Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - Photos, Recipes and Text to Inspire
Turning the clock back - this is a brilliant book. Packed full of old fashioned recipes that bring a fresh appeal to this age of instant everything. It's not just about recipes that contain sloe gin or beeswax. There is everything - eau de cologne (did you know you can make eau de cologne so simply and did you know it contains Vodka??!!!), leather polish, candied fruits,...
Published on 2 July 2001 by Sandra

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The past through rose-tinted spectacles
Let's not be unfair, this is a beautiful, lavishly illustrated book, the ideal "Ye Olde Gifte" for someone romantic and nostalgic, who enjoys watching "Lark Rise to Candleford". The photos are cleverly constructed and arty, they create a mood, and the colour schemes are rather delicious. So much for the icing.

The cake, however, is insubstantial. Instead of the...
Published on 11 Jan 2011 by Peasant


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - Photos, Recipes and Text to Inspire, 2 July 2001
By 
Sandra (Nr Langholm, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sloe Gin and Beeswax (Paperback)
Turning the clock back - this is a brilliant book. Packed full of old fashioned recipes that bring a fresh appeal to this age of instant everything. It's not just about recipes that contain sloe gin or beeswax. There is everything - eau de cologne (did you know you can make eau de cologne so simply and did you know it contains Vodka??!!!), leather polish, candied fruits, pot pourri, pickled rose petals. Wonderful, inspiring, imaginative book. The photographs are outstanding too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Step back into the past, 7 Dec 2006
This review is from: Sloe Gin and Beeswax (Paperback)
Remember all grannys little hints and tips well they,re in here.Every thing from real furniture polish to face cream to bottled fruit to herbal remedies. If you are sick of everything commercial and chemical try this its a treasure trove for people who want a little ore control over what products go into their homes and bodies and the recipies are easy to. just like granny said they were
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rediscovered this book, 16 Dec 2013
This review is from: Sloe Gin and Beeswax (Paperback)
I actually bought this book years ago while in England visiting one of the lovely manor houses. I had forgotten about it and rediscovered it this year while looking for some recipes to utilize my garden produce. The recipes are unusual and my friends have been asking for the source and recipes. The helpful hints are great - many that in the modern world, we have forgotten how simple they can be.

I recommend anyone that has a garden purchase this book. You will not regret it with the bountiful recipes and seasonal ideas that all will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The past through rose-tinted spectacles, 11 Jan 2011
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sloe Gin and Beeswax (Hardcover)
Let's not be unfair, this is a beautiful, lavishly illustrated book, the ideal "Ye Olde Gifte" for someone romantic and nostalgic, who enjoys watching "Lark Rise to Candleford". The photos are cleverly constructed and arty, they create a mood, and the colour schemes are rather delicious. So much for the icing.

The cake, however, is insubstantial. Instead of the rich, fruity texture of granny's fruit loaf it is a bit of a Mr Kipling sponge. There are a relatively small number of recipes and quite a lot of blather. One of the other reviewers is surprised to discover that Eau de Cologne contains vodka - that would be because it doesn't, it contains denatured spirit, a specialist kind of odourless alcohol you won't find on the supermarket shelves.

I confess I haven't tried out the recipes and it may be that they are all fine. But as a guide to traditional remedies, recipes and preparations it is a triumph of style over substance. Nice to browse through on a wet day, but a bit too much like being locked overnight in a National Trust shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sloe Gin and Beeswax, 14 Feb 2010
By 
L. J. Bain "bibliophile" (australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sloe Gin and Beeswax (Paperback)
The name says it all. This book takes you on a journey redolant of the English seasons, with recipes to tempt the fussiest person. Conserves, chutneys, breads and handlotions galore - a wonderful investment for the person committed to making the most wonderful food from their garden, and wildfood gathered on rambles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazingingly informative, 11 Dec 2010
This review is from: Sloe Gin and Beeswax (Hardcover)
This book is so informative. It has some wonderful recipes and also contains solutions to things I never knew I needed to know (e.g. how to clean the inside of decanters; pickle rose petals or gillyflowers; box leaf hair tonic are among only a few). This is a book I am so pleased to have for all sorts of reasons. On a more serious note it does also contain some really good recipes that I have not found anywhere else. Once ordered this book arrived in excellent condition and the packaging was very good and protected the book through all the vagueries of the postal service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2233e4c)

This product

Sloe Gin and Beeswax
Sloe Gin and Beeswax by Jane Newdick (Paperback - 1 May 1998)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews