Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars20
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2012
this was a tough read at times as the author often writes in a very dry scientific way that unless you grasp every word he says you can be left at the end of page wonder what the hell he was on about. but most other times you will find yourself slightly nodding at his theories and assessments. On War is a classic work that as been widely read all through the years after its publication and although it was written in a time when warfare was very different to that of today it is still an important read because while the technology and tactics of war may change the basic things of it will always remain such as what it takes to be an effective commander, the importance of logistics and the principles by which all wars are fought. its at times a heavy read but others a joyful one as you lie amazed at the perceptive grasp the author had for the subject and one in which he has examined all areas of from a definition of war to the difference between strategy and tactics so for the officer in training out there or the average armchair general this is a must read.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
This is a good book but you need to be in the mood for it. I'm afraid I went my own way and read a chapter at a time and absorbed that much before returning to the next chapter. I think if some event came up where a military problem was involved, I'd probably take the book out and see what Von Clausewitz offered as an opinion. For students of military matters this is required reading
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
A truly wonderful piece of literature which has already everything said about it that can be said, although some of the military ideas have been disproved, the idea that a smaller army can not surround a larger, had of course been dis-proven with hannibal, but i digress great book and very interesting.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2000
An interesting read. The basis for von Clausewitz' arguments are based very much in abstract theory - and they can be pretty heavy going at times. Also this book really only makes sense in its historical context - i.e. in the absence of flight and mobile warfare as options. Although some of the theory can be applied in a modern context, it doesn't always make sense to do so. Nevertheless, its a stimulating read, for those who have a deep military/historical background, and a lot of time on their hands.
Also, the translators/editors point out that the author did not finish his work, and by his own writings, was unhappy with it as it stood.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2009
I had no choice but give five stars. Reading this book made me realise how close current western philosophy is to Clausewitz military theories. Apparently, one thinks how it shapes today's world and what new theories we can look into to change world's thought process. We still follow old philosophies when it comes to governance.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
A must for any MBA or Business Degree student.
It was heavily recommended by my entrepreneurship teacher at Trinity College Dublin, part of my MBA program.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
Every govenment and every soldier needs to read this . It has been around for a long time and still has the final word on War.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
Timeless strategy book - just a bit laboured from time to time for a modern readership
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
I haven't fully digested this yet,but it provides the ideological back ground behind Prussian and German military thinking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2016
All good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.