Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 11 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Struggle for Europe (Wordsworth Military Library) (Paperback)
Although this book was first published a few decades ago it is still a work of reference for anyone interested in the campaigns in the west from the Normandy landings to the German surrender. It is no surprise that John Keegan rates it among the highest achievements of WWII literature. The description of the sequence of events is masterful and the analysis of how decisions were made is second to none.Its psycological description of Montgomery and Eisenhower are a magnificent example of how a journalist or a historian can interpret reality to tell the reader not only the what and when but also the why and how. In summary we can only be thankful to the author for the great breakthrough that his book made in the search of the truth about the Second World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 13 Nov 2007
By 
Carl (U.K. & U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
This book sat on my shelf for about 2 years before I finally picked it up to read and I was disappointed that I hadn't done so earlier.

This book is absolute superb! The author covers the entire war in this one volume.

He starts off covering in brief what took place between 1939-1944, which is crammed full of amazing information before going into the main subject of the book, the fighting between 1944 and 1945.
During the main portion of the book he covers both the Western and Eastern front and provides and excellent narrative of the fighting backed up by dozens of maps to illustrate what he is talking about.

On top of this, the author actually took part in Operation Overlord and provides a first hand account of his landing into Normandy with the 6th Airborne Division.

To sum up, the book is full of amazing information for a book covering the war in general and is superbly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Benchmark; Quality which has never faded!, 29 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic account from the BEF evacuating from Dunkirk to the fall of the Thrid Reich. Wilmot is so well balanced, criticism is aimed where due and not through national bias (not sure if this book will appeal to many Stephen Ambrose fans - not many eagles soaring on the wings of democracy, freedom and liberty for all here, not even a mention of Easy company winning the war all by themselves), his objectivity places this book amongst the very best histories of the campaign in North-West Europe.

A great read, not an overly easy or flowing read, but such a rewarding and insightful history which has, and will always stand the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WW2 Classic, 3 Oct 2009
By 
Paul Clappison (Brisbane, Queensland, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Struggle for Europe (Wordsworth Military Library) (Paperback)
I first got a copy of this book and read it several times soon after it was published in 1952 and I enjoyed very much, but I subsequently lost it. Since then many authors and researchers have praised it highly. As Michael Howard writes in his introduction to the Wordsworth Military Edition, Wilmot had 2 advantages : as a war correspondent he followed the war from D day to the surrender and he had access to German archives used in the Nuremberg trials. As well the actual combat he covers the political background very well - the relations between Stalin, Churchill and Roosevelt and how Roosevelt deluded himself in thinking he could control Stalin's post-war ambitions. The interaction between Eisenhower, Montgomery, Bradley and Patton is covered well. (In my view "Ike" had many admirable qualities but a sound knowledge of strategy was not one of them.)
Finally it was a tragedy that Wilmot was killed in a plane crash in 1954 , had he lived he might well have written more excellent books on WW2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!, 29 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a fascinating read. As well as graphically describing the events, it covers the political machinations behind all decisions that were made. Altogether an illuminating account for the serious scholar and the casual reader alike. The book was written nearly sixty years ago but it is as fresh as if it were written today. All students of WW2 must read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars possibly career defining, 28 July 2010
By 
Mr. C. Berg (suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Struggle for Europe (Wordsworth Military Library) (Paperback)
I first read this book while doing O level history 1952-54. Having ploughed my way through Churchill's WW2 with increasing lack of interest as he wrote less and less of it himself ( viz. David Reynolds "In command of History" - the definitive work) and used memos more and more as boilerplate filler, this was a revelation.

My first refuge was the public library in Hemel Hempsted Herts., where I gradually went through Wilmot's entire bibliography, expanding my German, Spanish and Italian in the process. I am sure this was the spur that sent me up to university to study history.

Tutors there were dismissive of studying anything in our own lifetimes, which was a disappointment, but I have kept up to date with research since.

The book is amazing in that I have never found a serious contradiction of any of his judgements since. The combination of historical review and live reporting is seamlessly fitted together. Both a historical document and a damned good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Struggle For Europe, 16 Jun 2011
By 
Larrygo (Winslow, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A longstanding but still highly authoritative account by a very talented journalist of the process of invasion of the European mainland in World War II by Allied Forces and their progressive domination and defeat of the Nazi regime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The struggle for Europe, 10 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating account of the Second World War in Europe, especially around D-day and its aftermath. The importance of logistics and good communication is covered, along with strategy, tactics and planning. Many maps covering the major battlefronts, and a comprehensive account of an important historical period, one which is still having an effect on present-day thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and easy reading, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Struggle for Europe (Wordsworth Military Library) (Paperback)
I would highly recommend this book. Also I found it to be very easy reading, the author has a relaxed style. I have read quite a few other accounts of these events but found lots of interesting stories in this book I hadn't read about before. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Struggle For Europe by Chester Wilmot, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Struggle for Europe (Wordsworth Military Library) (Paperback)
I found this book very informative as it gave an insight to the thinkings of all the major political and military personnel involved in retaking Eiurope from the Nazis.
It was easy to read and followed a logical sequence of events.
Anyone studying the period 1940 to 1945 in Europe would be well advised to have this book to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Struggle for Europe (Wordsworth Military Library)
The Struggle for Europe (Wordsworth Military Library) by Chester Wilmot (Paperback - 25 Sep 1997)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews