Customer Reviews


445 Reviews
5 star:
 (325)
4 star:
 (81)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb collection of short stories
Once you have read just one of the Sherlock Holmes stories you will want to read them all.
"The original illustrated Strand Sherlock Holmes" has the 4 novels and all 56 short stories complete with the original Strand Magazine illustrations by Sidney Paget and others. Sidney Paget created the famous deerstalker hat. The hat and pipe are instantly...
Published on 9 Sep 2000

versus
419 of 441 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother!
There are no illustrations but that is not the main problem. The main problem is the Americanisation. These books are classics but they have been mangled for the American market. Wherever there should be a reference to brandy it has been changed to whiskey and soda, bacon and eggs has become ham and eggs plus all the appalling American spellings. Can't they leave anything...
Published on 11 Mar 2012 by Amanda Nottingham


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb collection of short stories, 9 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Stories (Wordsworth Special Editions) (Paperback)
Once you have read just one of the Sherlock Holmes stories you will want to read them all.
"The original illustrated Strand Sherlock Holmes" has the 4 novels and all 56 short stories complete with the original Strand Magazine illustrations by Sidney Paget and others. Sidney Paget created the famous deerstalker hat. The hat and pipe are instantly recognizable trademarks of Sherlock Holmes. He also created the layout of the rooms at 221b Baker street where Holmes and Dr. Watson reside.
In this book there are two things to be aware of. Firstly the illustration sadly lack some detail when reproduced in paperback, but they do convey all the atmosphere of Holmes, Watson and life in Victorian London. Secondly, the printed text is quite small so you will need good lighting to read it comfortably.
Apart from these shortcomings this is an excellent collection which I wholeheartedly recommend. Definitely worth five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


419 of 441 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother!, 11 Mar 2012
There are no illustrations but that is not the main problem. The main problem is the Americanisation. These books are classics but they have been mangled for the American market. Wherever there should be a reference to brandy it has been changed to whiskey and soda, bacon and eggs has become ham and eggs plus all the appalling American spellings. Can't they leave anything alone!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book ever, by the best author ever!, 7 Sep 2002
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Stories (Wordsworth Special Editions) (Paperback)
Conan Doyle had a wonderful abiblity of creating an atmosphere perfectly, even if the brilliant Sydney Paget drawings were not in this book, it would be very easy to imagine the scenes.
Though Doyle actually grew to disslike Holmes, these stories are by far the best, in my opinion, of all the other books he has written (e.g Brigadere Gerard and The Lost World) This book includes all 4 novels and all 56 short stories of Sherlock Holmes, as they were printed in the Strand magazine.
These stories are addictive, it took me 4 months to read the whole book, yet I didn't get bored or sick of it for a moment! If you've never read a Holmes story before, you may find the first novel a little difficult to grasp, as it has a thick plot, and tends to drag on a bit. But all of the short stories are written perfectly and describe Holmes and Watson's friendship progress. They all have a unique plot and disserve individual attension.
If you like Holmes and/or mystery stories, then this is the book for you! so buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


141 of 151 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing version of a great book, 29 Aug 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I bought this book with great excitement as one of the first books for my new Kindle. The stories themselves are fantastic and don't need any review from me. However, I was very disappointed in the quality of the Kindle edition. There are lines missing and at one point where there should be a diagram, there is, instead, an advertisement for a Kindle edition of the complete works of Jane Austen. It's a shame that something so shoddy should be on sale. If it was an actual book I would've returned it. Get your finger out Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 25 July 2002
By A Customer
I discovered Sherlock Holmes a few months ago and I can not believe how good these stories are. I read all the stories in about three weeks. I have now almost finished them for a second time and a second reading has only increased my appreciation for them.
There are many things about these stories that I find to be brilliant but I will discuss only three in this review so as not to make it too long.
The first is that Holmes is actually as brilliant as his reputation would have everyone believe. Something that I find extremely annoying in fiction is when a character has a reputation for being a fantastic investigator or for being great at something else but they never do anything to prove themselves worthy of that reputation. The character just seems to have average intelligence and the writer makes the main character look smart by making everyone else stupid. Doyle actually went to the trouble of thinking up brilliant things for Holmes to do instead of just making everyone else in the stories stupid as a lot of writers do.
The second is the way Doyle handled Holmes and Watson's relationship. Something else that I have come to detest in fiction is the typical friendship in which the characters are too often making a huge sacrifice for one another and are too frequently having big emotional scenes together. Relationships such as that eventually get to the point where they seem too unrealistic and no longer make me feel anything. But Doyle manages to convince the reader that Holmes and Watson are close friends without any of the sacrifices or emotional scenes. He uses little things to show the depth of their friendship which prevents it from ever becoming sappy or too fictional. Also, the way he wrote the characters helps a great deal to establish them as being close friends. The main thing that convinced me that Holmes and Watson must care a lot for one another was the fact that Watson put up with Holmes' arrogance, rudeness, and strange behavior and the fact that Holmes, who was a very cold and unemotional person, actually allowed Watson to be his friend.
The third is the stories themselves. Even today they are so original and unpredictable. Another complaint that I have about modern fiction is that I can usually determine the whole plot of the story at the very beginning or at least have a general idea where the writer is going to go with the story and the charcters. With most of these stories I didn't have a clue as to what was going to happen next. There were a couple of the stories that I was able to predict but it was still cool to hear Holmes give a logical explanation as to how he had arrived at a conclusion that I had only arrived at by guessing.
If you've never read these stories then I would highly recommend doing so. They are absolutely wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comments for Kindle users, 22 Jan 2011
By 
Ivan Proctor (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is excellent. All four long stories and all five collections of short stories are here. Importantly for a Kindle edition, from the contents page you can go directly to any story long or short and even to any chapter of each of the four long stories. In effect the whole canon of Holmes stories at your finger tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Difficult text layout, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have no doubts about the quality of these well- known stories. However, I found this particular edition poorly formatted, with many sentences split up across the page in ways that made the text unreadable. Try a slightly higher-priced text that guarantees a readable kindle-adapted format. I opened this text on a transatlantic plane, expecting some pleasant entertainment, and was bitterly disappointed, as well as missing the return deadline!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elementary, my dear reader, 27 Dec 2005
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Stories (Wordsworth Special Editions) (Paperback)
The first Sherlock Holmes book I ever read was given to me as a gift for my thirteenth birthday. It was a collection of the short stories, with a wonderful leather trim and gold leafing, and I thought it was fantastic. I read the first story, and was instantly hooked. Within a few days, I was disappointed with my wonderful new book because it was incomplete. I had devoured all of the selected stories, and was ready for more.
Shortly thereafter, I purchased what purported to be the 'only complete Sherlock Holmes available', compiled by Christopher Morley. This became my favourite book. But, alas, neither of these volumes was illustrated.
The original stories, which appeared in The Strand magazine, were illustrated, by the great illustrator Sidney Paget. Actually, careful research (which Holmes himself would insist upon) will reveal that Paget was not the first illustrator; however, it is not able to be determined conclusively how many artists preceding Paget. It is know that the first publication of A Study in Scarlet, in which Holmes and Watson are first introduced, was illustrated by on D.H. Friston. These illustrations would appall the Holmesian set today.
The next edition after the barely-received Beeton's Christmas Annual edition, was in book form, and apparently illustrated by Arthur Conan Doyle's father, Charles.
The next illustration was in The Sign of Four, appearing in Lippincott's Magazine, which showed a scene in India, but did not have one of Holmes.
The classic ideas of Holmes (in a visual sense) did not thus solidify until the popular series of short stories in The Strand, illustrated by Paget, beginning with the story A Scandal in Bohemia, in which Holmes is actually out-foxed by THE woman, but still manages a satisfactory ending to the case, and (particularly his illustrations of the serialised Hounds of the Baskervilles) Paget's illustrations have become the standard image.
This volume contains all the short stories (56 of them) and the novels (4). (At least, this is the official canon -- there are other proto-stories by Conan Doyle, and dozens of tribute stories written by other authors.) Hundreds of illustrations accompany the text. Perhaps Paget drew his image of Holmes based upon the actor William Gillette, who made a career out of portraying the Baker Street detective on stage in London and New York. Charlie Chaplain got one of his early starts in entertainment by playing the page attendant to Holmes opposite Gillette.
From the beginning introduction of Holmes and Watson to Holmes' gentle retirement to beekeepping on the southern coast of England, this book contains all the essential stories (none of the apocryphal, anecdotal, or tribute-written pieces are contained here). Holmes was often thought to be a real person, and Sherlockians the world over still search for 'evidence' to prove that he was. During his 'lifetime', the post office for the Baker Street area regularly received mail addressed to Holmes or Watson at 221B Baker Street. While such an address does not (and did not during the late Victorian era) exist, there is a business on the site that would be 221B, and they have dedicated a desk to Holmes, and strive to answer mail received in the great detective's name.
Perhaps the two elements that made Holmes and Watson the world-renowned figures that they became are, first, the dominance of the British Empire globally at the time Conan Doyle was writing, which made English things sought-after, admired, and to be emulated, and secondly, the introduction of a method of detection hitherto unknown, both in the annals of detective stories (save perhaps in a proto-form in Poe and a few other obscure pieces of dubious literary merit) and in real life.
Holmesian tales became required reading in the training of police and detectives in many parts of the world. It is still recommended even when it is not required.
Holmes permeates other literature and venues as well. When Data on Star Trek: The Next Generation looks for images of Holmes, he is being guided by the descriptions in the stories as well as by the illustrations in The Strand. When the BBC produced Jeremy Brett's rendering of Holmes, the same holds true. When Basil Rathbone's films were cast, these illustrations and stories were uppermost in the directors' minds.
So, pull some tobacco from your persian slipper, stoke your pipe, scratch out a tune on your violin, and re-enter the gas-lit world of the foggy London, where danger is afoot and one detective can always save the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 30 Jun 2000
By A Customer
I enjoyed this book, greatly. Why? Because Conan Doyle manages not to make the culprit painfully obvious, which I have found in many crime thrillers. I started reading Sherlock Holmes at the age of 11, and I still never grow tired of them. My particular favorite being the great Hound of the Baskervilles, of which I still find extremely exhilarating. A well worth buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 11 Jan 2012
By 
T. Blackburn (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's absolutely nothing wrong with this kindle edition of the complete collection of Sherlock Holmes stories. It's in its original wording, has a table of contents, and is well produced. For 0.77, look no further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Stories (Wordsworth Special Editions)
Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Stories (Wordsworth Special Editions) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Paperback - 5 Aug 1996)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews