Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading
This was easy to read and at times seemed to be stating the obvious, but the techniques suggested, for talking to your teen, were very subtle - and actually worked!! I think the basic idea is 'treat others as you would like to be treated yourself' and it seems that parents aren't particularly good at this when it comes to their teenage children. The examples were maybe a...
Published on 1 Nov 2009 by A. Ryland

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to stop you going mad
This book was suggested to me by the school nurse. My teenage son is not only driving me crazy at home but is also getting into hot water at school. The book has some helpful tips and it is really easy to read. There are cartoon strips that act out typical scenarios and make an easy reference point. I haven't finished the book yet but I have seen some good results with...
Published on 23 Aug 2010 by R. Schutt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 1 Nov 2009
By 
A. Ryland (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Talk So Teens Will Listen and Listen So Teens Will Talk (Paperback)
This was easy to read and at times seemed to be stating the obvious, but the techniques suggested, for talking to your teen, were very subtle - and actually worked!! I think the basic idea is 'treat others as you would like to be treated yourself' and it seems that parents aren't particularly good at this when it comes to their teenage children. The examples were maybe a bit unrealistic but the idea of talking to your teen in such a way, that they realize for themselves why their behavior is unacceptable, is actually very good - it encourages the teen to think for themselves and take responsibility for their behavior. More importantly, as your teen sees that you are listening to them and not just dismissing their opinions etc, they really do open up you. Whether or not your teenage child is difficult to live with, or not, this is worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on teens I have yet met, 2 Jun 2009
By 
Tess N (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Talk So Teens Will Listen and Listen So Teens Will Talk (Paperback)
I had found the "How to talk so kids..." book by the same authors helpful, so thought I would give this one a try. It is really readable, and has lots of useful ideas in it. I like the combination of text and cartoons, as it seem to make it more memorable. I read it straight through in one sitting as soon as it arrived. Then I lent it to a friend who has already read it twice and now bought her own copy! So that means I can re-read mine, which I plan to do. It is so helpful to have a fresh point of view to get one out of the old dysfunctional patterns of communication (or not as the case may be!) with one's children - and also with other adults. I definitely recommend this book. (by Tess N)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This has helped so much, 11 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Talk So Teens Will Listen and Listen So Teens Will Talk (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this book, I would recommend this for anyone who comes into contact with children of any age. Within days of picking up this book I have been able to speak to my daughter with much better understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful, 28 May 2012
By 
Princess Mononoke (Lancs, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Talk So Teens Will Listen and Listen So Teens Will Talk (Paperback)
I found this really helpful as it made me understand how teenagers think, and I began to realize that if I wanted to change my daughter's behaviour I had to rethink the way I communicated with her. It's taken time but the methods in this book have really helped us to communicate and our relationship has improved greatly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great guide for parents of teenagers, 20 Jun 2012
By 
C. J. Hartridge (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Talk So Teens Will Listen and Listen So Teens Will Talk (Paperback)
This is a well written, light hearted way to get some really good tips and tools over to parents of kids of 12 upwards. Its written in such a way that makes the advice easy to absorb and digest. The title says it all, it gives great practical advice in helping you avoid conflict whilst still getting your message accross, at an time when your kids are beyond the age where you can still simply tell them what to do. What more can I say except I highly reccomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD FOR TEENS TOO, 1 Aug 2010
By 
S. Griffiths "SMG" (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Talk So Teens Will Listen and Listen So Teens Will Talk (Paperback)
Best thing about this book is I have caught my teen reading it a couple of times ... well, the cartoons anyway! It has certainly helped to get discussions started and I think my son appreciates we are trying to communicate with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for anyone who deals with teens!, 15 Aug 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Talk So Teens Will Listen and Listen So Teens Will Talk (Paperback)
This book should be made compulsory for every teacher in training and mailed to every parent. It is worth its weight in gold. Check out the other titles which are equally as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to Talk So Teens Will Listen and Listen So Teens Will Talk, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Talk So Teens Will Listen and Listen So Teens Will Talk (Paperback)
As an educator & mother to 2 teenagers I found this practical book very useful. The principles outlined are user friendly, sensible & work. All you need is the self-discipline to follw them. Highly recommended for all parents (& for relationships in general).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This a good book, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Talk So Teens Will Listen and Listen So Teens Will Talk (Paperback)
I refer to this book constantly when working with parents of teens. It gives them a framework to hang the way they are with thier teen. It is a bit american though, but you have to see through this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Book in the Series!, 30 May 2010
This review is from: How to Talk So Teens Will Listen and Listen So Teens Will Talk (Paperback)
A really well thought out and helpful book, that you can dip in & out of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Talk So Teens Will Listen and Listen So Teens Will Talk
How to Talk So Teens Will Listen and Listen So Teens Will Talk by Elaine Mazlish (Paperback - 28 July 2006)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews