Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kepp smiling
Since I'm not an Englishman, but I have many Englsh friends, gentlemen, of course, I recognice everything, as well the English, as the Swedish gentleman. And my two(!) black labradors !
There is only one thing that's wrong with this book.
It's to short, I have to ration the reading, no more than two chapters each night, because it's a book you don't want to...
Published on 14 Feb. 2009 by docM

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book
Disappointing - can be read in an hour, which is probably how long it took to write!
Published on 5 May 2009 by M. J. Waite


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kepp smiling, 14 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The English Gentleman (Prion Humour Classics) (Hardcover)
Since I'm not an Englishman, but I have many Englsh friends, gentlemen, of course, I recognice everything, as well the English, as the Swedish gentleman. And my two(!) black labradors !
There is only one thing that's wrong with this book.
It's to short, I have to ration the reading, no more than two chapters each night, because it's a book you don't want to finish!
Very funny, and lot's of understatements!
Buy it, you will not regret it!
Doc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a true classic, 18 Oct. 2006
By 
Tobin (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The English Gentleman (Prion Humour Classics) (Hardcover)
I had a copy of this years ago and remembered it fondly (after having lent it out and not had it returned). Replaced and read again it lived up to the memory and is I believe a true classic recording, wittily and so true, the ways of a certain 'osaurs generation that is now, thankfully perhaps, all but extinct. It is not a book of 'how to be' more a study of particular and peculiar habits and behaviours; nobody should really want to be anything very much like the creature portrayed and concern for self-improvement, manners, etiquette or 'getting-on' play little part in the ways the beasts in question perform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift idea, 29 Jan. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The English Gentleman (Prion Humour Classics) (Hardcover)
This almost pocket size book provides a tongue in cheek insight to the life of the upper class English gent. It isn't a book you would read from cover to cover but makes a great coffee table book that will make you laugh out loud. I purchased it as a gift and both the recipient and I were very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny book for a gentleman., 7 Jan. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The English Gentleman (Prion Humour Classics) (Hardcover)
To really appreciate this book you will need to live the life of a true gentleman, or know how the other half live!

Great book with lots of short snippets. Great if you don't have a lot of time for long chapters.

The book looks at the funny side of day to day life of the gentleman and has lots of great anecdotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you upper class?, 1 April 2001
By 
adamstab@yahoo.com (Peterborough England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The English Gentleman (Prion Humour Classics) (Hardcover)
This book will help any one who would like to become a gentleman. It is written in a very funny way, I fount the book a very easy read with funny drawings. If you would like to know what sort of dog to buy or what sort of clothing you need to become an English gent then buy and read on. or a small present for the want to be snob.
You will not be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JEEVES WOULD FIND THIS BOOK A HOOT!, 13 Nov. 2007
By 
M. Drake - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The English Gentleman (Prion Humour Classics) (Hardcover)
Find out how the other half used to live when a gentlemen`s personal gentlemen was the norm and the conventions of society were followed to the letter, in a series of revealing and amusimg anecodotes -a spiffingly good read!

Mick Drake - author of the comic novel All`s Well at Wellwithoute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book, 5 May 2009
By 
M. J. Waite (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The English Gentleman (Prion Humour Classics) (Hardcover)
Disappointing - can be read in an hour, which is probably how long it took to write!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The English Gentleman (Prion Humour Classics)
The English Gentleman (Prion Humour Classics) by Douglas Sutherland (Hardcover - 13 Mar. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews