshot of different types of clothes you will wear and how to make yourself look half decent in them. Shame there are not that many pictures to illustrate the advice the book gives as it leaves it all open to interpretation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, 25 Mar 2009
By 
Grazia (Perugia, Italy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Things a Woman Should Know About Style (Hardcover)
I bought this book looking for new perspectives on style. Actually nothig new comes out of this book, especially for the European reader. Sometimes pictures can tell more then words in this field, but this was also not the case.. For beginners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Things a Woman Should Know About Style (Hardcover)
If you are into fashion or have an interest in appearance, you will like this. Dont make this as gospel for your wardrobe just for inspiration. Best of all, Audrey Hepburn as Holly Golightly on the cover is an icon for fashion not just in the past for the present as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !!!, 5 Dec 2012
By 
Susan Cheslin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Things a Woman Should Know About Style (Hardcover)
A good little pocket book full of tips and advice on style and fashion. It says more about classic styles than anything else !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Things a Woman Should Know About Style
Things a Woman Should Know About Style by Karen Homer (Hardcover - 3 Nov 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews