Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Requires a long term commitment but is worth the effort.
There are a variety of books out there to give you an overview of the Bible or to lead you through reading the whole bible over a period of time. The way in which this one differs from others is that it takes you through the Bible in chronological order. This is great in getting a feel for the entire Bible because if you just read it from front to back it's a little...
Published on 16 Nov 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very useful reference resource
Cover to Cover
This is a great Bible reading plan to follow. However, the Cover to Cover Complete is one that I would stongly recommend for purchase, Cover to Cover Complete: Through the Bible as It Happened
Published on 29 Nov 2010 by Mrs. Jayshree Pearce


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Requires a long term commitment but is worth the effort., 16 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cover to Cover (Hardcover)
There are a variety of books out there to give you an overview of the Bible or to lead you through reading the whole bible over a period of time. The way in which this one differs from others is that it takes you through the Bible in chronological order. This is great in getting a feel for the entire Bible because if you just read it from front to back it's a little disjointed, a lot more so in the Old Testament. This will lead you to read what the various prophets were saying during specific parts of the Israelites history.
This aims to lead you through the Bible over the period of a year (be careful though because they've done it for a leap year i.e. 366 days). There is a fair amount to read each day and I found depending on how much I pondered on each reading, how easy it was to read I could be spending anywhere between 30mins to 1 hour each day, normally more towards the latter. Of course you can decide that you're not to bothered to complete it within a year or that you only want to cover the Old/New Testament over the year. So there's a fair time commitment here but in my opinion it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cover to Cover - So Far So Good, 27 Jan 2010
By 
M. D. Myrie "Abigail" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cover to Cover through the Bible (Paperback)
Seeing that this book is a 365-day read, I am only 27 days into reading it. So far, it really is an excellent bible study. If you don't mind jumping around the books, it is a fascinating insight into creation and how the generations evolved during biblical times. For a new Christian, it is ideal for putting the Old and New Testaments into context and applying its 'principles' to your everyday life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very useful reference resource, 29 Nov 2010
By 
Mrs. Jayshree Pearce (Northants UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cover to Cover (Hardcover)
Cover to Cover
This is a great Bible reading plan to follow. However, the Cover to Cover Complete is one that I would stongly recommend for purchase, Cover to Cover Complete: Through the Bible as It Happened
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant way to read the Bible, 8 Feb 2009
This review is from: Cover to Cover through the Bible (Paperback)
A great way to read thyrough the Bible in a year chronologically...as things happened! helps you to fit people & places together & see who was alive when. i thoroughly enoyed it. It also helped me to find my way around the Bible. If you don't like flitting around you won't like this one, i suggest you buy the version where the Bible is included rather than references!! Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading subtitle, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cover to Cover through the Bible (Paperback)
I was fooled by the caption "... chronological reading..." It does chop the bible up into pieces and puts together parts of a story which in the usual collection of books which form the bible are in their separate book. Having said that, it stupidly chops up things like psalms so the whole poetry of the piece is lost and the fact that this is a reflection or commentary on the event is hidden or negated. Similarly with parts of the New Testament being mixed into the OT. Unfortunately it uses the Holman Standard Bible, which is both very American and translated with an eye to a specific theology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent service, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cover to Cover through the Bible (Paperback)
have read this book myself - this is for a present. It is a brilliant way of reading through the Bible which would be too hard on ones own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Description does not match, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cover to Cover through the Bible (Paperback)
I thought this book would have the same readings as the hard cover. I was very dissapointed to see that there ia one page for each day of the year. Very dissatisfied!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bible study material, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Ian Hulley "ianh" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cover to Cover through the Bible (Paperback)
I am happy with the bible study information provided in this book. As it was second hand it wavy cheap,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I thought it would be., 31 Mar 2011
This review is from: Cover to Cover through the Bible (Paperback)
I bought this to help me read through the bible in a year but its not quite that simple. It only uses references to verses and books and gives you a lot of reading to do in one day. With no real explanation of whats happening and how to interpret what each passage means. To me it felt like I might as well of just started reading my bible everyday because it was no different. No help to me at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bible study, 5 Aug 2010
By 
M. MacDonald (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cover to Cover through the Bible (Paperback)
Great book for getting me to read the bible. Daily readings are not too big, laid out well with helpful illistrations. Would recommend it to anyone who, like me doesnt know how to tackle reading the bible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cover to Cover through the Bible
Cover to Cover through the Bible by Selwyn Hughes (Paperback - 31 Jan 1999)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews