Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars25
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£20.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 October 2010
Buy this book! Pie Corbett has written another book aimed at teaching fiction writing to pupils in KS1. I bought the KS1 book first. In both books, the text is well organised and practical to use. Pie Corbett writes about teaching the key aspects of story writing in a simple but inspiring way. Now, I plan and teach story writing with confidence, enthusiasm and enjoyment. It works and the pupils get it!
0Comment24 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
My child needed to improve their writing skills, after some searching there were no decent books for improving writing. Then I came upon this, it has excellent ideas to make writing interesting, lots of hint and tips, as well as various exercises for completion. My child has really enjoyed using this at home and has even recognised some which have been used at school.

The book is broken down as follows:

Capturing stories
Characterisation
Settings
Openings
Paragraphing
Style
Types of story

Overall this has been highly engaging and an excellent buy.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2012
This is a very useful primary resource for teaching literacy. There are some excellent workshop ideas.
I have already tried some of the things in here with my class and had some fabulous results.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
Superb: inspiring content, clearly written; has transformed my teaching of short story writing
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
Really good ideas. Can be used with any age and any ability range.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
Very interesting strategy for teaching fiction writing to Key Stage 2 pupils. Great tool for student teachers on placements and fully qualified teachers
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
Pie Corbett is a guru when it comes to teaching children how to write. This book is a very useful resource for any KS2 teacher to have on their shelf.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2009
The book has really useful ideas and guides for teaching fictional writing at ks 2 level. Will be much used.
0Comment10 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
A useful tool to support the teaching of narrative. Full of good ideas to encourage creativity and support children with their writing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
We use this to teach fiction writing and it is an excellent tool. It is well worth purchasing as it gives you lots sof direction.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse