Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It began in Linz...
So much of what is taken and accepted as "FACT" about Adolf Hitler is full of inconsistencies and assumption. It has been my experience that the public will readily swallow whatever they are fed about Hitler without giving so much as a second thought as to whether or not it is accurate. I wish I could be indifferent to this and take a neutral stance, but I cannot. I...
Published on 15 Aug. 2003 by anna

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AVOID! A FALSE TRANSLATION AND INCOMPLETE EDITION!
It is stated on the rear of this edition that it is the first complete English translation. This is a lie. Furthermore, Ian Kershaw's introduction is packed with the usual unsubstantiated anti-Hitler political rhetoric (that which has made him so rich over the years) and the language in this limited translation is much more vague (in much the saem way as the Manheim...
Published on 1 Jun. 2012 by TroyofHellen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It began in Linz..., 15 Aug. 2003
By 
anna (Vienna, Austria) - See all my reviews
So much of what is taken and accepted as "FACT" about Adolf Hitler is full of inconsistencies and assumption. It has been my experience that the public will readily swallow whatever they are fed about Hitler without giving so much as a second thought as to whether or not it is accurate. I wish I could be indifferent to this and take a neutral stance, but I cannot. I have dedicated six years of my life to studying that of Hitler, and it pains me to witness the widespread ignorance displayed by the majority whenever his name is mentioned.
This is why this book is so important to me. It is by far the best ever written about his young adulthood and, in short, who he really was as a person, an individual; for in order to begin to grasp who Hitler was, one must look into his past.
During the years the two spent together in Linz and later in Vienna, young Adolf was already developing into who he would later become. For getting a deeper perspective of the true nature of Adolf Hitler, August Kubizek is, in my humble opinion, the most reliable source for insight into this complicated human being. No one knew Hitler more intimately than he did. He was also reunited with his old friend three decades after their ways parted in Vienna, and thus gives valuable insight regarding "Adolf Hitler, the Führer". And, as Kubizek remarked, "Hitler didn't change."
The words Kubizek uses to describe his young friend convey the image of a deep, passionate, gifted and serious young man who, due to his great obsession with changing the world around him, did not enjoy his youth in any traditional sense. Kubizek did his friend a great service by writing this book. It is required reading for all serious students of Hitler's incredible life, for it is an honest, first-hand account of the young starving artist, open and unbiased--unlike any other book ever to tackle the subject.
Kubizek was, I am convinced, a good man who had nothing to gain and everything to lose by publishing the truth about Adolf Hitler's character and showing the world his "human" side, because the world after the war (and even today) was not interested in the truth. So many were then and still are content to write Hitler off as the embodiment of all evil, to reject his humanity. .
Kubizek’s book, although published over 50 years ago, shines like a beacon among so many lesser works -- written by those who had never so much as spoken to their subject -- countering all the blindness and ignorance that those looking to criticize Hitler can dish out by, in turn, showing us the other side of who Adolf Hitler was: the poet, the dreamer, the visionary, the artist, the son, the brother, and the friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AVOID! A FALSE TRANSLATION AND INCOMPLETE EDITION!, 1 Jun. 2012
By 
TroyofHellen (Ayrshire, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Young Hitler I Knew (Hardcover)
It is stated on the rear of this edition that it is the first complete English translation. This is a lie. Furthermore, Ian Kershaw's introduction is packed with the usual unsubstantiated anti-Hitler political rhetoric (that which has made him so rich over the years) and the language in this limited translation is much more vague (in much the saem way as the Manheim translation of Mein Kampf is more vague and `wandering' in comparison to the superior Murphy translation). Instead, I urge others to try to locate the ORIGINAL English language translation with the introduction by Hugh Trevor-Roper (himself no pro-National Socialist to say the least, contributing an introductino in that edition arguable more ridiculous than Kershaw's - hard as that is to beleive). Anyway, from that edition, missing from this 2006 Leventhal translation, here is the ACTUAL ending of this book:

"It was only just in time as the very next day I was arrested and held for sixteen months in the notorious detention camp of Glasenbach. Naturally, an intensive search was made during my absence for the Hitler papers, but with no success. In the beginning I was often questioned, first in Eferding, then in Gmunden. These interrogations all ran on the same lines; something like:

"You are a friend of Adolf Hitler's?"
"Yes."
"Since when?"
"Since 1904."
"What do you mean by that? At that time he was nobody."
"Nevertheless, I was his friend."
"How could you be his friend when he was still a nobody?"
An American officer of the Central Intelligence Corps asked: "So you are a friend of Adolf Hitler's. What did you get out of it?"
"Nothing."
"But you admit that you were his friend. Did he give you money?"
"No."
"Or food?"
"Neither."
"A car, a house?"
"Not that either."
"Did he introduce you to beautiful women?"
"Nor that."
"Did he receive you again, later on?"
"Yes."
"Did you see him often?"
"Occasionally."
"How did you manage to see him?"
"I just went to him."
"So you were with him. Really? Quite close?"
"Yes, quite close."
"Alone?"
"Alone."
"Without any guard?"
"Without any guard."
"So you could have killed him?"
"Yes, I could have."
"And why didn't you kill him?"

"Because he was my friend."

THE (real) END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars difficult to judge, 19 Mar. 2013
By 
C. Nielsen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was written over period of two times in the authors life. Some in the 1930s and some in the 1950s. Some of the stories seem a bit strange; The story of Hitlers "Mountain" sermon (In that hour it began) is worthy of Joseph Göebbels and Leni Riefenstahl, the story about seeking shelter from foul weather in a barn reads like a Heimat film scene and the whole Stefanie business is certainly strange as the woman in question knew virtually nothing af Hitlers existence, a fact which has been confirmed by historians after the war. Kubizek himself states this in the book.
Having said this, I do think this book offers some insight into the life of Hitler at this time. Kubizeks observations are of daily life in general and he does not attempt to portray himself as an all knowing, "I saw the future!" kind of person, as he neither expresses great support for nor great fear of Hitler.
It is a boook worth reading, but for a detailed account of Hitlers life 1889 to 1914 i recommend Brigitte Hamanns book Hitler's Vienna, which gives an excellent in depth acccount of Hitlers life, the places he lived and the society in which he found himself between 1889 and 1914
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not very interesting for some reason, 16 Oct. 2014
Couldn't wade through the whole thing - old fashioned and apologetic but not enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars loony from lintz, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
shows that hitler was a nutter from the day of his birth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a strange boy, 26 Mar. 2010
By 
Carlos Vazquez Quintana "cvq" (Linares- Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Young Hitler I Knew (Hardcover)
This is a rather favorable biography written by a musician and Austrian from Linz, which by hazard knew a friend about 16 years old. That friend was Adolf Hitler. This is I think a tendentious biography, but even so, has some interest, and one can get the following conclusions, having in count Hitler at that time was just a boy who still had not knew WW I. For me at least, Hitler (whose original surname was Heidler, that he disliked), was an great idealist type. He only liked art and the German people as he believed that things should be. Hitler, it is clear, wasn't absolutely interested in common life as food, drink or sex, and a little in money. This book tells a love affair, but absolutely ridiculous for his lack of social or physical relationship with a girl, something own of people with the mind in another world. You can judge this as something that can happen once to every teenager, but later, the author explains how in Vienna were many women, that, owing the climate of decadence, offered easily. Hitler never used these opportunities.
On the other hand, although Hitler loved art until be absorbed, he was not an artist, by lack of talent for making artworks. His admired Wagner, Fichte, Schopenhauer, Nietzsche, etc, all had been artists, but also had lived her life with her lovers and women with more or less success. Hitler admired them, but he was unable to create something original and love. Furthermore, the book is not very revealing, but outlines the personality - if not of a madman, yes of someone deeply disturbed.
Hitler father an mother are characters badly designed, shown mostly as vulgar, religious catholic persons, but the author isn't a professional of the mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Young Hitler I Knew
The Young Hitler I Knew by August Kubizek (Hardcover - 15 July 2006)
Used & New from: £1.71
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews